We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.Try it you won't be disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantica Princess Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4101 | Ialysos, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.Try it you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having just returned , I really do feel the need to give praise to this hotel and its hard working staff, they really do deserve it. We arrived late at night to find the hotel had laid on sandwiches, cake and drinks, what a nise touch after an exhausting journey ! The check in was very friendly and efficient. We were shown to our room which was in a seperate annex across the road from the pool. It was very roomy and clean and even had a fridge. Our balcony overlooked the pool area which was very pleasant. No fighting for sun beds and a covered pool area for very young children, which we don't have ,but I thought was a great idea. The hotel was predominently occuppied by travellers from Scandanavian countries which was fine and lots of famillies as well as couples.The entertainment team were friendly but not pushy and the same can be said fot the Thomson Rep Pat who took the welcome meeting. A more mature lady who had lots of info and made the meeting interesting. Most reps are very pushy she was'nt and did a really great job. We hired a car as we like to travel independently.Whilst on the subject of car rental there is a nice chap called Martin in the reception area who works for Rodos car hire. He was brilliant, we hired a Nissan Micra for 3 days costing 70 Euros.Martin is English so we had no communication problems and were able to make sure we were fully insured should an accident occur. His instructions on where to park free in Rhodes town were spot on. Do go and see him if you want a decent car with no hidden extras.Back to the hotel, the food was plentiful and of an excellent quality, oh and HOT which makes a nice change. Even fussy eaters would find it hard to go hungry here.The restaurant staff were very attentive and very friendly. We were on half board, but I noticed most people were all inclusive, consequently on an evening most stayed in the hotel . We did'nt stay to watch the entertainment but I think it was the usual sort of thing bingo , childrens disco, entertainment team doing a show. We ventured out and managed to find some Greek music in a taverna with a naff name of Greekland. The staff were lovely, again very hard working. A proffessional played music on a mandolin and a guy sang . Customers got up and did the Zorbas dance which was good fun. After the Greek session the guy sang club songs such as Smokeys Alice ,which I found really irritating. If you visit you will know why !. Having said that they were quite busy , where most of the bars and Tavernas were empty. This is a great shame for the Greek people they are so lovely and are clearly struggling in the current economic climate. All inclusive hotels unfortunately don't help. The island is beautiful. We visited Lindos and that side of the coast .Don't go on a Monday if you want to enter the Acropolis at the top. To our dismay it was closed all day. The little town is very pretty and very touristy. I felt for the poor donkeys climbing up the top. Some of the people really should have walked , it would have done them good! How the poor donkeys cope in the height of summer I do not know, needless to say I would rather walk. On the other day we hired a car we visited the ancient ruins of Kamiros, fabulous views and well worth a visit. Rhodes town is interesting both in the daytime and at night. Do venture off the tourist trail, you get the sense of stepping back in time. Small houses where people have lived for hundreds of years in very much the same way. It is intriguing. We loved Rhodes and will go back one day, but there are so many other islands to see. The Greek people are so welcoming and they alone have sold Greece to us for future holidays. If you are planning a trip to Rhodes ,do visit the Atlantica Princess you will not be disappointed. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and the management and staff really do deserve a pat on the back. A big thank you to them all for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    190
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
359
223
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned from from a fabulous time at Atlantica Princess. This is a great family hotel and well worth its four star rating – trust me I am a Travel Agent and visited lots of hotels. The management and all the staff here do a fantastic job. We were a family of four so opted for the family suite, personally I think these are suitable for children over five as quite a lot of steps for little ones – however there is a sofa bed in the main bedroom which is big enough and we were happy all to share one room. It did mean we could use the pool facing room to relax when the children were in bed.

The food here is amazing, yes it can get noisy at breakfast but the quality very good. I can't believe someone complained about chips, there was a huge choice of salads, vegetables and pasta, meats – basically so much choice. There are also themed evenings which are nice and guests on all inclusive can use the outside a la carte restaurant once, it is a set Greek menu and a nice change.

We travelled with First Choice so could use the Kids Club, this is was our first experience of using one and our little boy loved it. The staff Claire and Margaret are so nice, there is a different theme every day and like a normal nursery there is free play time. Older children will like some of the evening sessions.

We choose this hotel because of the size, and the pool is area was perfect, there is a covered baby pool and a children's pool with two slides, during the end of our stay some of the older children did get annoying on the slides. There is also a great play park, which the under 8's will love.

Our kids loved the evening kids disco, the entertainment team are brilliant, they are friendly but not forceful. From an adults point of view, drop the game and do something different though.

Also in regards to other comments regarding the waste land, it is a shame but the view from our second floor room was nice, it won't spoil your stay, the pool view side is nice but can get noisy. I saw a previous review which said the area is suffering from the recession. From what I saw the area is up and coming, we did venture out one evening to the sports bar which was full and doing good business in May.

Just to sum up, this is a great hotel perfect for young families – I would recommend the hotels turns on the air con mid May as it did get very warm towards the end of our stay.

Room Tip: Families upgrade to suites on two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We returned yesterday from 10 nights at the Atlantica Princess. We had a great time and its been the best out of the last 3 holidays we have had since having our son.

We arrived fairly late at gone 11pm...check-in was fast and there were snacks etc that we could have if we were hungry.

Our room was one of the 2 floor types in the main block. it had clearly been recently refurbished and everything was bright, clean and very comfy. We found that having the 2 levels was great. Our little boy had the top floor and we had the bottom, which meant that on a couple of nights when he had an early night we could sit on the balcony/have the tv on without fear of disturbing him. There was also a stair gate in the room to stop him falling down in the night if he got out of bed.

Food was fantastic, I have no idea what one of the posters below was going on about complaining abut the food...there were chips out most days yes...but there was so much else to have and to try so unless you wanted chips everyday there was lots of lovely tihngs to have each day and not much of it was repeated. We especially liked the BBQ'd meats that were on offer most lunch times. All the Restaurant and Bar staff were really friendly and efficient.

The pools were great, although we were surprised that there was no lifeguard on duty as there have been at the 2 previous first choice/Thomson holidays.

The hotels location is a little outside of Rhodes itself, that said however this means that its quiet and night and its so easy to get on a us and take the 15 min ride into town. You get dropped off right by the old town so it couldn't be easier. We had a lovely morning there and took along a packed lunch from the hotel to have a picnic there too.

The day time and evening entertainment was great. What was nice about this hotel was that it wasn't so "in your face" as the 2 holiday villages that we have been to recently. My husband liked to get involved with the water volleyball and we all did AquaSplash and had a great time ( 4 year old son included!)
The evening entertainment was good too, the kids disco was loved by our son. Charlie and Georgia from the entertainment team deserve a special mention as they were so welcoming and friendly. They both seem to really care about giving the guests a really good service and making sure that the shows that are put on are of a really good quality. Marcus and Calla were also really good and our son has been trying to emulate their dance moves ever since we got home!

The kids club was fantastic....so much so that our son spent more time there than with us. It was nice that he was able to get out of the sun for some of the day too. The activities that they did there were really good and we had to make room in the suitcase on the way home for some of the stuff he had made. Our son has also not stopped talking about "pink pants" and " Margareta pizza" since :)

Now for the negatives
- The beach wasn't that great from our perspective as it seemed to have a strong current in and with a sharp drop off quite early in, if you were competent swimmers and didn't have young children who cant swim its a non issue really.

-would like to have seen a like guard on duty especially since the recent tragic events in Egypt

- the gym is in desperate need of an upgrade. I appreciate that mot many people go away and use the gym, however if a hotel offers such a service it needs to be fully functioning and with more than the bare minimum of equipment.

-as with all holidays there were the usual few families who had no consideration for other guests. It was the same here but to a much lesser extent than at the 2 holiday villages we have been to. This time however im pleased to say it wasn't the British guests :)

We would definitely return and will definitely be looking at 2014 prices - thankyou to all the staff for a fantastic holiday.

Gen, Ed and Sam.

Room Tip: upgrade to a family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is the 4th time we have been to the Atlantica Princess, twice with the children, twice without.
Each time has been great.
We arrived back in Manchester on the 15th after a week stay and had a great time.
As always the kids entertainment is good, pool area is spotless, and a nice place to be if you want to spend the day by the pool.
We hired a car and got out to tzambika and lindos beach for 3 days.

The Hotel staff are excellent, really friendly and you get a genuine feel they are a cut above the rest without having to try.
Head waiter runs a tight ship, and so nice to see the same staff still working there even after 8 years - that speaks volumes.
We had rooms on the 3rd floor and ours was pool facing, the kids had sea facing and while cooler in the day, certainly seems to suffer mozzys far more than ours did. the mozzys seemed to enjoy feasting on our 14 year old girl.
Food was good, seemed to slip a notch from our last visits but still far better than other places we had been.

Would we go again ? i think so, the kids are too old now but on our own - yes in a few years i would like to think so. Rhodes is a special place. This hotel makes a great base and is one of the better 4 star hotels.

Room Tip: Pool view - less mozzys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We returned from a lovely stay here, the staff are very friendly and the hotel is maintained well.
We where allocated a sea view room, which was pleasant but I don't see the benefit of paying the upgrade supplement as it overlooks waste land before the beach (which is home to a lot of Mosquitos!) and gets no sun, the pool view rooms have sun all day and no Mosquitos or supplement! The room had bunk beds and was very hot with the 4 of us in it, it would of helped if the air conditioning was turned on but it wasn't until June. Reception where very helpful and gave us a fan but it didn't really help.
Apart from the moans about the room and being bitten alive by Mosquitos it was a very enjoyable stay, the staff, entertainment team and food where very good. The hotel is very busy and considering they have to feed around 600 people they do this very well, although because the outdoor area was not open yet it did make the dining room very crowded and noisy.
Rhodes it's self is very nice, rhodes town is definitely worth a visit. Unfortunately due to the recession the surrounding area of the hotel is quite run down and is deprived by the economy the all inclusive features of this type of hotel.
All in all good value hotel and worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a fab holiday, lovely hotel with brilliant staff throughout the hotel.
It was our second visit to the princess and we were not disappointed.
The only thing that let this trip down was the new entertainment team leader Natalie, last year the entertainment team made us feel so welcome and were really friendly I felt this year it wasn't the same as she was a frosty character to say the least. Well done to the rest of the team for making up for her less than enthusiastic attitude.
See you next year for another cracking holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

When planning our wedding through Thomson,and finding our wedding venue (Filerimos-if you are looking at getting married in Rhodes,this place is a must!) the travel advisor in our local Thomson couldn't find a hotel nearby...So,we checked Tripadvisor & after much research,we found The Atlantica Princess! Thank goodness we didn't give up hope,as we would have missed out on this gem of a hotel!
On arrival,we were not disappointed. The reception area was immaculate and staff were very helpful & friendly. We were then shown to our room by the really nice porter. First impression of our room was WOW! We had been upgraded to a very good size room,with super king size & bunk beds (which were behind a partition style wall-good for kids as it feels like a den for them) Room was immaculate,bathroom was lovely & the seaview was beautiful. Ok,the land in between the hotel & sea wasn't the best view,but after taking time to ask the staff,we found that they do not own it,and in fact they have tried to buy it,but have been unsucessful.
Food was fantastic. Again,staying here for 2 weeks and not being disappointed with any of the meals & snacks isn't bad going. Everything was always freshly cooked & there was lots of choice. Yes,there may have been chips on offer on occasion,but this is after all, a FAMILY FRIENDLY hotel,and some children will only eat chips! I would rather be safe in the knowledge that my child had eaten 'something' and chips for 2 weeks,than nothing at all.
Manolis & Vasillis were an absolute credit to the smooth running of the restaurant,as were all the waiters & waitresses. We had our wedding reception back at the Hotel,and it really could not have gone better. The food was amazing,service was fantastic & our guests were very impressed.
The Entertainment team were just fabulous! Not once during our stay did we feel bombarded by them to take part in activities. Charley should most definitley be team leader,as she is just made for the job. Georgia (Babs) Marcus & Calle were just the loveliest people,and more credit should be given to them. They work very long hours, and not once in our 2 weeks did we see them without a smile on their face.

Overall,this Hotel was just amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel so welcome-even down to the Manager saying goodbye at the coach.
We had 4 other families staying at The Atlantica Princess for our wedding,and not one person had anything bad to say about their stay there.
Cannot wait to return!
Bomba!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Princess Hotel

Address: PO Box 4101 | Ialysos, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantica Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Princess Ixia
Hotel Atlantica Princess
Atlantica Princess Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.