We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunprime Miramare Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunprime Miramare Beach to your Saves list
Sunprime Miramare Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Surrey, UK,
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Well it certainly wasn't the resort we were expecting after looking at the web sites and the details about it. It isn't by any stretch a five star resort you only have to move to the Sheraton or have a look in the Amathus just up the road to see that. Look at the photos and look at the Hotel and wonder when they were taken and when touched up?

The staff erred on the side of the difficult and unhelpful with an infrequent exception.

Breakfast on the first day was astonishing and the previous reviewer's description of tea for breakfast mirrored ours. Also agree that breakfast menu was not too inspiring. We saw someone arrive at the last minute for breakfast who gathered one plate of food and then went to collect some other items only to return to find the staff who had watched him put it down quickly retrieve it and put it into the bin in order to deprive him of his breakfast!

We never tried the pool bar but noticed that the restaurant - Gullivers - for those not on half board wanting to buy a meal was never open. If you think the very pleasant restaurant and bar in the middle of the site are anythig to do with the Hotel they are not and they would be mortified if you thought they were. The Miramare sold the land off for that development - probably the best site on the complex.

We asked for quiet and got a first floor room over the lagoon and the breakfast dining bar areas.

We had cockroaches in our room the debris of which after we killed them took a couple of days to vanish. No towels changed on our first day.

Apparently there is a spa which is how they must avoid fraud on the star rating not that it seemed to be advertised or open.

The infamous train regularly appears each morning and we even heard it moving once but a time table might make it useful and used or run it on demand like the golf buggy.

I
After making our concerns clear with our holiday company rep another guest approached us who sai he had been trying to make his concerns known personally to the manager but after 3 days he still hadn't come back from lunch. One receptionsit knowing we were waiting for a message from the tour company said she would call us when it came throug so we stayed in the room for three hours waiting. When we left to go to dinner and we asked about the call she said we never answered the phone. However she never had the message sent to our room either which they told us they would do if we were out. The lad on reception was however manfully trying to keep the show on the road against all the odds.

The Hotel was apparently once the best in the area and the locals tell us has never stopped resting on its laurels we got the sense the land had to be sold for the rather splendid developments that are there now. We ate at Villa del Mar restaurant and its very good the bar next door is dear however.

If your looking for 3* accommodation and facilities you will just about get it here and if thats what you want you will be happy.

If you paid for 5* accommodation you wont be so we moved after 3 days and had an absolutely great time actually getting the experience we thought we had booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sunprime Miramare Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for coming to Rhodes and for staying in Miramare Park. We hope you had a safe trip home.

Your review found our full attention and we want to express our sincere apologies, that we did not hit your personal expectations completely. Please accept our sincere apologies and be sure, that we will use your all your critic points to work strongly in improvements to avoid repetitions.

We also would like to inform, that we are not a completely new hotel, but every winter and also during the season we do maintenance and smaller renovations in order to keep a good standard and safety. With a bigger renovation we have to wait, until the economic situation of Greece is a bit more stable.

We are really very sorry, that in your case we could not satisfy you during your stay and that you decided to change the hotel after 3 days. We hope, that you also took some positive impressions from Rhodes with you.

With best regards,
Miramare Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    48
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
31
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have come back to Rhodes and my wife booked the hotel for me!! IT is my first time at this hotel and will definitely come back! The grounds are well looked after and it's so peaceful even with being near the road as there is a 6 foot wall between you and the road.
The breakfast is plentiful and always stocked so that everybody can be satisfied!! I can't see why people moan so much all you got to do is ask, the staff will always help as much as they can!!
The rooms are large and kept clean every day! My room is 410 and it has got 2 air on unit in there 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the main living area!!
I hope to bring the wife with me next time and hope to gets seafront room or a top room with a view! Leaving on Wednesday hope to see you all again soon??

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sunprime Miramare Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for coming to Rhodes and for choosing Miramare Park. We hope you had a smooth return and did not forget to take some Greek sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your stay and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests and never to stop with improvements.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you and also your wife again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Miramare Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at The Miramare and I have to say it was wonderful. We paid a little extra for a sea view and it was so worth it! Just around 15 yards from the sea, in a lawned area - we could hear the sea every evening and morning. Our "bungalow" was always clean and comfortable with a 6 foot bed! and our own patio area with sunbeds. 95% of the staff were very friendly and helpful - just a couple of miserable waiters (but I suppose they do have a lot to put up with, with moaning guests). The food was good quality and varied, dinner was a little bit disappointing - but the salads were fabulous and so much choice. The pool was beautiful with loads of sunbeds - just a tip - keep your luggage down as they provide pool towels. We were told to take our blue towels to the pool to identify that we were residents, but we noticed some people with all inclusive wristbands had gatecrashed and took some of the prime spots - nobody seemed to bother. The only other slight criticism was that we had been advised that the gents should wear long trousers for dinner, but my husband was in a minority - it was not enforced and it spoiled the atmostphere a little when some men and women turned up as if they had just come off the beach. It would have been nice to have some greek music playing on CD in the restaurant instead of the radio - but that's just nit picking. Overall we had a great time, the hotel was the saving grace because the resort was not very"greek".However there are a couple of sister hotels in Crete which we will certainly look at. Thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view - its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sunprime Miramare Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Rhodes and for staying at Miramare Park. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback, as your ideas and suggestions helps us to improve. We are pleased to read, that you discovered the advantages of Miramare Park and that you enjoyed your holidays. Also the weak points of your review found our full attention. Please accept our sincere apologize for the mentioned weaknesses and be sure that we will work strongly on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details and for sharing your ideas for improvements with us!

For us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you again soon.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Miramare Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel is just that bit special, with the grounds and bungalows rather than multi-storey.

Great location between the airport and Rhodes Town.

Staff were friendly and sorted a problem with our booking very quickly. Some reviews mention they are not friendly but we found the opposite, they were always offering assistance with lifts on the buggy, carrying bags or just general advice.

Pool area is the best, plenty of sunbeds, shade/sun as required, infinity pool with a fantastic view and mostly deep water, salt water but with the constant filtering etc it seemed far better than chlorine filled pools. One day we noticed what we suspected were gate crashers around the pool but next day the staff were on the case and extra vigilant, seeing off some sightseers who were not guests.

Gym was good, breakfast was okay and varied but to be expected as they have to cater for all nationalities tastes.

Room was simple but clean, good fridge, cleaned well daily and great air-con. Ours backed onto the road, again I have seen complaints about road noise but as just the bathroom and kitchenette faced that way we found we slept well and the balcony was quiet.

We'll be back in another 10 years to the same hotel, celebrating our 30th anniversary next time as we can guarantee a restful and trouble free stay again I am sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sunprime Miramare Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Rhodes and for making Miramare Park the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a save trip home and took some Greek sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again sooner than in 10 years!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Miramare Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel is located on the beach and is designed like a Beautiful resort village. we had a great vacation in which we spend 7 nights in the hotel. In the first night we got an upgrade to the beach front villa! it was a wonderful surprise.
Our single disappointment was that the beach is not sandy, but besides it, it was perfect.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a long shoreline near to a road, it is recommended to take a room that is cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sunprime Miramare Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Rhodes and for making Miramare Park the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a smooth trip home and took some Greek sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. It is very nice to read, that you enjoyed your holidays and found the relaxation you were looking for. Your praise for the whole team is a big appreciation and above all a great motivation to continue to do every day to the best for our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Miramare Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here 25th August til 1st Sept.
We had a lovely room, possibly one of the nicest locations, overlooking the lagoon. The room was large and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the sheets crisp and snow white. There was remote control air conditioning in both living room and bed room which was at no extra cost and a free safe provided.
Rooms were cleaned everyday and clean towels provided if you wanted them, if not there is a note explaining to hang towels up to save washing/energy etc.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis and arrived Saturday afternoon. We went to the pool which is stunning, plenty of beds, could do with a few more umbrellas. The pool bar was not open at all during our stay so wanting a drink we went to the restaurant closest to the pool where we asked for 2 fruit juices. They were nice, but they nearly came back up when we got the bill for 12 Euro's! no alcohol just fruit juice 12 Euro's, I keep thinking this must surely have been a mistake. We didn't question it as we had not long arrived and were still finding our feet.

This hotel is what I would call 'rustic' but it had a certain charm, it's not 5 star standard though.

There was a pianist playing in the open air which we could see and hear from our room which was lovely especially during the evening when getting ready to go out.

The location is superb and probably what saves this hotel.

The staff is what lets it down.
We arrived for breakfast which is served 7am til 10am and was very close to our room. The waiter came over with a pot in his hand and said "Coffee?" to which we replied "Could we have tea please" he came back and put a pot on the table (no milk) when we came to pour the tea, no teabags either, just hot water. He could have said it was just water and where we could get teabags of our choice but he didn't, this is just common courtesy and costs nothing. I then had to get up and go over and ask for milk and where the teabags could be found. He seemed very reluctant and grumbled something pointing inside to the buffet, when i came back with the teabags, still no milk and a now cold breakfast. These things you learn by and it gets easier each day but the attitude of the staff just got worse.
Tables where not available most mornings, we would arrive about 9.30. I don't like to eat as soon as I get up.
One of the mornings we arrived, although there were a lot of empty tables they had not been cleared, we decided to go inside and get our breakfast from the buffet hoping that one had been cleared and re-set by the time we came back out. We could only find a cleared table but no clean table cloth or cutlery, we decided this would do as we would only be there 10-15 mins and just wanted to eat and go.
I went over to one of the staff who was clearing a table and asked where I could get some cutlery from, she looked very awkward and said that she didn't know. I said how are you going to re-set the table if you don't know where the cutlery is? She then ignored me and carried on clearing the table, I asked her again and she said I would have to go and see someone else pointing to another member of staff. I walked across to her and asked if I could have some cutlery, she was holding some in her hand, she said something in Greek and was clearly unhappy and walked away!
This is not the kind of hostility that you expect as a paying guest at a hotel of any standard in any country.
We witnessed this kind of attitude with other guests, noticing that the same old question of teabags was repeated, and the attitude of staff getting worse. We would watch them stand grumbling to each other about whatever they had just been asked. It was as if they didn't want you there. You would think that an obviously irritating, repeated question would make them alter the way they do things.
The breakfast was very mediocre and repetitive and I am by no means fussy. I could honestly have put up with this if the staff hadn't have been so rude.
One of the mornings we decided to skip breakfast as we couldn't put ourselves through the miserable atmosphere for a boring breakfast.

There are lots of good restaurants outside the hotel on the main road, with lovely food, good prices and friendly staff. We found the restaurant that is situated in the middle of the Miramare Park but not part of it, especially nice. Its called Villa del Mar, the food was superb and they had a great selection of cocktails. The atmosphere was very chic with lovely lighting and chilled out music playing, its also right on the beach.

The boat trip into Lindos is definitely recommended and a trip to Rhodes town is a must.

So, if you are thinking of staying here be aware of the staff, can't say it wasn't enjoyable because its location is fabulous and I wouldn't have wanted to miss the lovely view and the sea close by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sunprime Miramare Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Rhodes and for staying at Miramare Park. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We highly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve. We are pleased to read, that you discovered some of the advantages of Miramare Park. Also the weak points of your review found our full attention. Please accept our sincere apologize and be sure that we will work strongly on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details, especially about the experiences you had during breakfast. We totally agree, that the situations you described don't comply with our service philosophy and we will do our best to avoid repetitions.

Concerning the mentioned juice at the poolbar, we honestly don't find an explanation and would have been happy, if you informed us on the spot to clear up this situation. The price for normal fruit juices is € 2,40, fresh orange juice is charged with € 4,-. We have 3 non-alcoholic cocktails for € 6,- each, as they contain a lot of fresh fruits like strawberries, bananas, kiwi, oranges, pineapple, etc..

Dear guests, for us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to be able to convince you completely from our ability in this occasion. If you come another time to Miramare Park and find some weak points - please don't hesistate to contact us and we will be happy to help you.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Miramare Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Plus:
- it does not look like superior five stars hotel but it has it's charm - old Greek village style
- rooms are clean when you move in
- the suite I lived in was really spacious and quite charming
- compared to other Greek hotels this one does not look like old comunist-style building
- compared to other Greek hotels the pool is really ok
- wifi worked not only in the lobby - also in my suite

Minus:
- brekfast - service is unpleasant and sometimes you may feel as if you were a nasty pupil at scholl (chief woman in the restaurant behaves like an old unpleasant teacher). 20 minutes before the end breakfast it is impossible to get scrambled eggs or other popular dishes as new food is not delivered. tables are not prepared (you have to wait for service), dirty and the iron pilliars in the restaurant are covered with rust (ugly view)
- cleaning etc. - table water was delivered to the suite only on the arrival day.service never cleaned the floor. they just changed towels and prepared bed
- the hotel is just beside the main road - it is quite noisy. so it is not the place where you can really relax in tranquility (to their defence it is perhaps normal situation in Rhodes)

Sum up:
-it may only be a 5star hotel in Greece. For the price I paid I could go to Egypt to premium 5 star hotel all inclusive (not just bed and breakfast). Definitely I would never come to the hotel again as I could not really relax there. Rhodes esp. old town is a great place but the problem is that it is situated in Greece

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sunprime Miramare Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Rhodes and for staying at Miramare Park. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve. We are pleased to read, that you discovered some of the advantages of Miramare Park. Also the weak points of your review found our full attention. Please accept our sincere apologize for this and be sure that we will work strongly on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details!

For us, it would be a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to be able to convince you completely from our ability in this occasion.

With best regards,
Yours sincerly,
Miramare Park Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunprime Miramare Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Miramare Beach

Address: Iraklidon Avenue, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunprime Miramare Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunprime Miramare Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Wonderland Ixia
Miramare Wonderland Hotel Ixia
Sunprime Miramare Beach Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunprime Miramare Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.