We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star No perhaps a 4 Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Mitsis Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 Star No perhaps a 4 Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just arrived back from a week in the Grand and had a lovely holiday. The weather was hot for the time of the year and very warm in the evening too,
the hotel is ideally situated for the town with numerous bars and restaurants. and a 15 m in walk to the old town.
As for the Hotel itself it was very good, I read some of the reviews before we went and was getting a bit anxious as to what we where going too, However it was a nice surpirse because we had a wonderful seaview room which was probably one of the ones that had been refurbed the carpet - curtains - and the decorating was new. we where in room 554 ask for a high floor as the views are great. The reception and public areas are very nice, the pools are good and plenty of sunbeds never had a problem getting a bed even at 10.30am. The Food was good with plenty of choice howver I do agree with some people when they say tables are close together and it gets very busy at times. The chinese and Italian where very good.
The staff we found to be pleasant and helpful. We went ALL INC which we have done for the last few holidays as its now expensive to eat and drink out every day or night now. The dirnks arent the top quality brands and sometimes i didnt think there wasnt any alcohol in a few of them that they served up especially the cocktails, The only other thing I dont like anymore is having to queue at the bar to get drinks, there was no waiter service. There is a bar in reception but you had to pay for drinks there and yes there was waiter srv. I do think you are treated a bit like 2nd class citizens when you are on all inclusive basis these days.
In all I would recommend this hotel for a good location and nice pleasant surroundings.
We ate out 3 times just for a change of scenery really and I can recommend a couple of restaurants - Le Bistro which is out of the hotel turn first left to the crossroads and its on the corner. and YAMAS which was out of the hotel turn left and walkt to the roundabout turn left and its just up on the left hand side. Both where execellent food and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    324
    165
    89
    48
See reviews for
225
472
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from a week all inclusive. Although generally pleased, we found some aspects disappointing.
Room. Our 31x13 feet room was comfortable but rather shabby in places-chipped bath, torn carpet- with a feeble air conditioning unit. We had a sea view over and around the air conditioning ducts so a higher floor room would have been an improvement.
Meals Food choices for breakfast and lunch were good and even better for dinner but the poor layout of the buffet and the lack of space between tables made the evening meal a less than pleasant experience.However the free option to use the Italian or Chinese restaurant with table service and more generous spacing did compensate considerably. Nice food with big portions.
Bars The staff at the all inclusive bar worked very hard and fast - they were more entertaining than the official entertainer.
Pools etc. Two outdoor saltwater pools were clean and more than big enough for the small number of guests who wished to leave their sunbeds. Although the reserving of sunbeds before dawn was as usual common, there were always enough for later risers. The indoor pool was a nice uncrowded option.
Overall. We stayed at the 5 star de luxe Rhodes Hilton (now Sheraton) 6 years ago and in general found the Mitsis as good with a much better location 15 minutes walk from the old town.
But updating of the bedrooms and changes to the overcrowded dining room are really needed to justify a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Get as seaview room above floor one- sun from 2/3 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is in dire need of re-furbishment, if you book all inclusive, it could be a waste of time,only one bar to use,other guests not paying all inclusive walk in and get served, if you go in to the other two bars you'll have to pay!! Limited room around the two outside pools,and one side of the inner seawater pool you'll be looking at the back of a "Shopping Mall 2",part of the hotel, thats been closed for a long time.If you're given rooms 128,130,132 or 134 you'll also be looking at the wall of the mall and the wrecked equipment. Room 134 also has a gap between the hotel wall and end wall that a small child could get through and fall 15 feet to the footpath outside. We found that the waiting staff and restaurant staff were very polite and efficient,and the food was very good,unlike some of the reception staff!! Fixtures and fittings in a lot of places were past their best by day, a long time ago.We'd read a report by someone who complaind that there wasn't much choice, but if they were looking for burger and chips or chicken nuggets, these two you will not find! They should have gone to McDs to eat. It's also the first hotel we've been in with NO air conditioning in the public areas indoors, although the room aircon was good. It was the first time we'd been back to Rhodes for 8 years, usually staying at the Ibiscus Hotel, but The Grand Hotel is not a patch on it. Oh and just one more thing, they are forever over-booking and sendind people to other hotels, we thought it was a joke when reading another review, but it happened on a daily basis.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 128 130 132 134 Crap outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just arrived back from this hotel everything about it was great staff really friendly our room was very nice spacious and clean food was lovely and so much choice .i cannot understand the people who moan about it . The location is good as well .

Room Tip: we were in room 221 which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a horror visit last year ( My wife broke her ankle in the Airport Carpark on the day we landed) decided to revisit Rhodes Town and stay at Grand Hotel again . Hotel Perfect Location Staff and facilities first class Swimming pools excellant. Sea view room a bit disapointing on the first floor but comfortable and spacious Now the bad bit!! The Dining room is a nightmare. not big enought for the no of people a redisign of the layout I.E. Seperate Salad Bar from Main Course would eliminate long wait . Guiding residents to tables again inefficient use of staff who are very pleasent and hardworking Italian Night included in price brilliant Will go again but Bed and Breakfast

Room Tip: Sea View room ask for High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is well maintained, exterior is lovely. The rooms were a bit basic and could do with a bit of an upgrade, poor balcony furniture. Dining area was well managed, and choice and variety of food was second to none, the choice of three restaurants to dine in on an evening was great. Pool areas and snack bars had wonderful staff very polite. We have stayed at this hotel twice now and would definitely stay a third time. Within walking distance of Rhodes town.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

just returned from a week at the mitsis and professional moaners need to get a life. ok, there were a few issues but overall it is a very good hotel. reception is lovely and we were booked in quickly and our bags taken to our room. this could do with updating, but it was clean with a comfy bed, lovely towels and plenty of toiletries. it would have been good if there had been water and pop in the fridge and brewing facilities. the pool areas were lovely with loads of beds no matter what tine of the day you went. lots of brollies or trees if you wanted shade.the A I bar was well stocked and had plenty of staff. food at this hotel is very good with a large variety of choice. desserts were scummy. both the italian and chinese were worth a visit, although make sure you are good and hungry as the portions are huge. out of the hotel if you turn left and left again you will find a ristorante called ALEXANDRA where you will get a steak to die for, also lots of shops and bars to visit. out of hotel, right and right again its a 10 minute walk to the old town. lovely location ( we had a sea view ) with stunning sunsets. we had a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: higher floors for better views if you opt for a sea view. back pool rooms if you want morning sun on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli & Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#26 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. The Airport "DIAGORAS" is 15 km from the hotel. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Exquisite cuisine at the Main Restaurant Buffet as well as unique tastes from Italy and Asia at the 2 theme restaurants will give you the best impression. An indoor pool operates at Grand Hotel during the winter and 2 outdoor pool with sea water during summer offer ultimate refresh and breeze. The hotel offers also meeting rooms of maximum 600 persons, convenient break out rooms and state-of-the–art Audiovisual equipment with translation booths and expert staff for successful meetings at Grand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.