We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll meet again....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanis Hotel to your Saves list
Oceanis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leoforos Ialysou | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Ridderkerk NL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll meet again....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We've had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Before we went we have read all the reviews and were uncertain about what we could expect. For us it was the best all-inclusive hotel so far and we did not recognize anything of the negative reviews that we read before. The rooms (3rd floor) were a little outdated, but clean. Every day clean towels. The restaurant served a very big variety of food and drinks, during the whole day you could get almost anything you need. Animation team was persistent but not annoying. Let's face it: it is their job to entertain and activate the lazy guests, but they did this in a pleasant way. The swimming pool is really an eye-catcher and spotlessly clean. Evenings you could sit outside or in the bar and lounge and enjoy the pleasant service of the allways smiling bartender Yannis. Also a special compliment to the restaurant-chef Spiros who welcomed everybody with a big smile and looked after our wellbeiing. See you next time...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    286
    160
    70
    46
See reviews for
191
360
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

I thought some of the reviews on this hotel were very unfair. I found the food of a very good standard and was always hot. There was always the same basics but the main dishes varied daily. The pool area was very clean and pretty. The animation team did ask each day if we wanted to participate but they never hassled us. Yes the hotel is on a very busy road but as others have stated the beach is not brilliant so we only crossed it once. The only negative comment I could make was the first room we got was on floor 2 at the back and we decided to upgrade and paid 70 euros for a beautiful room on the front that was worth every euro. I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing poolside holiday with easy access to Rhodes town (2 euros 10 cents on the bus).

Room Tip: pay 70 euros for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The hotel was very nice!
Especially the staff were very friendly and helpfull, I have almost never seen anything like this!
In the restaurant you had a wide choice from the buffet.
The rooms were also good, price/quality seen. You can also go to the hotel next door and stay in the Spa center for a full day for only €15!
Very nice pool, and enough sunbeds!
The only negative i can say was the animation, everyday it was the same program, and they had a rather agressive way of asking if you would participate. But ofcourse the animation team changes often so this was my personal experience for this period.
I would really advise this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

To begin with I have to say the hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. BUT

On first impressions the hotel looked good. It was facing the beautiful turquoise sea and the pool area is on the front. We booked in and went to our rooms to unpack. The rooms were at the back of the hotel and had plenty of storage.

We went to the 'beach' and were extremely disappointed - it was rubble, rubbish and had pipes showing. My friends husband walked into the sea and said his feet had oil on them when he came back.

There are a few bars, restaurants and supermarkets either side of the hotel but nothing else. Don't change money in hotel they said the rate was 0.92 but the supermarket gave us 1.09.

Men have to wear long trousers in the evening in the restaurant but some don't to the annoyance of the Head waiter who does make a point of telling them. The food is not hot and to be honest not the best quality. It is definately not 4 star food and they are quick to take it away so make sure you get in early.

The only entertainment is by the hotels reps - comedy show, bingo, disco etc. There are no musicians or prefessional acts - not even a stage. In the evening we sat in the reception area or outside as the noise was very loud to have a drink. To be fair in the daytime the young reps were very nice and tried to get people to join in with aqua aerobics, stretching, darts, ping pong, water polo etc but most people wanted to chill around the pool.

We had a nice time and value for money but would not visit this hotel again. Remember to take mosquito repellent with you as we were bit to death - lots of trees, shrubs and grass

Room Tip: Sea view rooms overlook the main road into Rhodes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Działdowo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Went to Rhodos with my family for a week vacation and did an all inclusive package. We had an amazing time in every facet of our trip. The hotel was right across the road from the sea with one side of rooms getting ocean views. The prize view of the hotel itself was the amazing (and very large) pool. The lobby was clean and pretty with a beautiful entrance and we can not rave enough about the service. Spiros from Sparta was great, very helpful and attentive. The receptionists were nice and know the area and the animation team got us having fun everynight (and they speak about 50 langueges. A great experience all around!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the newly renovated 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Where do i begin...... On arrival the receptionist staff were very polite and understanding of our tiredness after a long flight and arriving at such a late hour. However there had been technical faults in our room so they had ordered us a taxi to take us to another hotel just down the road for our first night, and told us to come back by taxi the morning after. Both taxi fares were payed for by the hotel and the tempory hotel was equally as nice.
When we arrived at Oceanis the following morning we were greeted with the receptionist taking our bags and carrying them to our room. While un-packing there came a knock at the door, a very smartly dressed man delivered us a bottle of wine and a fresh fruit bowl for our inconvieniance. Throughout the holiday we participated in activities both in and out of the pool inc. water polo, aerobics and darts during the day the enthusiasum of the entertainment staff was fantastic! We became very good friends with the entertainment staff, who continued their hard word into the evening. They put on shows, bingo, competitions, quizzes, everything! It was fab! At the hotel the population was more German or Deutch than English but on many nights of our stay we stayed up until early hours of the morning having laughs with them with the friends we made. They were great! The food was of excellent quality and a huge variety, i am a very fussy eater but i had 3 courses every night and each night it was super. The homemade soup was delish!
We were very sad to leave the complex having had such a good time, on our last night all the enteraintment staff and the friends we had made endured in a heavy night in the bars just along the road from the hotel! Still speak to the entertainment staff can not fault them at all.
Overall i would stay here again most definitly and i am already looking into booking again. CAN NOT FAULT THIS HOTEL ONE BIT, do not believe the awful reports!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

The Oceanis is a little tired in places now. The decor in the rooms could do with a refurb, and the air con / heater units work, but are a litle noisy at night. The staff are helpful and friendly and the food varied and very good. The grounds and pool areas are well laid out and maintained to a good standard. The beach is just over the road and although pebbles, the area is well maintained and the sea is clean.
The location of the Oceanis is excellent, being a short walk to Ixia centre and a short bus ride to Rhodes town.
We would return to this hotel again, although the rooms could be better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanis Hotel

Address: Leoforos Ialysou | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceanis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Oceanis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Hotel Ixia
Oceanis Hotel Rhodes, Greece
Hotel Oceanis Ixia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.