We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solemar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solemar to your Saves list
Hotel Solemar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sotiros 99 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Redditch, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

Where do I begin, firstly we were a party of 7 who booked in January 2006 to stay in August and requested side by side rooms. Well when we got to the Solemar 3 of the party was told there apartment was not available and the previous occupants were still in the apartment due to their flight been cancelled, (dodgy, which we also discovered was told to other people arriving after us and yet our Rep confirmed that no flights were cancelled) we were told that we would have to stay in the hotel for the night and the following morning our apartment would become available. Just the start of the pantomine. Next morning still no apartment when were then told we would have to go the hotel next door Les Cocotiers for the remainder of our holiday, was told there were no apartments together and the only way that would be possible was for the management to put the buildings together (nice). The Manager (not a particularly pleasant greek man) said that we had not booked together or come in on the same flight (which was not true) and stated that it made no difference where we stayed, the hotels were all the same it was just a name that differentiated them!! Not sure he saw our point of view in that we had paid to stay at the Solemar and no where else. Still after we persisted and refused to move hotels (what do you know) he found us an apartment.

The swimming pool is very dodgy becomes very deep very quickly and without any warning, there are also many a dangerous tile and lights that are hanging out of the sides, so watch your legs when in there.

The showers in the older block of apartments are hilarious you basically have to hold the shower head over your head and finding a good temperature is very hit and miss, also every time you have a shower the bathroom becomes a lovely swimming pool (great effect).

As for the linen some people have stated that they had fresh linen every day, well we certainly didn't and sometimes had to practically fight the cleaner for clean towels and sheets and also toilet rolls. My advise is, if you stay there take your toilet roll off in the morning and hide it and then she will leave you another one otherwise you are basically stuffed.!!!

Much of the furniture in the old block of apartments could do with being refreshed and don't even bother about the air conditioning which is charged at 6 euros per day but gets frequently turned off especially at night when you need it most, you could also do with an air conditioning unit in the main area of the apartment because if you are unfortunate to have to sleep in that area it is not pleasant also extra beds in living area are camp style beds and very uncomfortable.

Would definately not recommend and would never return to the Solemar!!

Ixia and Rhodes itself is beautiful and a must, we found Dimitrious as an excellent restuarant to eat at, the staff are very friendly (especially George and Lazarus) and the food is really good, also a bit further down Eddy's Pub is a great place for a follow up drink run by a dutch couple Eddy and Caroline who are really good fun. Rhodes town by day and night is a must there is plenty to do in both Old Town and New Town.

Would definately return to Rhodes as it keeps getting better have previously stayed at the Oceanis which was great but would never return to the Solemar especially due to the poor reception from the miserable staff and the state of the apartments.

The Warren's and The Hallett's, Redditch, Worcestershire

  • Liked — Close proximity to Rhodes Town
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Hide your toilet rolls
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    129
    94
    34
    44
See reviews for
84
162
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

Having just returned from the Solemar appartments, i feel the need to write a review. I can honestly say i was not in the slightest disappointed with my stay in Solemar Appartments. Our appartment was very spacious with plenty of storage. The appartments were very clean and we found there was no need for air conditioning despite the hot temperatures at this time of year. The staff were all pleasant and friendly, the bartender Gabrielle was extremely nice and efficient.

Myself and my friend stayed for 1 week, we are 2 young single females, and the appartments are mostly catered for couples and families, we did not find this a problem, but if you are hoping to meet younger single groups when you are away, solemar may not be your best choice.

Ixia is quite a quiet resort, so again maybe not for peple looking for a lively time. Although there are a few nice bars, Cabellaro and valentine's cocktail bar. I'm sure there are a few more than we did not see. We travelled to rhodes most nights and throughly enjoyed Rhodes town, Old and New. We enjoyed being able to retreat back to the less busy Ixia after a nigth out.

We did not have one bad meal on our trip, although the coconut Restaurant in Ixia was our least favourite. We found the Luna, Alexandros and Demitros very enjoyable and the staff are always most pleasant. we did not eat at the solemar as we were in the appartments and preferred to try the restaurants near by.

Rhodes OLD town is a must for a meal or a few drinks at night, absolutely beautiful

PS Maybe the shower a little dodgy, but manageable

  • Liked — Very friendly staff, everthing needed near by
  • Disliked — nothing in particular to be honest
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

where to begin.... there were good points and bad points during our stay at solemar. arrived at 4 in the morning in need of a good sleep, but to our suprise we were kept awake (most nites) by the loud sounds of the cockeral outside the hotel, aswell as the very busy main road outside. the hotel is need of good soundproof balcony doors! nevertheless, this will probably be the same whichever hotel you stay in in ixia as they are all on the same stretch of road. however, we did get a good sea front view from our rooms!

The rooms were good, with a fridge, t.v and radio. the bathroom however... was tiny. the door just about opened with the door banging into the toilet everytime you wanted to go in, the bathroom was flooded with water everytime you had a showa as the shower space was very small, you could just about move in there and you ended up holding the shower head to have a shower!!

the room comes without AC, you have to pay 6 euros a nite to get it, but I do advise it otherwise by the end of your holiday you will be completely covered with mosquito bites as we found out!! there is also a lot of ants around at night in the bathrooms so i dont advise you leaving your toileteries in there!

we were a party of 8 and we had 4 rooms and they were all the same!!

The hotel... there is abit of entertainment, including air hockey and pool, apart from that though the hotel only has live entertainment on a monday night.. a karaoke. the lift.... is absolutly tiny, just about fitting 4 people in them, or if you have suitcases, it will fit 2 suitcases and one person.

the food... all the hot food was drenched in oil and was very salty so we stuck to salad most nights, and just toast for breakfast. there was a variety of foods out, but it was the same every night so it got boring after the 3rd night! the waiter and the chef were very friendly! if you do not like their food,there is a whole road of restaurants outside that you could go to, we went there a few times... i recommend the coconut restaurant they were very friendly people.. and gave us free watermelon!!

the pool area - there are plenty of sunbeds available so that was not a problem so there is no need to rush out 1st thing to reserve your beds!! the pool itself was nice, but it got deep very quickly so be warned those who can not swim! there is also a poolside bar.

the Staff... overall they were nice, although there were a couple of moody ones. the bar man was very nice and friendly! overall i would rate the hotel a low 3 star, if not a 2 star!

Ixia... be very carful of the roads, they have no traffic lights and the road is busy 24-7. it takes ages to cross over! there is alot of local supermarkets near by which cater for all your needs, food, booze, souvenir shops etc. the shingle beach is accross the road.. if you ever get there!! the town is quite quiet overall, so if you want a lively holiday id recommend somewhere like faliraki.

apart from all the downsides, we did all have a good time in Rhodes.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTSMOUTH HAMPSHIRE
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

before we travelled to ixia i was a little worried about it as the hotel had some bad reviews.
rhodes is full of culture loads to do and very hot in july. we had a wonderful holiday and being a young couple after a bit of culture, fun and relaxing it was just that.
The hotel was ok not the best it was a bit basic and if your going to greece on holiday remeber its not england they dont have the same food as us, as importing costs!!" but the food we found was fine and we had a different choice each day.
If not then try the luna bar its great for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

Arrived back from Ixia yesterday morning after a week in one of the apartments attached to the Solemar Hotel.
I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the previous comments but was very pleasantly surprised.
Good Points: We were in the newer block at the back so the rooms were a bit brighter and the furniture was in good condition.
the apartments are built in a way that with the front and back windows open, a through breeze keeps them pleasantly cool - we did not bother paying for the air-con as it was not necessary.
the staff are really friendly and helpful.
drinks at the pool bar are not expensive.
apartments are cleaned every day except Sunday and fresh towels supplied daily.
the high bank at the back of the block kept out the early morning sun (we were on the ground floor) which kept the bedroom cooler.
our pickup for the return flight was only at 01:30 but we were able to book a room (30 Euros) which meant that we could spend a full day doing whatever we wanted (normal check-out is 12:30), have a sleep, shower, etc right up until it was time to leave. Unfortunately, as someone was coming in to the room which we had spent the week in, it meant moving to another but that was no problem.
TV in every apartment showing 1 English channel (BBC 24), Italian, German, Greek (obviously), Russian and other channels for those who prefer to vegetate in front of the set.
no shortage of hot water.

Bad points.
if you are in the older block, showers are hand-held!
showers appear to be dodgy all round. i would recommend that you leave your dry clothes outside when showering as everything gets wet in the bathroom. Our shower had a nasty habit of flying off the bracket if the pressure was turned up too quickly.
swimming pool is quite small for the number of guests and is very old - at least 1 broken tile and dodgy outlet pipes - be careful of cutting yourself.
the pool also has a very old-fashioned filtering system and the drainage system (if you see it, you will know what I mean) was filled with rubbish, although the pool proper is cleaned thoroughly every day.
the pool goes from about 1.5 metres to 3 metres (10') in depth very quickly and could be very dangerous for a non swimmer. There is a tiny kids pool and another very small pool which is shallower but also very small.
the hotel bar which opens in the evening is quite expensive.
cockroaches - but that, unfortunately is part and parcel of the hot climate.

The complex is situated in the centre of Ixia and everything is near to hand.
The local bus service is cheap, costing only E1.70 per person into Rhodes Town and the newer buses are air conditioned. They run every half hour and vary from being entirely empty to being like sardine cans.
Alternatively, there are many taxis and it costs 6 Euros into the centre of Rhodes Town. We used both forms of transport.
There are plenty of bars and retaurants but we found the Alexandrious to be the best but do go into town and go to the restaurant area in the Old Town. The atmosphere is superb. We ate at Romeos and had a fantastic meal at a reasonable price.

If you are going to Rhodes (and I recommend everyone to go there - we love the place), do not be too alarmed if your accomodation is going to be in these apartments, but do try and get one in the newer block. Remember also that you get what you pay for and this is certainly no 5-star hotel but it is comfortable, convenient and clean.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

we spent two weeks here in June and after reading the reviews were a bit apprehensive, particularly as we like our food. We arrived at an unearthly time of the morning 5.00 am from Glasgow and were greeted efficiently and politely at reception. The room was fine... if you think these rooms are small, you should try staying in some of the hotels we've been in!!! The aviary was noisy and the cockerel was in a different time zone but after we got some sleep, we got quite fond of the birds. The staff at the hotel were lovely, from the dining room staff to reception and although there was a very mixed bag of guests at the hotel from all over Europe, including a party of 50 Greeks (on a Saga tour, I think) the food seemed to suit just about everyone and there was certainly enough choice...you could always find something to eat. Breakfast were very good and you got a great choice. The chef was very good with pasta and made a mean potato salad!! Most of the guests we spoke to agreed with us. ( if you want British food, there are plenty of places around to cater). Ixia is quite quiet but a great base for travelling around the island. The Caballero is a great bar with very efficient bar staff and well priced drinks though the music might be a bit too loud for some folk...it was competing with the World Cup coverage after all and there are some lovely restaurants round about for lunch. All in all, we had a great holiday. I would say the Solemar did pretty well for a three star hotel, the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels etc., and although the plumbing is a bit eccentric, well, all I can say is, you're in the Greek Islands, what do you expect? Where is your sense of adventure?

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

A reasonable good hotel but the food was always cold everything was dripped in oil not enough choise complained to the chef but it did not make any differance rooms clean and the pool area was very nice
we as aparty of 4 went for two weeks in May 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solemar

Address: Sotiros 99 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solemar 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Solemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemar Hotel Ixia
Hotel Solemar Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.