We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to search any further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spot Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhodes Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spot Hotel
Save
You added Spot Hotel to your Saves list
Odos Perikleous 21, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No need to search any further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it did not disappoint. The location is prime, just a block off the main road in the Old Town so it's quiet yet very close to everything. The location is within walking distance from the ferry port so no need to take a taxi even with your baggage. The owner is extremely friendly and can recommend anything you're looking for and will direct you away from the main tourist traps which was a huge plus for us. The rooftop terrace at the hotel is a great place to enjoy an evening drink or snack of your own. The rooms were nice and clean but no TV which did not matter to us as we didn't spend much time in our room with everything else the area had to offer. If you are looking for a high rise beach hotel do not stay here, but if you want to feel like you're really part of the Old Town then look no further than this place!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    30
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
70
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed with my family for one week at the Spot hotel. It has a great location in the center of the old town. The hotel itself is very nice and clean and family run. It has beautiful stone walls inside and great artwork. In addition to a beautiful roof top deck, there is also a very nice courtyard where we had our breakfast. The furniture in the hotel is also very nice and fits in with the theme of the Hotel. The rooms are very small and difficult to move around with two adults and two children, but we made it work. We were out most of the day so not an issue.

Because of its location, you are in a pedestrian only zone that is filled with shops and restaurants as well as the port. We also walked to the city beach everyday which was not too far for a 9 & 7 year old child to walk.

Compared to the other hotels in the old town, the Spot was a great value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a very well situated hotel with fabulous service and rooms. The location is very close to two different gates (so you don't have to carry your luggage so far from the city walls) and very close to shops and restaurants. It is also quite close to the port so you don't have far to go to book a boat trip or catch your boat. It is down a quite alley so you don't have to worry about late night noise coming from restaurants and bars around the old town. The guy who runs the hotel is very friendly and helpful. He was able to give suggestions about what to do around Rhodes and was always available to answer our strange questions :) The rooms are VERY clean and new, very good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I really enjoyed my recent stay at here, Spot seems like one of the few places that stays open through the off season. The room was clean and comfortable and the couple who run the place are very welcoming. There are original artworks throughout the place, and it has a happy, warm atmosphere.
A tip: make sure you print out a map of the location because some cab drivers (such as mine) don't know where it is and drop you off in the wrong place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It was our first trip to Greece and we decided to make it an island hopping adventure. I'm a Knights Templar Geek and there was no way I could go to Greece and not stop over on the historic island of Rhodes. We weren't sure if we should stay in a beautiful beach town like Lindos or somewhere in the wonderous Valley of the Butterflies. ...or in Old Town Rhodes, which is the oldest inhabited medieval town in Europe and a Unesco World Heritage site. The only thing I cared about was that we would see the Palace of the Grand Masters, the Avenue of the Knights and the former sight of the Colossus of Rhodes. With that in mind, we decided to stay directly in Old Town.

We searched and searched for a hotel in Old Town that was reasonably priced and which had some character or unique personality. All the hotels we saw were modernized and lifeless. I was about to give up and book one of those hotels, when I came upon the Spot Hotel on Perikleus Street, which lies smack in the heart of the former Jewish Quarter. The small hotel was located near the "seahorse" fountain near the city's Port Entrance Gate (aka the Sea Gate and Marine Gate..the locals told us they refer to it as "Colonne" entrance ?? The cab drivers seemed to know what we meant when we asked for it).

Spot hotel is decorated in (modern) Medieval style furnishings and artwork. The details are very pleasing from the Rose door knobs to dark wooden furnishings and classical medieval artwork. We had a bit of difficulty reaching the hotel, as the airport taxi driver did not know of the Spot Hotel or of Perkleous street. He got us near old town and then began asking other cab drivers, who gave him a razing, but eventually told him how to reach the hotel. Cars have restricted access to old town, so when you arrive, be sure to note which entrance gate your hotel is near, this will help if you should leave the city and need to get back or if you get lost and need to find your way home. The hotel is small and dark inside, but i'm sure the darkness is in intentional immitation of the dark ages. There is a small lobby with couch and television, a kitchen/dining area just to the left and a hallway which leads to the back "patio" area, where there are more outdoor tables for dining. The front of the hotel faces the very small Perikleous street which is busy with rows of shops, but it is not a bustling main street, as you will find just a few blocks away at the Evreon Matirion area (means "Square of the Martyred Jews" - a tribute to the Jews from this area, who were rounded up and sent to Auschwitz. It is also known as "Seahorse fountain").

The rooms are of adequate size (small if you have a lot of luggage - which is typical in Europe, the UK and many other parts of the world). The bed was sufficiently comfortable. We had no issues with lumps or springs or in getting to sleep. There is a small toilet area. Barely big enough for one, but that suits me just fine - I hate having to share the bathroom when I am trying to get dressed. Our room (I believe it was number 4?), had a very strong breeze coming through it, when opened - which was nice. Looking out the window, there wasn't much of a view - bascially just a tree and the hotel's back patio below. There was a large, heavy armoire which was a very period piece (a reproduction?) and was big enough to fit everything we cared to store in it. There is a room safe, which we didn't need. There was no need for A/C while we were there, the breeze from the window was plenty enough to keep us cool. The hotel lies on a small side street which juts off of the "Seahorse Square", which is bustling with people, restaurants (some open til 11pm, some open til 5am), but it was quiet enough that we had no trouble getting to sleep. We wer quite happy with our room.

Breakfast consisted of toast, rolls, pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, resh fruit and yogurt..a smaller spread than other places we had been, but good enough to get us going in the morning. It was set up in the downstairs dining area in a "serve yourself" fashion. The hotel owner/bellhop (the owner's son), Michael was never far away and alway ready to help you with everything you may need, whether it be directions to a good sea food place, where to catch a cab, whether or not to bother with certain questionable attractions, etc. We took quite a liking to Michael while were were at the hotel and we were sad to say goodbye when it was time to go.

We spent very little of our time at the hotel, as we were out and about all day, but we had absolutely NO issues while we were in house. Anything we could so much as suggest that we might want, Michael was ready to help us find. If you think it's easy to find a good Mexican Place in Greece, you will really appreciate the likes of Michael, when you attempt to locate such a thing.

The hotel has a roof garden area, where you can sit and watch the sunset, stare at the city walls which surround the entire city or at certain times of the day, be amazed at the enourmous cruise ships which float past, behind the other buildings of the city, leaving one dazed and disoriented if you do not know to expect such a thing. It's as if a building had picked itself up and is moving slowly down the street!

Of all the places we visited in Rhodes, the Spot Hotel is the place where we feel we got the most for our money. It isn't really a family place (small rooms, no children's play areas, no pool, etc), but that's why we chose to stay here. I would highly recommend this place to anybody looking to get their money's worth out of a stay in Old Town, but I especially recommend this for couples/romance and history buffs.

The city of Rhodes is completely walkable (very few cars can fit on its streets - even scooters aren't as abundant as one would guess they would be), there are ancient ruins everywhere from temples, palaces, byzantine structures, etc. Wherever you walk, you are within inches of something ancient and/or important. There are numerous streets that don't even have official names (so be sure to note your landmarks as you walk around town), every corner you turn will lead you to another fork in the road with tiny streets and alleys shooting off from it in every direction, twisting and turning upon themselves. All of them loaded with goods for sale, bars, restaurants, art galleries, etc. For a fee, on certain days you can walk along the city walls (beware because the day we went, they weren't allowing this). This walk takes a couple of hours and affords you views of the ocean, the ancient city and all it contains. One of the bigger dissappointments of our trip was not being able to make this walk. There are sandy beaches to the north which are in Elli - a beach town that also has a casino in a fantastic old building for those of you that gamble. We walked there in about an hour (maybe a bit less?). You will need a passport, you must be 23 years old and attire is casual during the day and more business casual at night. There is also a registration fee (about $15 USD). I'm told there are other Casino's near-by, but I never came across any of them. Elli beach has some sand, but the closer to the water you go, the more it becomes rocky, which makes it a bit hard on the fee to swim, so bring your sea shoes. And most sandy beaches are packed full of tourists/families, which make a relaxing day at the beach a difficult task. Loungers w/ umbrella can run anywhere from free (at beaches further from the main towns) to 7 Euros per day (which is highway robbery, IMHO). Further south are the attractions of Kimrose, Valley of the Butterflies and the ancient city of Lindos, which are all things not to be missed. I think it best, to pick one day of your trip, rent a car and drive out of Old Town to see the sights. You won't need or want a car the rest of the time. They can't be brought into the city and there isn't a lot of free parking nearby. Also, you won't need it while in Old Town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at Spot Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Spot for 3 nights in September. The hotel is in a perfect location, Michael is a very obliging owner. The only problem we encountered was the mattress on our bed was a little tired and a little low to the ground. The breakfast was fine. Good to be able to go up onto the roof area with our own alcohol and nibbles. Definately loved staying in the Old Town and we would like to go back and spend some more time in Rhodes. For the price we paid the room was good.
Cheers Brian and Marilyn from Australia

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Micheal is very friendly and knowledgeable about the town and island. Very welcoming and an excellent host. The location is great. The place has style. And a good price.

On the other hand. The bathroom was not clean--previous occupants hair on the floor, everything still wet. I asked for it to be cleaned again, it was, right away. But the situation was not much better--basically the bathrooms need a thorough scrubbing--grout is black in the corners, peeling paint. Clealiness issues in the rest of the room as well--stains on bed cover. Rug looked grimy.

When I was leaving I (thought) I had lost the key to my safe. Turns out there was no master key. of course I then found the key--but you would think a hotel would be a little more prepared for disorganized guest like myself.

Strange list of "policies" on the back of door--seemed a bit agressive and defensive in tone. An example was the long explanation of the problems associated with consuming food or drink not bought at the hotel on the property (details not important). This tone seemed completely at odds with Michaels warm and welcoming personality. Possibly was written by former owner (michaels dad) who is something of a character. And in a way the uneveness of the experience added to the quirkyness of the hotel. Would probably try another place next time--but only because there seemed to be a lot of equally great options around town.

Matress was worn out. Did not try the breakfast--which was not included and didnt look great and there were better options nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhodesBasil, Owner at Spot Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hello to all,I was not shocked,but i was hurt by this review.If it were true my response would have been explanatory and apologetic. We have never been accused for dirty anything especially our sheets and bathrooms,this gentleman as my son would inform me daily,would lose his keys anywhere from 2 to 3 times .We were there to assist him. whenever he needed,so i dont see why he would say we are disorganized. the sign on the back door states info for guests to read when they have settled in. about the food and beverages I state,Dear guests the Hotel is licensed to sell alcohol and snacks ,we are not insisting that you buy from us,If you shop elsewhere please hold on to your receipts in case of a tax department instigation,so that I would have proof that these beverages were bought elsewhere,or else I would have to pay a 5000 euro fine because i would be accused of not issuing a receipt.Break fast is a self served buffet all you can have,no limits. includes abundant coffee, tea, hot chocolate, different herb teas ,hot fresh rolls, pound cake, OJ, cookies,boiled eggs, cheese ,
Cereal, and last but not least I shook this Mans hand once and welcomed him, I dont know why I'm a considered a Character. I guess there is no satisfying some people.


thank you
Lee Michael Mavros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spot Hotel

Address: Odos Perikleous 21, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Rhodes, just 100 metres from the scenic Old Town, Spot Hotel features a furnished roof garden with views over the town. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free WiFi. The rooms of Spot are fitted with antique-style furnishings and patchwork-style bedspreads. Each is equipped with a fridge and a safe. The private bathroom is stocked with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Guests may start their day with a breakfast or enjoy drinks, coffees and light meals at the medieval-decorated breakfast room. Several restaurants, bars and shops are within a short walk from the property. A sandy beach is accessible within proximity. Rhodes Port and a bus station are a 10-minute walk away, while Rhodes International Airport is 16 km away. Ammoudes Village and its beach are at a distance of 11 km. Car rental services can be provided and free parking can be found nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spot Hotel Rhodes Town
Spot Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.