We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes to your Saves list
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101 , Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“2nd time around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

This is the 2nd time at the Rodian. Last year I went with my sister and daughter but this year it was my husband and daughter. Things were exactly the same! In fact I think we were in the same room 405. My 6 year old daughter loves it here and if the kids are happy well......! My husband travels a lot more than myself so he's a bit harder to please than me and didn't rate this a 5* hotel, but saying that he did like the hotel and would go back but not on a half board basis, saying that I wouldn't eat out in the evenings in Ixia, the restaurants all seem a bit tacky. I would still strongly recomend this hotel, I think the food is fab. The hotel is very nice indeed, staff are all very nice. The only downside are the bedrooms, these are about a 3* standard in my opinion, especially the bathroom, very small and with no bath, if I did go back I'd probably try to get a room upgrade, maybe the rooms with a sea view are better? The hotel seemed a bit quieter than last year, I wonder if this is because prices at this hotel have gone up, it cost more to say at this hotel than the Hilton on the web site we booked.

  • Liked — outdoor restaurant / pools
  • Disliked — bedrooms / bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    273
    88
    41
    26
See reviews for
279
475
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

very nice place to stay!!nice staff,nice services,everything was excellent.!!!we really enjoyed.also the food was great

  • Liked — food and personel
  • Disliked — dinner drinks!!! a little pricey!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We stayed in the Amuthus for two weeks in July and absolutely loved it! We were in a party of three adults and the hotel had no problems in linking our bookings and keeping our rooms together. All the staff were very polite and helped us immediately whenever we had a problem. The drinks in the bar were a bit pricey and it put us off staying in the hotel bars at night, but there were a few places within walking distance so it wasn’t a big problem (turn left out of the hotel, not right!). Also, there is a shop onsite that sells almost everything that is contained in the minibar but at a much cheaper rate. They don’t seem to mind you stocking your own drinks in the fridge as we had filled ours with bottles of water and beer whilst some people we met went as far as emptying the mini bar into a spare cupboard to fit in their own drinks without any complaint from the staff. The food was our big worry, but it was actually fantastic, there was a choice between buffet or a main course from the menu with the buffet for starters and desserts, all of which were of a very high standard. People on half board could also decide to eat out at night and get a 10 Euro voucher (food only) for lunch in the hotel which again was of a high standard. The only problem was their annoying habit of interrupting your meal to try and sell you a ticket to one of their organised events, that we didn’t actually want. The descriptions of which normally took five minutes of hard sell before you had chance to say “no thank you”, I started getting this in early and the lady began to miss out our table, as once I said it, so did everybody else within earshot (I am actually quite a loud person ;-)

There are three outdoor pools at the Amathus and we never had a problem getting a sun lounger when we wanted one. The rooftop pool was our favourite as there was a smaller number of children up there and it made it a bit more peaceful for the adults that just wanted to relax. There was a subway to the beach to get you safely across a very busy road, but it was very dirty (I think that it is something to do with the currents rather than people littering) and we didn’t spend too much time there.

Ixia was very close to Rhodes town and is only 6 Euros in a taxi to the harbour (compared to 5.40 for three on the bus) but it costs a bit more if you order one from the hotel. It doesn’t take long to hail one down from the roadside though, as the hotel is situated on the main beach road (although far enough back to combat the noise).

Overall, this was a fantastic holiday and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, exellent food, good location
  • Disliked — Prices for extras, everthing was very expensive to buy.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

we have just returned from 2 weeks at the rodian amathus beech hotel lovely hotel ,5 star mmmmm id say 4 star just a couple of minuses .
One has got to be the horrendous noise (if youre round the pool or mainly if youre on the grassed area or beech) from the main road horns blowing and with a bus stop being directly adjacent (3yds from the grassed area!) to you buses constantly stopping,also if on half board with youre eve meal if you want a drink of water with it you have to pay 3.90 euros for a litre of water so after 13 meals it worked out at over 30 pounds!! mmmmmmm but i guess youd get that in all 5 star hotels.
staff are great.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

The Rodian Amathus is everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The rooms are huge, our double had a lounge downstairs and the bedroom upstairs, with 2 bathrooms, one on each level. You also get a a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit in your room as a welcome gift and a bottle of olive oil as a leaving gift. Another nice touch is the nightly folding-down of your bedlinen, with a chocolate left on your pillow. The food is great, although pricey, as are the drinks. The pool on the 11th floor is really nice, with fantastic views across the bay and the hotel provides you with beach towels, so there's no need to bring your own. There's another pool on the ground floor and also a tunnel to the beach (to save you spending ages trying to cross the busy road) if you fancy a change of scenery, although the beach is quite stoney. Ixia itself is full of good bars and restaurants just a short walk away (towards the airport), the Coconut does great food and the Cabellerro and Velois bars have a good atmosphere.

  • Liked — Comfort and 11th floor pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We have just recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Rodian for our Honeymoon and I have to say after reading the mixed reviews before we went that we had a lovely stay!
I'd upgraded us to one of the spacious Bungalow rooms which are set into the hillside a short distance off the main hotel on the 11th floor. Although you don't have a 'sea view' us such from the Bungalows we were fortunate to have one that was near the pool and we could see the sea from our Balcony. Our room had generous storage/hanging space and the Bathroom was also spacious with a shower over the bath
We havn't stayed in many 5* hotels but felt drinks although expensive were what we expected. The food for us was great - don't usually eat much when its hot but have never eaten so much in my life partly due to the wide choice and so many tempting puddings!!
Staff were helpful and efficient and the two minor problems we had were dealt with promptly. Only thing to watch out for I would say is to put your Do not disturb sign on the door otherwise they don't give you much time to answer the door before they let themselves in!!
Would recommend hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed 27th June to 4th July. We went not expecting a 5 star hotel so we weren't too disappointed when we arrived. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hotel, but more like a 3 star plus boardering on 4 star. We checked in without a problem, our room was on the 4th floor. The room was fine, clean, only thing was the shower was rather small!
The food at the hotel is nice, breakfast was buffet style, hot food - bacon, omlette, pancakes, cold food - fruit, cheese, meat, cereals etc. We were half board so had an evening meal which was again, buffet style, and we found it ok, plenty of choice. We did choose to exchange our evening meal for lunch a couple of days, however I did find this a bit of a rip off as we were only given the value of 10 euros per person for our lunch, however the evening meal was worth 15 euros each. The lunches are served on the 11th floor pool deck or on the ground floor near the pool area and are nice enough but not much choice.
I only have 2 negative things to say about our stay there, the first was the huge groups that were there during our stay, one being the Jersey team that were there for the island games that were held on Rhodes this year. We found that alot of the time they commandeered areas whether it was at the pool area or in the restaurant and we felt a bit like less important guests because of this. I think someone has already mentioned issues with large groups at this hotel and it looks like they cater for large groups and conferences quite a bit. The other thing is that on our last day we had a cochroach in our room - not nice and glad we hadn't seen it sooner, don't know if it was already a resident in our room or it got in but not nice to find!

  • Liked — The pool areas
  • Disliked — The fact that they cater for alot of groups and conferences
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes

Address: 100 Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes is the perfect place to enjoy an island escape. With forest to one side and the sparkling Aegean Sea and mountainous coastline to the other, accommodation is comfortable and spacious with the newest addition – the 37 Elite Suites – oozing style, space, sophistication and understated glamor. Along with delicious dining options, fabulous outdoor spaces and the largest and most unique spa on the island, it ticks all the right boxes. The hotel is open from April – end October each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodian Amathus Beach Ixia
Hotel Rodian Amathus Beach
Rodian Amathus Beach Hotel
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.