We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept, flawed delivery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 stars 697 Reviews
Kent, England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great concept, flawed delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

When you first arrive you are impressed, the reception area has acres of marble and glass, stylish furniture, fancy lighting and welcoming smiles from the reception staff. The room is also large with elegant minimalist furnishings and a firm but comfortable bed, sliding glass doors lead to a large balcony with views over the sea to Turkey, and everything is pristine and clean. So far so good but sadly nothing else quite lives up to these first impressions.
This hotel has undergone recent refurbishment and some of it continues so there are only two small lifts operating rather than the four there will be on completion, OK at the minute in shoulder season, but it will be chaos if they're not ready for peak season. It didn't help when one of the two lifts was out of order for a couple of days. Also they have those room cards which you have to put in a slot to power up the room, which is fine until you leave then everything powers down, including the fridge and any devices you are trying to charge, I'm all for conserving power but there are limits!
Declaration of interest, I have never liked buffets, but there good buffets and worse buffets. If you are feeding several hundred guests from all over Europe then inevitably there will be stuff that doesn't appeal to everybody but some of the standards are quite low. For instance the poultry appears to have been hacked rather than properly butchered, so the piece you pick out of the sauce could be quite meaty or could be nearly all bone. The meat for the casseroles/stews was cut into uneven lumps so inevitably some pieces were more cooked than others. Desserts seem to be a collection of various colours of blancmange-type substance, jellies, the odd pastry and chocolate "cake". Some of it tasted better than it looked, which is just a well as none of it looked attractive. The dining experience is not enhanced by the "background music" which mostly seemed to be a tenor saxophonist doing warm-up exercises, all rather depressing.
If you're doing all-inclusive, as we were, you get a choice of red or white wine (or beer or soft drink) with your meal, the white is passable with food, the red simply rough and to be avoided. The other drink to be avoided is the breakfast juice which comes in orange, grapefruit or apple, all of which are hideously over-sweetened, including the grapefruit. On an island where freshly squeezed orange juice is plentiful and cheap this is a shocking failure.
Again on the all-inc your drinks (within limits) are free, but they use local spirits. Actually these aren't bad, it's the quality of the mixers which is dreadful, post-mix orange and pineapple for cocktails? I don't think so.
So you've settled in the rooftop bar for a post dinner relaxation and what comes on at 9 o'clock? The junior disco. The animation team did a great jobs with the kids but there are only so many times you can listen to The Birdie Song without wishing to commit sudden and wilful violence on the perpetrators. It's not much better poolside in the afternoon, lying there grabbing the rays and somebody turns up the PA and assorted "modern" sounds are imposed upon you without so much as a "by your leave" or the opportunity to rapidly vacate the area.
Mornings at least are quiet, so you might want to enjoy a mid morning coffee. Well you can forget that, no drinks of any description are available until 11 a.m. until the snack bar opens (if it opens on time), and then it's out of a machine, but at least it's decent of its type.
So the hotel lacks all day service, doesn't segregate kids activities enough, serves, at best, average food so cannot be classed in any way shape or form as a five star. The one good thing it does have are friendly and helpful staff who were always a pleasure to deal with, nothing was too much trouble for them. All in all a decent place to stay and, if you enjoy buffet food, you may will have a pleasant stay.

Sent from my iPad

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are happy to read that overall you had a pleasant stay and that you liked the renovation work done at the hotel; your comments are greatly appreciated by all of us working in Olympic Palace.

The lifts found at the hotel was a major issue following last year’s feedback and the hotel’s management has decided to invest a considerable amount in replacing them with new ones. Unfortunately and although an order was placed well in advance prior the season opening, the factory in Germany had delayed the delivery of the units which inevitably pushed back the installation dates. At the moment the technicians are working on the other 2 units which are due to be delivered by mid of May the latest. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused; the delayed delivery was a factor beyond of our control.

Having said that, we would still like to emphasize as noted in your review that the hotel has low occupancy levels during off season and so far we had no particular complaints related to the absence of the 2 units.

As far as the cards powering the room are concerned, this is a system / practise used by many hotels worldwide; to be more precise this is a final patented product that is sold to the hotel industry on an as is basis. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay with us and are going to look into possible customization options with our supplier. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

We have also taken note of your comments in regards to the meat / poultry servings and have already relayed those to our chef. Rest assured that we will investigate the issue further although would like to add that overall Olympic Palace has a very strong positive feedback in regards to all its food & beverage departments.

Having said that, we would also like to add that the majority of our guests perceive the quality of the all inclusive offered to be of good standards and can only apologize should we have not met entirely your expectations.

As far as the kids disco is concerned, kindly note that this had to be temporarily hosted in the roof garden bar due to poor weather conditions; this is not a standard practice and would like to offer once again our apology for any dissatisfaction caused to this regards.

We understand that certain services may not be fine tuned as when the hotel works later on the season; something which is not uncommon to most seasonal hotels around the world and feel sadden to read of the problems encountered especially when knowing that they do not accurately represent the services aimed and delivered by Olympic Palace.

On a positive note we would like to warmly thank you for your kind words in regards to the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff as well as for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We very much hope that perhaps you might consider visiting us again at some point in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    252
    111
    48
    21
See reviews for
195
331
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Not 5 star as advertised on luxury escapes, sea view room, was only sea view if you leaned slightly over the balcony, was a pool view room, not what we booked. Arrived late at night was told to speak to the manager the next day. As room was clean and adequate decided to leave it. Room not as shown in the picture, I think they show the best room... pool very busy, we sat behind the pool bar, a little bit quieter. Food excellent could not fault the service and the variety on offer. I would stay here again, as the restaurant staff make you feel very welcome and can't do enough for you

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Olympic palace despite the issues experienced for which we are deeply sorry for.

Since the review was made almost a year following your stay and without having some more details so as to locate your file it will be impossible to comment as to what happened in regards to the originally booked room. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused at the time although would like to emphasize that our reception had suggested speaking to the manager the following day so that he can offer you an upgrade as it is usually done when the originally booked reservation is not honoured.

We are very sorry again for any inconvenience caused but without hearing from you our staff would have assumed that you wished to remain at the originally allocated room, which proved to be the case.

Without wishing to be unsympathetic we would like to assure you that our star rating has been awarded by the Greek National Tourism Organization (GNTO), which is the official organization for assigning ratings to Greek hotels, and felt sorry to read that this was not in line with your expectations of a five star hotel.

As far as the imagery used on the sale advert is concerned, it might be the case that you have been allocated to a different room category than the one booked as explained above. Kindly note all rooms at Olympic Palace have been renovated and are glad to note that you have found your allocated room to be clean and adequate as mentioned in your review.

We would also like to warmly thank you for the comments made in regards to the hotel’s cuisine as well as our restaurant staff; your comments will be relayed to all staff member who we are sure that they will be very happy to know your opinion on the serviced delivered.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay and very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed at the Olympic palace hotel in the summer of 2013 and would love to come back!
Me, my sister and my mum stayed half board at the hotel and the food was incredible, in fact maybe too good to be in a bikini all week! We stayed half board and the cafe poolside served a great affordable lunch that made it easy for us to relax by the pool all day!
The activities in Rhodes such as boat trips were clearly advertised in the hotel were great and managed to drag us away from the pool for a few days although loved spending the day by the pool!
All staff members were very welcoming and friendly and enjoyed the entertainment although would say this is more geared towards families so may be best for couples or groups of friends to travel into Rhodes of an evening? Which is very practical as there is a bus stop opposite the hotel!
Didn't spend any time on the beach although it is conveniently situated not even 100m from the hotel but the beach is rocky and therefore didn't attract us to spend a day there although maybe would like to if there was some additional entertainment on the beach during the day/evening it would make for a beautiful alternative to the rooftop bar?
All in all would like to commend this hotel and all the staff as was very happy with the cleanliness, quality of the room and the view! Thanks for a lovely holiday and would love to come back this summer.

Room Tip: Staff are very accomadating with the rooms although was very happy with our room which although was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you would recommend Olympic Palace to other holidaymakers.

Thank you also for praising the hotel standards, level of cleanliness, friendliness of staff as well as the hotel’s cuisine; this really honours all of our hard working staff, employees and managers alike.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was good, we found that the pool was so busy every day we never used it. The hotel was very big, if you're unlucky you could get a view of the mountains. The sea was quite choppy as it's on the windier side. We had lots if fun on a quad though! Driving around old town was loads of fun!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your last year’s stay; this is greatly appreciated by all of us here in Olympic Palace.

While we are very grateful to read that you perceived our property to be a good hotel we felt a bit puzzled with the comment about the pool considering that the occupancy rate of the hotel last May was approximately 35%.

Nevertheless, we are pleased to note that your experience was satisfactory and that you had a good time in Rhodes.

Olympic Palace has made some significant changes this year following the feedback received during 2013 and very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in 2014 should your travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

our vacation was at april 2014.
we have arrived to the hotel at noon.. the recepcion was fast and easy, the staff was very nice.
the room was huge and lovely.. the view was Breathtaking... (but it after we upgrade the room).
the food is tasty , the hotel is clean..

we enjoyed very much..
the hotel Can match to familys. .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time at the Olympic and that you found everything to be as per your satisfaction.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Although granted we arrived on the first day of the hotel's season, one would expect a 5 star hotel would be ready for their guest's arrival. We were informed that the internet (which was only free in the lobby), the gym, the computers, and the pool bar would not be ready for a few days. My friend had a colony of ants in her room and practically had to beg the staff to let her change rooms, initially downgrading her at first. When the internet was ready for the rooms after several days, I paid for it (by the hour) and it didn't work. After I informed the lobby staff, they told me that well, it worked for other people and I couldn't get my money back. You would think that if their services weren't working at least the staff would be gracious and apologetic. Yes, this hotel has nice things about it, however, you will most likely end up annoyed by the end of your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Guest Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.
We are very sorry to note that certain factors have caused some level of dissatisfaction during your stay with us and would like to offer our genuine apology for any inconvenience felt.

Olympic Palace has opened in time this year with 90% of the overall resort facilities (including all core ones) being fully functional and can only apologize again if you felt that the resort was unprepared. In some cases like the gym, we have postponed its opening by 2 days due to a delayed delivery of equipment following the total renovation of this facility this winter. We do apologize for any dissatisfaction felt due to the lack of this facility on the first couple of days of your stay.

We would also like to apologize for the fact that the pool bar was closed, however please note that the snack bar, which is 20 meters away on the opposite direction, was open and fully functional. Kindly note the hotel advertises that the pool bar is open subject to weather conditions, which was the main reason that we had to postpone its operation during your stay with us.

Regarding the unfortunate incident with the ants, our records indicate that you had left some sweets in the room which had attracted them. As in all hotels, we do advise guests to be very careful with food consumption in room and its proper disposal so as to avoid any unfortunate incidents like the one described. Having said that, we would like to reassure you that our housekeeping department has excellent ratings as you will notice from Tripadvisor and that cleanliness is of paramount importance to us.

Regarding the alleged down grade, kindly be reminded that your initial reservation was for a standard mountain view room and that you had automatically being upgraded to a sea view room without any cost. After complaining about the above incident, we offered to change your room again to a Family room Mountain View (which is still an upgrade from the original room type booked) as there were no other sea view rooms available at the time. Without wishing to be unsympathetic, we are very frustrated to read these comments when considering in fact that we have upgraded you twice free of charge.

As far as WiFi internet access in rooms is concerned, please note that Olympic Palace has made a significant investment in a new WiFi infrastructure which offers full connectivity and signal in each of the 341 rooms of this hotel as well as public areas. The code initially purchased was tied in with your old room number, (204), which seemed to be the main cause that the system did not let you connect following your second room change (352). Our records however did show that after a while you were able to connect to the internet as normal. Having said that, we would like to point out that a member of our staff had discussed this issue with you whilst in the resort and that we had proceeded with a refund of the €3 paid as a goodwill gesture despite the fact that the service was actually used.

Once again thank you for choosing Olympic Palace for your stay as well as for letting us know of your concerns; we believe that we have done our best to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible and can only apologize again for any dissatisfaction felt.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This year will be our 8th year at this hotel and can honestly say that we have always had fantastic service and can not fault the staff or the facilities. For such a large hotel there is still a personal feel from reception to the restaurant staff and wonderful domestic staff who keep the place spotless. The food is good for being produced on a large scale even my husband who is very fussy manages to fill his plate. The restaurant can get busy on an evening but this is to be expected as its a large hotel but we have always been seated sometimes you have a short wait but not to long.

We stayed in this hotel when we married at the Filermos Monastry in 2012 and although we did not have the reception with them (only because local friends in their bar held the reception for us) they were so helpful, upgraded our room, bottle of champayne for me while I got ready and breakfast in bed the morning after the wedding without being asked.

We have always been looked after in this hotel. A big thank you to all the staff for looking after us over the years and look forward to seeing you all in September. Stuart and Melanie Ardle

Room Tip: We have stayed in Mountain, Seaview and Pool rooms and they are all good so depends on your personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience.

We are always delighted to read such positive comments, especially from our repeat clientele, and would like to thank you once more for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Olympic this September.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.