We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday but not 5* so depends on how much you pay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Good holiday but not 5* so depends on how much you pay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I paid a total of £1611 for a week's all-inclusive stay through Inspired Luxury Escapes, who claim to provide "luxury holidays using only handpicked five star hotels from the world's best destinations". The hotel is described as 5*, providing "upscale amenities" and an "intimate dining retreat serving innovative cuisine" and where guests can discover "refined elegance". We had a nice break and there are always pros and cons with any hotel but I was disappointed and annoyed to find such a difference in what we had expected and paid for and the reality, which is that this hotel is a "low-end" 4* at best.

Wi-fi was not complimentary but chargeable by the hour and even then, only worked in front of the reception desk and not in the rooms, restaurant or pool area as advertised. There were 4 very small lifts that didn't all work and that took too long to arrive. There was a good but somewhat bland choice of food and the all-inclusive guests were at times treated like second-class citizens, being restricted to a small selection of basic and sometimes fairly unpleasant cocktails (pina colada with cheap orange concentrate juice instead of pineapple and milk??!) as well as house wine and lager. Meanwhile, the "paying" DBB guests could choose from an entire menu, despite the all-inclusive guests having paid their premium upfront.

The rooms were a good size and comfortable but the air con was terrible - at the strongest and coolest setting, it was still uncomfortably warm, The pool area was lovely (although by the end of every day was strewn with litter), the staff were friendly and hardworking (apart from the rude lady in charge of the poolside bar who constantly contradicted the rules on all-inclusive that she seemed to make up as she went along!) and the Thai massages offered by the small spa were fantastic (although everything was cash-only with no ATM on site). The roof-top bar was lovely and the animation team were enthusiastic and friendly. The beach was nice but there were limited free sunbeds for use by the hotel guests and they were on an area of gravel right next to the very busy main road! The sunbeds on the actual beach were 4 euros each per day and there were no public toilets.

My complaint is not that we had a horrendous holiday but that I feel strongly we were misled into expecting and paying for a luxury experience. My friend and I holidayed in Crete last year - all-inclusive with similar facilities, similar positives and negatives but the difference was that we paid half the price! I appreciate that within the Greece domestic market, the hotel might be considered 5* but this should not be marketed as such to a UK traveller.

Room Tip: If you plan to go to bed early, don't get a room on the upper floors as there is noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are very sorry to read that your expectations were not fully met and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.

As you can appreciate the hotel has no control over how it gets advertised by the various agencies nor controls the final prices and regret to note that despite you had a good holiday overall there were certain issues out of our control that caused some dissatisfaction.

While we cannot comment on the price of the holiday kindly note that in certain cases the final prices can dramatically be affected by the cost of the flight.

At this point, we would like to assure you that the hotel’s official star rating is 5 stars which has been awarded by the Greek National Tourism Organization (GNTO) and felt sorry to note that this was not in line with your expectations.

We do realize that the star rating system is rather ambiguous and as a result there can be certain differences in standards form country to country however and without wishing to be unsympathetic we do find the comparison made to be exaggerated.

We are also sorry to note your dissatisfaction in regards to the hotel’s WiFi however the hotel does not advertise to have this service for free. Having said that, we would like to point out that this is the case with most hotels in Rhodes when third party companies are involved.

From the feedback we have so far we do not seem to have connectivity issues in most parts of the hotel except a small number of rooms at the back side of the building. In any case we would like to thank you for your input and assure you that your comments have been relayed to the third party company involved for further investigation.

The hotel has 4 lifts with a maximum capacity of 16 people which usually does not cause any problems at least in most parts of the season. When the hotel is working on full capacity there can be minor waiting times and if that was the case during your holiday we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Kindly note all 4 lifts were operational and recently serviced during your stay. As mentioned in another response on Tripadvisor, we have already started looking ways to resolve this issue for next season.

At this point we would like to emphasize that the hotel does not make any discrimination between guests and feel sadden to read your perception on the AI board offered. The All Inclusive board available covers local alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages while all guests have the option to order additional branded drinks at an extra charge. While we are sorry to read your dissatisfaction in this regard we can assure you that we provide all relevant information concerning the AI board to the companies that we work with.

As far as the hotel’s cuisine is concerned, we are rather surprised by your comment as the vast majority of our clientele is extremely happy with both the quality and variety of the food offered.

Thank you for your kind words in regards to the accommodation standards; we have already noted your comment in regards to the air conditioning and have passed this down to our maintenance department. The hotel does not appear to have any complains or other issues related to the air-conditioning and therefore can only apologize and assume that this might have been an unfortunate and isolated case.

The pool area is cleaned twice a day and felt sorry to read that this might have not been enough. We have already relayed this comment alongside with the bad behavior experienced from a member of our staff to the Hotel’s General Manager for further evaluation. Thank you for reporting both issues.

The spa area at the Olympic is outsourced hence the payment required in cash so do the sunbeds near the beach that are also owned and operated by a third party company. All sunbeds and umbrellas operated by the hotel are free of charge.

Thank you ever so much for your positive comments for our roof top bar and for the animation team; rest assured that we will relay your comments to our chief animator who will be very pleased to know your observations on the service delivered.

Overall we feel that the main reason of your complain is not related to the hotel itself and can only apologize for any dissatisfaction noted. We try our best to deliver the very best experience we can and the majority of our guests have a fantastic stay with us.

Despite the issues experienced, we very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Olympic should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    251
    111
    48
    21
See reviews for
195
330
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location , nice pool area
Food was good
Service wasn't as expected for 5 star hotel
Reception team are not pleasant
It take long time to get drinks at lunch/dinner
Pool team is very friendly
Need to cross the road to reach the beach

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that overall you found Olympic to be a nice hotel to stay to and would like to thank you once more for all the positive comments made.

Service levels in all resorts throughout the world can be slightly affected when a hotel is working at full capacity; we are genuinely sorry for any inconvenience experienced and very much hope that this did not have any major impacts to your overall holiday experience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our resort in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from our holidays we had an amazing time in Rhodes.Unfortunately Olympic palace didn't deliver for us.
Good points about the hotel:
-Cleanliness (the only annoying thing Maid always knock the door don't wait for answer and get in the room happened twice that we told reception from the first time).
-The room was a sea view room with great view, was clean and very spacious.
-Food was good and varied.
-The pool area is nice and clean and so is the pool itself
-Location the hotel is 10 min drive from Rhodes city.
The down side:
-Reception some ladies in the reception were rude and unhelpful every time we were complaining or requesting something they always blame a third party ei Maids, maintenance...instead look for solution.
-Restaurant service average for a 5*hotel wine was never serve however there is some staff outstanding,friendly and polite.
-The service that George provide was the worst not wine serve and he always ignored us I don't think he likes all inclusive guest in fact after our third day we decided to ask to be seated in another area where he was not serving.
-Lifts 4 lifts x 4 people at time when busy time they get stuck and don't work properly it can take a while to get downstairs obviously once or twice is fine but after a few days gets annoying
-Pool bar and roof terrace bar drinks are poor and limited for all inclusive we even noticed once they made a mojito with really dry mint.
-Beach a busy main road was between the hotel and the beach which was difficult to cross at times. Is a plebbe beach very windy at times the Sun beds some are free some you need to paid depend of the position.
It's an OK hotel but definetily not 5 start We wouldn't recommend to anyone as you don't get value for money.






  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are very sorry to read that Olympic did not meet your expectations and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Your comments in regards to the maids have been passed to the chief housekeeper who would like to thank you for the feedback received. This issue has already been addressed now and can only apologize again for any inconvenience caused.

We are also sorry to note that you felt that your waiter was rather unfriendly with you; rest assured that this has been passed down to the maitre d’ hotel and the relevant recommendations have been made.

While we are deeply sorry about your dissatisfaction, we would like to stress that the hotel has very high scores related to both its reception and restaurant team and feel sadden to note that your opinion is different to the majority of the feedback received.

All 4 lifts at the Olympic Palace have been recently serviced and are fully operational however as you can appreciate when the hotel is full some small waiting times may occur. The hotel is already looking ways to address this issue for next season and can only apologize again for any inconvenience caused.

As far as the busy road is concerned, we are pleased to inform you that the municipality has recently added multiple pedestrian crossings along the road which are expected to alleviate any disruption caused.

Kindly note that the free sun beds mentioned in your review belong to the hotel, while the rest of the sun beds closer to the shore belong to a third party company that rents the beach from the municipality hence the premium charged.

On a positive note we would like to thank you for the kind comments made in regards to the cleanliness, accommodation standards, leisure facilities, food and location of the hotel.

As you can appreciate the star rating system is a very ambiguous one and as a consequence there can be differences in hotel standards from country to country, however as far as Greece is concerned Olympic Palace fulfills all legal requirements and has a license for a five star hotel and can only apologize if you felt that this was not the case.

Despite the problems occurred, we are still pleased to read that overall you had an amazing holiday in Rhodes and very much hope that perhaps you might consider visiting us again some time in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

came back from a weekend in Olympic Palace.
At first we were offered a room with a very old furniture on the 2nd floor - we insisted on another room and that worked out.

The room - in general a good room. Lucking basic things such as hangers for the towels in the showers or a place to put the clothing. The "half" doors in the showers make it see through and the floors get very wet as there are no doors to close the shower.

The GYM - or the "fitness center" in the basement- as a person who goes to the gym at least 5 times a week, this was a BIG Disappointment. This "gym" include 1 old running machine +2 weight machines (upon request i will upload or email you the images).

Others - if you want water during dinner you have to pay, Internet - you have to pay, safe deposit - you have to pay extra, jacuzzi you have to pay extra, if they order you a taxi - you have to pay.....

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you go in to make sure you get a good quality room with LCD and not a tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are very sorry to note that your experience was not in line to the numerous excellent reviews received so far on Tripadvisor and would like to offer our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused.

We have already taken note of your issue during check in and shall investigate the matter further. Having said that, we are glad to read that you were offered after all an alternative room that was as per your satisfaction.

As far as the room amenities are concerned, we never had any similar complains in the past however we will relay your comments to the relevant departments involved in order to double check the room allocated.

Regarding the fitness center provided, kindly note that there are plans to renovate it in the near future and add more equipment as a few of them have been withdrawn due to maintenance reasons. We are genuinely sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused during your holiday.

Kindly note that from one hand all of the services described are not advertised by the hotel to be free, on the other hand all of those services listed are on extra charge in nearly all 5 star hotels of the island.

In any case we very much hope that overall your holiday with us was a pleasant one and that perhaps you might choose to return to Olympic Palace should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Kindest Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the hotel and our granddaughters first holiday abroad. We had an absolute fantastic time staying in a junior suite with a pool and sea view. The staff from reception right through to the restaurant were as always very accommodating. Nothing us too much trouble .

The animation team were new to the hotel but they were great. Fabio and Vino made sure everyone from my 4 year old granddaughter to myself (55) were entertained. The evening shows were very organised and all guests were encouraged to participate.

We are planning visit number 4 and look forward to seeing everyone again especially George the waiter in station number 1. He is a wonderful man who can make every meal time special.

Room Tip: I would recommend a Junior Suite if one is available and one with a pool/sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Teresa,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share you experience following you recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to read that you had an absolute fantastic time in our hotel and that you plan to visit us for the 4th time next year.

Rest assured that there is no better reward for us than to see satisfied guests returning back to Olympic and would like to warmly thank you for all the wonderful comments made.

We really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an 11night holiday in May, could have stayed the whole summer. Everything about this hotel and its staff was fantastic and would recommend to anyone. A very special thank you to the hotel for making our silver wedding anniversary and my birthday amazing, your generosity was greatly appreciated and we will not forget this holiday. We stayed all inclusive and can only rave about the quality, freshness and variety of the food provided, nothing was too much trouble and should you require chips you only had to ask. Nikos who ran the pool bar single handed was such a nice genuine person and never stopped, giving everyone a great service. Fabio and Cino from the entertainment team also made our holiday what it was they both have so many fantastic qualities. Working non stop to socialise with everyone around the pool but not pushy at all, both of them are great entertainers. Day and night they worked relentlessly and always with a smile on their face, they were a true delight to be around. Thank you Nikos, Fabio and Cino. All in all a holiday that never be forgotten and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel online.

It is always delightful to read that a guest of ours had an enjoyable stay at the Olympic and would like to take this opportunity and warmly thank you for your very positive comments.

Rest assured that we will relay your praises to all designated members of staff who will be very happy to know your opinion on the service delivered.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Olympic next year.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

having read as many reviews as we could about this hotel,before travellingout there 01/06/13,we were not dissappointed in any way.staff everywhere were fantastic.this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the med.sea views are a must, worth paying a little extra for.rooms and rest of hotel amazingly spotless.when you venture out of the hotel,turn left and you will come to a fantastic cafe/bar called keep it simple.it was not mentioned in any other review we had come across!the lady that runs this outlet (deb)was great in giving us information about the resort,and other resorts on the island.also she was agreat hostess,never letting your glass stay empty!snacks were great as well.great holiday.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Palace H, Public Relations Manager at Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you had a brilliant holiday with us and that you found Olympic Palace to be one of the best hotels you had ever stayed in the Mediterranean basin.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Warm Regards,
Olympic Palace
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center 5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover refined elegance and genuine hospitality. Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, with its unique architectural structure most recently renovated in 2008-12, welcoming and gracious with contemporary and chic interior design, offer's attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility. Tastefully designed for comfort, 65% of our guest rooms are sea view with amazingly large verandas, ideal spots to take advantage of the amazing first rays of the sunlight or indulge in the enticing sunsets dipping in the Aegean Sea. Relax in our attractive and spacious gardens, or simply 'chill out' by the swimming pool, and enjoy a warm welcome from our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff. Alternatively you can take a stroll down to the beach and enjoy a swim in the crystal clear blue waters of the Aegean Sea and capture the breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Ixia
Hotel Olympic Palace
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.