We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable stay with fantastic staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Mitsis Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable stay with fantastic staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

A large party of us stayed at the mitsis Grande as we were going to a family members Greek orthodox wedding. I think the hotel is more of a four star than a five however we still had a great stay. We had our 10 month old son with us and the staff couldn't of been greater! They always ensured we had a table ready for us in the restaurant with a high chair regardless of how busy it was. The food was brilliant, with plenty of choice and enough to make us all put on weight haha! I would recommend the crepes which are made right in front of you!! The location was ace too as it was right on the seafront and only a short walk from the town. Ignore other fussy and petty reviews, we had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    323
    165
    89
    48
See reviews for
224
471
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were "upgraded" here because the Mitsis Petit was not yet ready to open. The service at the reception was not so good. I asked the receptionist if she could get us a taxi but she told us to go out and find one ourselves. The staff didn't seem interested in giving us good service.
The toilet in my room didn't work so I had to call for help. The man who came to help me was very rude and unfriendly. There was a bad smell in the rooms and the carpets and the beds were not very clean. The poolwater was icecold.
So, unfortunately I can not recommend this hotel to anyone who expects to be staying at a 4-5 star hotel!.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is definetely not a five star hotel. First impressions are OK. The lobby and reception areas are decent...But when you go to your room decadence starts setting in. At least the section where we were staying has not been renovated recently (eg ancient keys are used to open room doors). The rooms are very very basic for a 5 star hotel. I think that other sections have been renovated but we didnt know when we booked.
The breakfast - dining room feels more like the basement of a cruise ship. It is huge but there are no windows, no fresh air and no sufficient sunlight. There is a great selection of dishes both at the breakfast and the dinner buffets but the taste is average and also all the smells from the food stay in the air as there is no proper ventilation.
The staff is not very polite and not helpful either. They were responding to our requests after a number of reminders.
The location of the hotel is not good either... the beach opposite is not good. There are far better beaches elsewhere on the island so dont bother spending a day at the beach infront of the hotel. Also the road that is adjacent to the hotel is very very noisy and full of very touristy and ugly bars and restaurants (plastic is fantastic!!). Fortunately we had a car so we would drive away for the whole day and come back very late just to go to bed - otherwise we would have become depressed!!!
We stayed at the hotel last summer and unfortunately i did not read any reviews from trip advisor as i wasnt using it much back then. When we returned from our holiday i had a look to see whether other people also felt the same and indeed that was the case!!!
So just dont book this one!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated sections!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The only down side to this holiday was flying easy jet, never again will I fly without allocated seating. We arrived in the evening and the hotel looked amazing with lights and polished brass and marble everywhere.Our room keys were ready at reception and check in Was a smooth operation there are 2lifts to all floors and our room was lovely clean and comfortable with a balcony. We headed to the bar and although we were to late for dinner there were plenty of snacks available.We were dreading the restaurant experience having read some negative reviews on here but we were welcomed warmly (my husband always learns some local phrases before we leave home which makes a great difference between good and great service) the choice was amazing as we're all the choices for all meals.We took advantage of being able to book the Chinese and Italian restaurants which were both excellent. The hotel is ideally situated for a comfortable stroll into Rhodes town which was just close enough to wander into town after dinner in the evening,we also felt very safe wandering about. We bought tickets for the hop on/off open top bus which was worth every penny and you can get on or off right outside the hotel. We went on a jeep safari one day that we booked independently from a store to the left of the hotel and about 500 yards on the right of the next street, we met people from other hotels and had a fantastic day,our guide was amazing and laughed from start to finish. If you are going on a day trip the hotel will provide a packed lunch providing you let them know the night before.We found all the hotel staff friendly except for just one lady who worked behind the bar who was in a bad mood for the seven days that we were there. On our last day our flight was not until the evening and we were able to use all the all inclusive amenities after we checked out even the use of a room to take a shower and freshen up before leaving.All in all a very pleasant trip and we would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here all inclusive last week in October 2012. The hotel was preparing to close down so was not overly busy but many guests appeared to have been given free upgrades from other hotels in the area to allow them to close.
Hotel is very nice but certainly not 5 star as promoted. Buffet meals were "all right" but a bit repetitive, excellent if you like hamburgers or grilled chicken. Was a bit disappointed by the buffet overall. There are also 2 specialty restaurants, 1 Chinese and 1 Italian which were free but you had to book, but where good as they broke the monotony of the buffet.
We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which was spacious, had a sea view and was very nice.
3 main pools in the complex, 1 indoor which was heated and 2 outdoor which were not so quite cold when we were there. They are also both salt water so be aware of that.
My biggest gripe was "the all inclusive package" as there was a seperate all inclusive guest bar but the drinks were all local brands and limited in choice whereas the pay bar had all the usual brands available and a much bigger choice. Guests I presume were not supposed to take drinks from one to another but many did.
Not much in the way of live entertainment, 1 night of greek dancing and a guy with his electric organ most other nights alternating between the 2 bar areas.
I have stayed all inclusive a good number of times in other hotels and have never before experienced the real difference in the quality of drinks served before. Also the hotel was quite quiet but still had large queues at times at the all inclusive bar, god knows what it would be like when the hotel is full.
Excellent location for the town, 15 minute stroll into the old town area, 10 minutes to new town shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room, a bit more expensive but a lot nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I (AT LAST A HOLIDAY ON OUR OWN WITHOUT THE CHILDREN) travelled independently and arrived at the Hotel in the early hours by taxi transfer (we got there before all the other guests who had to wait for the coaches). When we got there it was all lit up and looked amazing from the outside. We went to reception, got the room key and went up to the room. We were shocked! The room was luxury and with a beautiful sea view. After unpacking, we went to bed (2 singles pushed together, But not a problem) but were awoken with a persistant knocking on the door, then the door opening with a man saying we had a message. Not a good start!!! So I went to reception thinking it was an emergency only to be told we had to move rooms the following day as that section of the hotel was closing. Not happy as we had unpacked everything. But we could understand the reason.
Anyway onto the food. There is a very good variety of food availiable for breakfast, lunch and dinner. As we were all inclusive the waiters (Very Pleasant) brought some drinks to the table. So not as bad as we had read.
We didnt go in the pools as they were too cold.
If you have to move rooms, make sure that you dont just accept any old room. We were persistant to the point where our new room had an even better sea view on the third floor, this was after seeing 2 other rooms. We could even see the sea from laying on our bed. Lush!!!
On the whole we had a good holiday.
This hotel is a lovely hotel but it is not quite a 5 star. The staff were friendly enough, but were quicker to serve someone who is not from England.
The dining room was adequate but be prepared to sit in what looks like a wedding reception. The tables and chairs are covered in white cloths. PURE WHITE. The novelty of it soon wears off.
The all inclusive drinks bar is ok, but you do have to queue sometimes. They do make good cocktails.
Would I go here again? Yes I probably would. This was our first trip to Rhodes, and wont be our last!!!

Room Tip: The best rooms are obviously with a sea view so it is worth paying the extra. We were on the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were supposed to travel to this hotel last year with Thomas Cook who kindly bumped us to another hotel on the other side of the island 48 hours before we were due to travel and splitting our group in half - having investigated it turned out that our booking had not been confirmed, given the absolutely atrocious subsequent TC ' customer service' I will never travel with them again, so this year flew out with Easyjet and booked the hotel independently. Guess what - no problems this year !!
We stayed in September as a family and found the hotel to be in a good location with Old Rhodes town just a short walk away and whilst the immediate area looks a little run down there are some good bars/restaurants.
I found the all the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean as are the bedrooms which are comfortable but a little run down in places. The fridge was really handy but very 1970's.
There are three pools - the outside ones do get quite crowded but we did managed to find beds when we looked.
We were half board and the food is OK. Whilst a table was found for us quickly on each visit, the buffet area was too small for the number of people in the room. This led to quite long queues sometimes. There are also two separate restaurants an Italian and a Chinese. We went to the Italian which was good and a lot less hectic. .
There are a lot of comments around the 5 star rating of this hotel, they certainly are not charging 5 star prices and it is certainly a fair price for what you get.
All in all a pleasant stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good but you need to ask for a room. 3rd floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. The Airport "DIAGORAS" is 15 km from the hotel. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Exquisite cuisine at the Main Restaurant Buffet as well as unique tastes from Italy and Asia at the 2 theme restaurants will give you the best impression. An indoor pool operates at Grand Hotel during the winter and 2 outdoor pool with sea water during summer offer ultimate refresh and breeze. The hotel offers also meeting rooms of maximum 600 persons, convenient break out rooms and state-of-the–art Audiovisual equipment with translation booths and expert staff for successful meetings at Grand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.