We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belair Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Belair Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed in the Bel Air Hotel first week of September and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. We stayed in a room with the most spectular sea view, nothing like I have ever seen before. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff where friendly and very helpful and the food was good, ok, not 5* standards, but very good and there was a bit of something for everyone. The weather whilst we where there was superb. I do have 2 complaints -the road you have to cross to get to the beach is lethal. It is a main road, with traffic racing up and down it and the only crossing is a five minute walk away - not ideal especially when there with an elderly relative. And also the hotel could do with having entertainment more than 2 evenings per week... Surely it would not cost that much to have a little something on every evening, as the immediate resort itself is very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    125
    70
    34
    23
See reviews for
74
151
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dorset england
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Having just return from holiday. i would like to confirm the hotel was fisrst class. only thing we could find any fault with was. no bottled water. as we took a baby that was a problem to start with. food could have been hotter, and a bit more chouse as after a week there wasnt any change. as for al in clusive i do feel thay have a lot to learn. the hotel was spotlesly clean. what more do you want for a holiday

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Certainly not a 4 start hotel as it says.. Premises need badly a good fresh up in terms of decoration. Found swimming pool over crowded and not clean. "All inclusive" option is ridiculous, they don't give you even a glass of mineral water (not tap water,please!!) and soft drinks are just too bad to be tasted. I do not even mention the meals! Who could eat that terrible stuff.. It doesn't even look fresh. Very poor choice and bad smell in the rstaurant. The hotel is not suitable at all for families with small children and buggies as stairs are everywhere and it's just too dangerous. Room was neat and quite, but towels smelt bad and bathroom was so small that you hardly could close the door once in.. And going to the beach is just a dangerous experience! One has to cross the road (main road from airport to Rhodes town on the east coast) when cars are speeding day and night... To sum up, I recommend to choose the hotel if you don't mind loud karaoké evenings, if you are willing to start your diet and want to feel back to 70s.. I'd never return there for any money, sorry guys!

Room Tip: Clean but old
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lovely hotel; slightly cautious given some of the reviews written but found it to be friendly. Extremely clean with sheets and towels changed every day; pool area was good with a plentiful supply of sun beds and shades; pool bar ladies were lovely and always greeted you with a smile. Reception staff were very helpful also. Food was plentiful - lots of salads, breads and fruits, so wasn't too much of a problem if the main was not to your taste. Overall, we had a great time here and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My partner and i have just returned from our week long holiday here, we arrived at night, it looked ok from the outside, not as glam as some of the more expensive hotels on that road but nice enough. The reception area was bright and welcoming as was the chap behind the desk. Our room was on the second floor it was spotlessly clean and tidy and had a lovely view of the beach and on a clear day you could see Turkey. The decor throughout the hotel was a little dated but in good condition, and the staff were polite, helpful and very welcoming. The food was good, we were on a all inclusive basis and there was something for everyone...even the fussiest of eaters! Something different everyday, slight downside was the desserts, not enough variety. The pool was clean and in the evenings they had some nice entertainment and the beach was just over the road and for 4 euros per person you can hire a sunbed for the whole day on the hotels private beach. There was a supermarket right next door plus a bus stop which had frequent buses to Rhodes Town which took about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Just came back from fabulous ten day holiday at this hotel. Rooms spotless sheets and clean towels everyday. Staff extremely friend.y, especially when they get to know you. Pool side bar staff Yani, Gia and Dorothea very helpful with the all inclusive drinks! Maria and reception staff very helpful. If you need any advice on local topics ask them. There was always something I found to eat in the restaurant. Lots of lovely greek salads. I really dont understand why all the negative reports about this hotel. The only one criticism is not much evening entertainment for children. We as aldults had many lovely evenings chatting in Bar and terrace on hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

As we arrived the receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly, she told us everything we needed to know about the hotel and then gave us our room keys.

The rooms were very clean when we arrived and the air conditioning was great! The maids came everyday but mid-afternoon.We had a sea view room so it was the quiet side of the hotel over looking the tennis courts and getting the afternoon sun.

The pool area was great. Not empty but not too busy. If you like the sun all day, I would recommend getting sunbeds near the bar as the sun moves round the hotel quickly so anywhere else you only get a few hours of sun. If you like a bit of both, get sunbeds on the other side of the pool . The pool was cold getting in but then once you were used to it , it was fine.

The food was okay, I wouldn't say great because it wasn't but it was fine for a week. The desserts were to die for! Afternoon snacks are not included in the all inclusive pack! RIDICULOUS! Ice cream is only served to orange wrist bands or if you have been seen with a child! But can be purchased at 1-3euros, again RIDICULOUS! There were no diet fizzy drinks and the alcohol wasn't very varied. You had about 6 llocal liquors to choose from, such as vodka, oozo, etc.

The entertainment was live singing every Tuesday and Saturday, every other day you would feel honored if the bar staff put music on. The bar staff were very moody and didn't really understand what you said so you more than likely didn't get what you actually asked for. The pool staff were hard to get to know but then friendly and cheerful.

The road outside the hotel is always busy and never stops so if you take a right and walk down the strip you come to a big sign saying OLYMPIC PALACE. near it is a white barrier,with some stairs, if you walk down the stairs it is a subway to the beach, which gets you safely across the busy road. If you have a transfer and need to cross the road as the coach has no other choice but to stop on the other side of the road, then you wait until there is a car a distance away from you and put your hand out , the car should then stop for you.

Outside of the hotel the greeks are very friendly. We had a local bar called Rodos Gardens which is just before the subway. The staff are extremely friendly and get to know you and your drinks very quickly, and do great toasties if you want a change from the hotel snacks.

We stayed for a week which wasn't enough as there was so much outside the hotel to do and we had just settled in and it was time to go again, but I wouldn't do 2 weeks, 10 days would of been fabulous!
We met friends being 15years old and 18 years old and the hotel had lots of English so it was easy enough.
I would recommend this hotel to any age.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Ialyssos Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Rhodes Town
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belair Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.