We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, but pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes to your Saves list
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101 , Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burbage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

The Rodian Amathus is everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The rooms are huge, our double had a lounge downstairs and the bedroom upstairs, with 2 bathrooms, one on each level. You also get a a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit in your room as a welcome gift and a bottle of olive oil as a leaving gift. Another nice touch is the nightly folding-down of your bedlinen, with a chocolate left on your pillow. The food is great, although pricey, as are the drinks. The pool on the 11th floor is really nice, with fantastic views across the bay and the hotel provides you with beach towels, so there's no need to bring your own. There's another pool on the ground floor and also a tunnel to the beach (to save you spending ages trying to cross the busy road) if you fancy a change of scenery, although the beach is quite stoney. Ixia itself is full of good bars and restaurants just a short walk away (towards the airport), the Coconut does great food and the Cabellerro and Velois bars have a good atmosphere.

  • Liked — Comfort and 11th floor pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    273
    88
    41
    26
See reviews for
279
475
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We have just recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Rodian for our Honeymoon and I have to say after reading the mixed reviews before we went that we had a lovely stay!
I'd upgraded us to one of the spacious Bungalow rooms which are set into the hillside a short distance off the main hotel on the 11th floor. Although you don't have a 'sea view' us such from the Bungalows we were fortunate to have one that was near the pool and we could see the sea from our Balcony. Our room had generous storage/hanging space and the Bathroom was also spacious with a shower over the bath
We havn't stayed in many 5* hotels but felt drinks although expensive were what we expected. The food for us was great - don't usually eat much when its hot but have never eaten so much in my life partly due to the wide choice and so many tempting puddings!!
Staff were helpful and efficient and the two minor problems we had were dealt with promptly. Only thing to watch out for I would say is to put your Do not disturb sign on the door otherwise they don't give you much time to answer the door before they let themselves in!!
Would recommend hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed 27th June to 4th July. We went not expecting a 5 star hotel so we weren't too disappointed when we arrived. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hotel, but more like a 3 star plus boardering on 4 star. We checked in without a problem, our room was on the 4th floor. The room was fine, clean, only thing was the shower was rather small!
The food at the hotel is nice, breakfast was buffet style, hot food - bacon, omlette, pancakes, cold food - fruit, cheese, meat, cereals etc. We were half board so had an evening meal which was again, buffet style, and we found it ok, plenty of choice. We did choose to exchange our evening meal for lunch a couple of days, however I did find this a bit of a rip off as we were only given the value of 10 euros per person for our lunch, however the evening meal was worth 15 euros each. The lunches are served on the 11th floor pool deck or on the ground floor near the pool area and are nice enough but not much choice.
I only have 2 negative things to say about our stay there, the first was the huge groups that were there during our stay, one being the Jersey team that were there for the island games that were held on Rhodes this year. We found that alot of the time they commandeered areas whether it was at the pool area or in the restaurant and we felt a bit like less important guests because of this. I think someone has already mentioned issues with large groups at this hotel and it looks like they cater for large groups and conferences quite a bit. The other thing is that on our last day we had a cochroach in our room - not nice and glad we hadn't seen it sooner, don't know if it was already a resident in our room or it got in but not nice to find!

  • Liked — The pool areas
  • Disliked — The fact that they cater for alot of groups and conferences
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Not really 5 stars hotel, rooms are nearly 3 stars, especially bathroom and balcony. Many groups are coming in and then its worse, so ask when the groups are coming, so you can avoid them. service is OK. Food is good, but also not 5 stars.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — small bathroom, balcony , and the groups they allow...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

Just returned from 10 days holiday from 6th june 2007 and found the hotel though 5 star surroundings not really the same service.

On arrival yes very good ,checked in and luggage taken to rooms by porter and we did have a sea view room (418) lovely no faults and fantastic view of bay . Always try and book sea view as garden view rooms terrible just a wall of of hillside too close no sun . Air conditioning in room worked well and I should think is needed in later months ! ( plenty of midges at night ,lotions needed.)
Mini bar in room but advise to steer clear very expensive (5 * prices) but they do not say a word if you put your own bought goods in them. Service in room we did not think matched 5* rating was cleaned but had no turning down of bed and the little touches like coffee or tea facilities we had at other hotels been to.
Good was the bath robes and slippers lovely to lounge in and also you get beach towels to use .
We found the resaurant staff best for service and quality ,waiters very attentive and polite .........food was buffet style well cooked ,plenty there sometimes a bit repetative but then you expect this ,we found there to be plenty of choice . The main course at dinner is plate served and in the ten days there was no repeat of menu choice of three different every day except Thursday and Sunday which was complete themed buffet.
Mixed thoughts on service of rest of staff polite yes but not as attentive as restaurant certainly did not like problems or complaints dealt very badly in some cases .
There is an area behind the reception which is the garden ,very nice ,pond with fish and a waterfall in background ,(two tortoise live there nice for children to see) but is a breeding ground for midges and such ,at night come into reception got bitten few times there
Pools were great three in all one on 11th floor outside plenty of room and bar/restaurant as well........two on ground at front of hotel ,yes there is the main road near but there is not the heavy trucks going by mainly cars not really as bad as some have reviewed ,pleasant and has a bar but again lacking in attention ,there is no waiter service around the pools and only one person at a time at bar ,other hotels we had the service around the pool for drinks /food and help with beds and parasols not here.
Beach was reached by underpass and is thier own private one plenty of beds ,stony and pebbly is best to describe we wore plastic shoes to walk on ,narrow strip of land watchout for some rocks in water there is a grassy area between road and shore with beds as well no bar facilities there .

We are of the older generation so we just did our thing but found there is not really much for children to do did not see any childrens thing going on with animation teams .Only with the adults.
Entertainment at night in hotel was good to watch if you stay in finished about 11.00 pm easy listening and dance routines on stage ,usual greek night and some sound -alike groups.
As we said it did not spoil our holiday but for the price we payed we have had better and will not return ,best to try and get a good deal before going ,top price not really.
Rhodes as an island well worth a visit and Rhodes old town fantastic . From hotel taxi is only 6 euro's to Rhodes Town and if reception call they are there in two minutes.

  • Liked — clealiness and location
  • Disliked — some service not 5*
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

This was our second time in Rhodes and having visited the Rodian Amathus for coffee on our last trip we decided that was where we wanted to stay on our next visit. Hotel is well located, across the road from a shingle beach, where the hotel has its own section with beds etc,close to shops and restaurants. Beach is OK. Also only four miles from Rhodes town (Taxi is €6) which is an outstanding place to visit, shop, eat, wander time after time. Hotel facilities are excellent with two large pool areas, one on the 11th floor roof and one at ground level. Main restaurant for breakfast, dinner etc is on 10th floor with outstandings views over Ixia bay. Food is excellent. Other eating options at both poolsides during the day and in evenings. Good range of rooms which vary in size and facilities but are well appointed. Good service and attitude. TIPS: get a sea view - inland view looks at cliff, ask for a room which is a few either side of x15 eg 617, visit Tsambika Beach and Lindos on south side of island

  • Liked — Quality Accommodation, Good Food, Great Location
  • Disliked — Poor Beach & Shops in Surrounding area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

After poor first impressions, we did grow to like this hotel.

We stayed for a week at the Rodian Amathus Beach Hotel, from 2nd June 2007. Our flight times were terrible (Thomas Cook) and we arrived in the early hours of the morning feeling tired, and we thought the room (Bungalow) was poor. There were bare wires hanging from the ceiling, and it did not strike us as 5 star.

In the morning, things appeared a little better. As the bungalows are built into the hill on the top (11th) floor, there is a great view of the sea through the trees (especially at sunset). They are also a stones-throw away from the upper pool, which we thought was the best one of the 3 outdoor ones. There was never any need to get up early to grab a sun-lounger, as there were always plenty available. The 'pool-deck' menu is really nice for adults, with plenty of choice, and my 6 year old loved the fact that they had fish fingers on the menu for him (and good quality ones too!!).

We stayed on a B&B basis, and enjoyed the breakfasts very much. There was plenty to chose from; fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, breads, muffins, toast, sausages, bacon, boiled eggs, omeletes etc.

The hotel did not appear to be busy, and this was probably due to the fact that the foyer, bars & lounges are large, so it never felt crowded. We especially enjoyed the 'waterfall' area just off the main foyer, where the 2 large tortoises kept us amused - they wandered around in the morning, but hid in the afternoon.

There was varied low-key entertainment during the evenings, which finished no later than 11pm. The Beaters (Beatles tribute band) were quite good,

Overall the hotel was pretty good, it was just the room that let it down a little. It was very clean, but not the best decorated or maintained place I've ever seen. One of the compartments in the fridge door fell off and smashed some of the contents of the mini-bar - but the hotel management were great about this and made sure we were not charged. There is also a little bit of room in the fridge to put your own bottles of water etc. The electricity for the room comes on when you plug in a part of your 'key' into the wall, so beware that once you leave the room your fridge will turn off. Not a problem if you only have drinks in there, but if you have any food you would need to detatch the 'plug' from the keyring and leave it in.

In typical Greek fashion, the drains struggle to cope with the amounts of water we put down them, so we always had 1cm of water in the bathroom after having even a very short shower. My little boy slipped on this quite badly, so be careful (wear your complimentary slippers!!!!!!!!)

If you have a late flight, the charge for keeping your room until 6.30pm is 65 Euros, or 95 Euros til 9pm - I think that is pretty steep.

The area of Ixia is a busy main road by a thin pebble beach, so if you are looking for a picturesque Greek village, don't go to Ixia. It's pleasant, and you feel very safe, but if you don't have a great hotel you could be a bit bored. There are a few large hotels, plenty of small 'supermarkets' and some reasonable restaurants where we never had a bad meal.

For 6 Euros you can get a taxi into Rhodes old (or new) town which is well worth it, and there are many more great quality restaurants and bars there.

The waterpark at Faliraki is also worth a visit. Lots of large slides for adults, and a large area for younger children, including a pirate ship. Watch out for the big bucket!!!

Overally, a good clean hotel which probably was 5 star when it was built, but now a bit tired. Still worth a visit, but probably not worth the premium price we paid thinking it would be 5 star.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Drainage!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes

Address: 100 Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101 , Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes is the perfect place to enjoy an island escape. With forest to one side and the sparkling Aegean Sea and mountainous coastline to the other, accommodation is comfortable and spacious with the newest addition – the 37 Elite Suites – oozing style, space, sophistication and understated glamor. Along with delicious dining options, fabulous outdoor spaces and the largest and most unique spa on the island, it ticks all the right boxes. The hotel is open from April – end October each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodian Amathus Beach Ixia
Hotel Rodian Amathus Beach
Rodian Amathus Beach Hotel
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.