We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solemar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solemar to your Saves list
Hotel Solemar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sotiros 99 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85100 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

have been here five times and had a good hiliday every time. hotel very cleen staff very helpful and very freindly food very good plenty to choose from dont wyy people complain

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    129
    93
    34
    44
See reviews for
84
161
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

friendly staff. Good cleaners. Great food. Only issues, price of air con and pool being out me use for first 2days. But we could use its sister hotels pool if we wanted.
Bar staff great. Special thanks to gabriell for makin up feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Cumbrae
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

and night time food is is the worst all inclusive in Rhodes we have ever stayed in, so many mangy cats, one was even eating off the buffet on last night 22nd Sept, only one bar at pool side, evening entertainment terrible the only good thing was the rooms were clean but there is no atmosphere and food was terrible especially the dinners Thomas cook wants to send in an inspector to visit this hotel ingognito it should not be in there brochure. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rhodes.

Room Tip: pick one overlooking the road the noise from the parakeets next door terrible from 4.30 in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

my husband and myself stayed 1 week at these apartments, they are the worst apartments we have ever stayed in, we payed over £800 for this holiday, our apt was shabby, kitchen had ants, only one plug for appliances so if you wanted toast as well as tea you had to wait, our kettle knocked off when just lukewarm and wouldnt come on again for ages, (we eventually got a fresh one, which they took out of the empty apt next door, when the lady came in there she had no working kettle) the shower in the bathroom was a joke it didnt hang on the wall you had to hold it over you head and water came out the bottom of spray as well as front, the tap in the kitchen was even better, when you turned that on to more than a dribble water squirted every where and drowned any body nearby, the bathroom sink u bend dripped, there was evidence of damp along the bottom of the bedroom wall, the balcony was small but ok, we overlooked the neighbours garden and their avery of parrots which were very noisy all day we could not see them because of overgrown trees but could certainly hear them, on the last day we stripped the bed for the maid, i wish i had done it the 1st day, the mattresses were DISGUSTING, full of nasty stains and cig burns, we both of us had quite a number of bites smaller that mosi bites and are convinced they came from the beds, on the positive side the front bar was good and the barman lovely, the area brilliant we spent most evenings in the F B I bar where nothing was to much trouble, we had some lovely meals in the restaraunts nearby, Rhodes town is a lovely place and a must see, better at night, the old town is fantastic, but the sight seein bus that runs from the harbour is a waste of 9euros, all in all we had a good holiday but the apartments let us down badly, we will go back to ixia but definately not to these apts.

Room Tip: avoid these apartments at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

We booked a one week cheap and cheerful so were unsure what to expect... We arrived at 4am and were shown straight to our room which, although I don't like to complain, was pretty noisy as the neighbours have dogs and birds!!

Anyway we felt the pool area was nice, we were all inclusive and whilst he enjoyed the plentiful vodka cokes and I did enjoy the various cocktails ..... I could not get drunk ... Go figure!!

The food I felt was good, I thought the service was fab and the food would suit most tastes but I appreciate that an all inclusive in all countries is not the same! I liked the salad bar and that every night there were at least 4 main options for a main, and who doesn't like ice cream?

I think the cleaners were fab, the bar staff were fab although I have stayed in nicer hotels, we did enjoy our stay .... As the brochure states.... A good base to explore!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westhoughton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

On reading some of the reviews i began to have second thought s about this hotel , but the reviews were of a mixed nature from very good to very poor. as i had been to rhodes before but not ixia i thought what the heck give it a go. I arrived very early on the thurs morning and was met by a very helpful and polite gentleman he went through the booking in with me and showed me to my room, the room was as i expected very basic [as i have been to greece many times] clean and plenty of room for one/two people. As this was my first solo trip i wasnt sure what to expect but i found all the staff very friendly and helpful ,i stayed all inclusive and to be honest i dont know why other peple wrote bad reviews this hotel /my room was clean the food was of a very good standard you could even request your own meals be prepared eg pizza .If you needed any help the staff at reception were only to willing to help and if they couldnt they did there best to help. the room was cleaned on a daily basis and the maid service/cleaners very ploite. even though i went all inclusive i did go out during the day and at night times . in my opinion thse are a few places to go either to eat or drink as i found them all of a very high standard, turn left out of the hotel and walk a few hundered yards and you wiill come across the White corner cocktail bar good food and friendly staff/welcome. turning right as you leave the hotel you come acrooss the following three bars/restaurants the luna ,the cabellero bar,then the velious fbi pub all of which served me a feeling i was some one special a little bit further down is the rodos garden palace here you can sit in the early evening eating drinking and relaxing watching the sun set . take a strowl , bus or[ taxi for 8euros ]into rhodes town if youve never been before you are in for pleasant surprise. but over all i can say my stay at the solemar was a wonderful experience and would deffinately stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

when i arrived at the hotel i thought wow its really nice the receptionist was really nice, then i asked for air conditioning and safe it cost 67 euros for both for 11 days, i thought god thats alot but needed air con cause it was really hot. we had a drink when we arrived their it was about 11 in the evening so went to the bar with my daughter age 1 and asked for a couple of drinks which we had to pay for even thou we were all inclusive very strange gabriell was the bar man he was very nice and polite. The rooms are very basic but very clean the maids are very good. RIGHT THE FOOD!!!! not very nice lived on salads my daughter had chips most of the time their were no childrens selection at all very poor but if you like spaggetti bolognaise they had that every lunch time and evenin....the sweets was awfull too. the entertainment in the day was ok but seen better yasmin and della was fantastic the evening entertainment well what can i say it was awfull on a little stage outside near all the sun lounges on the grass. The bar staff at the back of the hotel was lovely very friendly but i will say the drinks are watered down very poor. the beach is very pebbley not a nice beach the pool was ok but the last day we came home they had too shut it cause the water was goin green not good so i really hope theyve sorted it... all i want to say is that i couldnt wait to come home would never go their again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solemar

Address: Sotiros 99 | Ixia, Rhodes Town 85100 , Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solemar 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Solemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solemar Hotel Ixia
Hotel Solemar Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.