We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star hotel? Not...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mitsis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 118 hotels in Rhodes Town
West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 Star hotel? Not...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a ''luxury' package sold to us through a travel agent (which we also will never be using again). It was sold to us as the best hotel in Rhodes a 5 star luxury hotel you will not forget. Well they were right about one thing, we will not be forgetting this hotel, but for all the wrong reasons. When you enter the hotel its beautiful because everything is marble. However, that is where it ends. The staff upon entering are not friendly and definitely do not want to be doing their jobs. The girl who checked us in even took a personal call on her mobile while checking us in and then continued to give us incorrect information about our stay(which we found out later). If you need help finding places or suggestions they also cannot be bothered to help you.

When we finally got to our rooms it looked straight out of the 1970s. Its horribly out of date, but I was willing to except that 5Star Europe is vastly different than 5star anywhere else in the world. However, there is wallpaper peeling off the walls, stains all over the duvet, and the bathroom fan has been sealed with a BROWN sealant which looks, well im sure you can figure out what it looks like. On top of that the balcony doors barely close and when its windy they bang all night long. The AC is so old that every time it turns on I think the room is going catch on fire because all the electrics go haywire. Furthermore we paid 50Euro for internet which is so schockingly bad I am surprised I can even write this review. When we complained to the staff we received a complementary plate of fruit-lovely but I can get it from the buffet. We are on our honeymoon as well and we asked for a queen size bed but apparently the hotel only has twin beds so we have two beds pushed together and held together but a sheet. Not comfortable. There is no clock in the room either which I find odd and no coffee maker. Also our loveseat does not have any cushion.

Also, it rained our first day here and the marble floors in the reception area were extremely slippery. They didn't even bother putting a rug down only a yellow sign warning you it was wet. The water was leaking through the lights in the ceiling of reception and at one point my wife fell. She went over to the desk to advise them that it was extremely slippery and the girl at the desk got agitated that we were telling her until my wife said she fell. Once the girl realised my wife was not terribly injured she walked away without even say Im sorry.

Also on top of everything else being so poor, the general buffet is disgusting. it is the same bland horrible food every day and night. The only saving grace is the salad bar part, because honestly its kind of hard to mess up slicing cucumbers and plating cheese. You are jammed into the room like a tin of sardines, touching elbows with the people sitting next to you, and the wait staff cannot even bother to help you. We didn't get our drinks until we finished our meal and one day I had to get up to get our own water. There are two a la carte restaurants which we have heard good things about but honestly we don't even feel like eating there because you have to book in a few days ahead of time.

Overall we think this hotel needs to be reviewed again and re-rated. It may have been five star once but it is tired and out of date and needs a lot of touching up. We will not be staying here ever again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    289
    152
    85
    44
See reviews for
186
410
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed here many times and find the location and staff very helpful. We arrived 2/10/2013 to be met in the Foyer by Popi one of the waitresses and Dimitri the porter like old friends. Our room was on the 4th floor with a sea view, and was cleaned regularly by Elena. A number of points mentioned by other visitors, the rooms are being slowly upgraded, all now with new patio doors, fridges & TV replaced, but the only English you will get is BBC World News, which for this type of hotel is very poor. The lift referred to is still not working, and wasn't working last year.The food some refer to as repetitive, which I understand although there is a large choice, the Chinese Restaurant this year was poor, new Chef's and they are not as good as those previously employed which was a shame as we like Chinese food, but only went the once. on the other hand the Italian is extremely good, so we used that a number of times during our two weeks stay. The biggest problem, which has got worse over the years is queuing for the evening meal first for a table and then for the food, this is due to the fact that La Vita, the hotel next door also belongs to Mitsis and although they provide breakfast they do not provide evening meals, so they ALL troop over to the Grand. Since we go so often and they now have what they call a friends club, I joined, the web site gives you info, my experience is its a wasted opportunity, all we got was the welcome drink, which in our case was a pot of tea each, never met the Manager, only the cleaners,porters and restaurant staff seemed interested in the guests. It is sadly true that this hotel is not 5* and that whilst unfortunately the standard is going down the prices are going up. We will stay again if the price is right, for two reasons, the staff and the location.

Room Tip: Obviously some prefr a sea view in which case choose higher rooms from third floor to fifth. The ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ok, having paid a very good price, we went with some reservations that it would be 5 star. Hopefully this is a fair review of our experience.
*Reception - often pleasant, often abrupt, not willing to elaborate on advice and not very informative.
*Rooms - we were on the third floor. Although we mainly used the stair case, one of the two adjacent lifts did not work for the entire week. We were unfortunate to have very loud young lads in the next two rooms who rolled in around 3am and kept slamming doors and were very inconsiderate to others. Thankfully this only went on for two nights! There is no welcome information in the room and the reception staff did not tell us much about restaurants/bars etc. The room was clean albeit tired (although a picture was splattered with a previous guest's DNA, which was a bit unpleasant). The bathroom was a good size but the shower was not a power shower and water came out at all angles!
*Food - Much to our relief, this was very good, with many options. All fresh, tasty and seemed to cater for most tastes. Restaurant staff friendly. Did not try the Chinese or Italian restaurants adjacent to the main one. The house wine is definitely not for us!
*Pool Area - This could be very good with a good sized salt water pool (we only tried the back area, not the one at the front of the hotel). However, the area to lie in the sun is tiled and is VERY DANGEROUS. We witnessed several falls and many people slipping. It did not make any difference if you had bare feet or flipflops or any other footwear - when wet, it was very slippery. Anyone with a walking problem or was frail would have to be very careful. Basic sun beds to lie on but not five star with padding. They do provide towels (20 euros each deposit, which you get back).
*Facilities - Overall, we would go back (if the price was right). The location to old Rhodes town is fantastic. 25 minute stroll takes you through streets or around the harbour. 20 years ago, this hotel would have been 5 star but now we rate it as a good 3 star or poor 4 star.
We booked this holiday independently and got a taxi from the airport taxi rank. 22 euros and 25 minute drive which was the normal rate. Don't pre-book a taxi as you will pay much more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiez, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have spent our annual holidays at the Mitsis Grand hotel Rhodes town since 2008 and we have been very satisfied every single time. The very professional staff, Greek hospitality and the excellent location in the Rhodes town make the holidays very enjoyable.

The two pools, Fitness Grand, huge lobby area with the nice atmosphere bar and the main restaurant provide you all the services you can wish for your holidays. The warm welcome after a long travelling feels like coming back home! the hotel is highly recommended for the sun lovers as well as the people who like to do daily excursions nearby.

Like the Greek saying says you arrive at the Mitsis Grand hotel as a tourist but you leave as a friend. We look forward our next holidays in the end of May 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived late and were delighted with the meal that had been left out for us. We were allocated a room on the fifth floor with an excellent sea view in the "Grand building" which looked a bit sad when compared to other parts of the hotel. Our room was adjacent to two lifts one of which was out of order. In the morning we were wakened at 0600 with the non stop noise of the doors opening and closing until 0830. We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was fully occupied. We considered our position and for a number of reasons decided to stay in room 543. A few days later the second lift was switched on and the noise from that was unbearable - it was obvious that something was wrong with it and that later proved to be the case. Again we asked to be moved and again our request was denied. We asked to speak with the DUTY MANAGER but he refused to meet and discuss the problem with us. The matter was resolved when we contacted the maintenance man and suggested to him that the lift be switched off. He agreed there was something badly wrong with the lift and did as we suggested.
The room (543) that we had was spacious but needing some attention - the bath had lost bits of enamel and was rusty along the edge and bottom to such extent that we were disgusted and didn't use it. However we were able to use the shower.
The foregoing apart the food was excellent and the staff friendly and efficient.
The entertainment consisted of a singing keyboard player every night and that was it!!!
The indoor pool was fine but fairly deep.
The dining room was very well organised but the noise was loud.
Apart from the foregoing we enjoyed the time we were in Rhodes and should we go back we would look for another hotel

Room Tip: Stay away from the fifth floor in the Grand Building - other guests complained about the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We think that this hotel was awarded its 5 star rating many years ago and should be reassessed by today's standards!
The location is good with easy access to the old town.
Being an old hotel, the bedrooms, bathroom, and balcony were larger than would be expected in a new hotel, and they were kept very clean by the staff.
On arriving we found that the fridge did not work, but that was fixed the next day. Also the toilet would not flush, but we fixed that! There was a small safe in the room, which cost €25 for a week.
There was little or no information available in the room, and the receptionist was very curt when asked for any help or information.
The staff in the dining room were very good, but tables were so close together that you sometimes rubbed elbows with the adjacent diner. The food was good quality, but as service was buffet style, and there was always queuing so often some of the meal was cool by the time you sat down to eat!
Overall we think this hotel should be assessed as 3+ star

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 4 days.
I highly recommend it for couples. though not so much for families with small children, as there's not enough activities in the hotel for children (at least this time of the year).
The food was very good! a lot of options!!!
Also, as a person with sensitivity to gluten - the staff was extremely helpfull and provided gluten-free bread, cereal, soups and ect...
The location is perfect, 10 min from the old city, 2 min from the center and from the port :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. The Airport "DIAGORAS" is 15 km from the hotel. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Exquisite cuisine at the Main Restaurant Buffet as well as unique tastes from Italy and Asia at the 2 theme restaurants will give you the best impression. An indoor pool operates at Grand Hotel during the winter and 2 outdoor pool with sea water during summer offer ultimate refresh and breeze. The hotel offers also meeting rooms of maximum 600 persons, convenient break out rooms and state-of-the–art Audiovisual equipment with translation booths and expert staff for successful meetings at Grand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.