We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No to All Inclusive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belair Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Belair Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No to All Inclusive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed for 1 week all inclusive at Belair Beach Hotel, overall it was a nice hotel but after a few hours things started to stand out. The hotel looked clean and the room was cleaned every day, they changed the bed sheets and replaced the towels but there was brown stains on the curtains (would not like to guess what it was but it was in a smear pattern) and the walls shown the remains of splatted mosquitos the whole week. The shower was almost unusable due to the head being blocked up on some of the holes; this made the ones that worked that high in pressure it felt like it would cut your skin. (The bathroom was nice but very small considering) the water was cold after 5 o’clock but this is common in Greece. We had a side sea view, the view was very nice from the room with a nice cool breeze on the balcony. The air con was free which is good as some hotels charge for this but it was not very controllable it was red hot when it was off and freezing when it was on so you find you are up and down at night turning it on and off. The walls are so thin you can hear everything in the next room this includes people going to the bathroom (not nice). We had someone who liked to drag the chairs across the floor at all times of day and night. The beds are two singles pushed together and are hard as rock in my opinion, my partner had a bad back by the 2nd day. The all-inclusive is a joke, on arrival we was given a printout showing the times of each meal and the drinks that are covered, from this it said that the lunch was a choice of buffet or any item on the Snack bar menu with AI next to it. We had a look at the buffet and it was a bit grim, about 4 trays with a mix of unrecognisable foods (we have been to Greece 5+ times and did not recognise anything). So we decided to have a burger off the snack bar menu. We sat on a table out side the buffet area (the other side of a rail) we looked at the menu and found lots of good looking food so my partner went to order some food, whilst she was at the snack bar one very rude waiter came to me and said I can’t sit here as I’m an all inclusive guest. I tried to explain we was having something from the snack bar at which point he got angry and said I must move to the other side of the rail I said ok and he walked off. At this point my partner returned and said that we can’t have any food from the snack bar the woman behind the bar was very rude to her and said we can only have food from the buffet she did not even give the choice to buy any food which I would have as it would be something I wanted to eat. We ate out for 4 meals when the food was not very good. The lounge bar was very hot and they don’t let you have the door open due to the air con which is off. On the Friday night it was Greek night so they had the doors open which made the temperature just nice. I don’t know why they don’t have them open all the time. All I can think of is to make you feel uncomfortable so you don’t drink too much. The general feeling of the hotel staff is tips are assumed not earned. I am a big believer in the staff should be welcoming and approachable, if they have stopped including something they should tell you in a polite manner and not by getting angry with you for asking, then expect a tip. (I don’t think so!!!!). The lounge bar man was friendly but spoke a bit fast for me but we made a bit of a joke about it. I did tip him often as he did not expect it for free. The table tennis is free but unplayable due to its location because of the wind I would expect a little wind barrier to make it playable as the location of the table tennis is nice. The tennis court was free to go in but if you want to use their rackets and ball there is a 6 euro charge per hour. I expected a refundable deposit on return of the equipment but due to the cost no one used this facility all week. The pool tables in the games room was 2 euro, again a bit pricey and nobody used it. We had a game but would have played more if it was cheaper.
All this being said we had a good holiday, but wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Side sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzgg635613, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guests
we would like to mention that, paying the highest respect to your review (as we do with all the ones ), we have red it quite carefully and we would like to mention the following
1) the A/C is possible to adjust. In case a guest cannot, can only ask at the reception to send a technician for a short demonstration
2) If the guest from the room next/ above / below will drag chairs, no matter how thick the walls are, it will make a noise. Reception is also there for your assistance, to make known to guests if they are bothering others
3) In the hotel we have three different type of matrasses. Again a simple querry at the reception could solve your problem quickly and easily
3)During lunch buffet are 7 trays (not 4) plus a salad buffet (with fresh and mixed saleds) as well as fruits and desserts. All marked with name of food in three languages.
4) It is kind of strange that so many people were rude to you, as all guest's reviews mention that under any circumstances personell is always freindly and kind. I can only presume that the fact that we speak english, but it is not our language, makes you believe that we are rude.
If I am allowed to offer you a piece of advise is that (at least in Greece) you can ask at the reception for any issue you have. A lot of the issues you have described, would be easily solved.
Once again though we would like to ensure you that we took in serious consideration your review and we thank you for visiting us
Kind regards
GEORGE MORAITIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    125
    70
    34
    23
See reviews for
73
151
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed in the Belair for 3 nights and found the hotel to be welcoming, clean and great value for money. Considering the compeition for hotel's in Ixia is fierce, the Belair was up there with the best of them.

The negative comment about the food was strange. I have stayed in another hotel in Ixia and the food at the Belair was far superior to the other hotel I have been to.

The pool area could do with a little bit of ebtertainment / music, but you cannot complain about that at all.

The room was big and well air conditioned, shower was good, balcony had excellent views.

Well worth the money. Ignore the exaggerated negative comments and try it for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel has a very 'welcoming' feel to it as all the staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms and public areas are very clean and towels are changed every day. Meals are buffet style and there is a varied selection of dishes each evening to suit everyone's taste, including vegetarians.
I've read complaints that the breakfasts are the same every day - this is true but there is only so much variation possible on this type of meal. Cereals, English breakfasts, yoghurt, fruit, toast, jam etc were always provided so it's more than adequate. We stayed in May and there were enough sunbeds to go round but I would imagine it could get pretty crowded around the pool in high season. We were half board but many of the guests were all inclusive. The nice thing is that at this hotel there isn't an obvious distinction between the two. Apart from the lunches and the drinks, all inclusive guests were given exactly the same meals as everyone else. Also, Belair Beach had a normal bar area, unlike most other all inclusive hotels nearby where guests had to form long queues to buy drinks (more like cafeterias!) The only drawback I could find was the lack of evening entertainment (Greek dancing one night and a singer on another). However, if you're looking for a great value for money hotel with lovely staff and clean rooms then you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the pool and we had a lovely view of the sea. The balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I cant understand how people can give this place 1/2 out of 5.
The hotel was Good quality, staff always friendly, rooms were clean and furnished to a good standard, the pool area was clean, the food was good (particularly for a buffet), great location (easy walk to local bars and restaurants), good views and a short taxi/bus ride to rhodes town. I really don't know what some people expect. Had a lovely time!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It was a great -positive surprise the clean, spacious rooms, the plenty and good food and above all the kind and friendly staff! I was treated better than in many 5* luxurious hotels! Congratulations!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed in BelAir for 3 weeks last summer and I was very satisfied! The rooms are clean, the facilities are very well but the secret of the success of this hotel lies in the people who work there, who know how to treat their clients the best way they can. The stuff was very friendly and willing to help me! They surely did the best they could and I could not be happier for my choice to stay in BelAir Hotel!! Congratulations for your team and I would encourage more Greeks to support this hotel since the prices are normal for the package!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzgg635613, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Google Translation
Αγαπητοί Κυρία Ν.
Σας ευχαριστούμε γιά τα καλά σας λόγια και γιά την ηθική επιβράβευση των προσπαθειών μας. Σας υποσχόμαστε ότι θα συνεχίσουμε να προσπαθούμε να προσφέρουμε ευχάριστη διαμονή στούς επισκέπτες του νησιού
Με εκτίμηση
ΓΕΩΡΓΙΟΣ ΜΩΡΑΙΤΗΣ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I would just like to start with I wish people would write honest reviews on here because after reading some of the reviews on the Belair Beach Hotel I was a bit worried about what was facing us when we got to Rhodes but I seriously shouldn't have. The hotel was lovely and clean. The pool area was just right. The food in the dinning room and the pool bar was very good.
The hotel was quite small compared to some others in ixia but personally I don't think that makes a difference. The staff in this hotel were so friendly, they all made us feel very welcome. George in the dinning room is a star, he's lovely. All the staff were great from the receptionist and bar staff down to the cleaners!
The only criticism I have of the hotel is the beds are extremely hard and the shower wasn't very good but that's it.
Rhodes is a lovely little island and well worth a visit, I would recommend going to lindos for a visit it's beautiful, Rhodes old town is lovely to. If you are visiting Rhodes soon take some good mosquito repellent with you and have a great time....:)))

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzgg635613, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guests

we would like to thank you for your encouraging words and to ensure you that we will keep beeing commited to our duty - to offer you traditional greek hospitality
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Rhodes Town
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belair Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.