We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home, is the S. Nikolis Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S. Nikolis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added S. Nikolis Hotel to your Saves list
S. Nikolis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Hippodamou Street | Medieval City, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Medieval Historical Suite
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home away from Home, is the S. Nikolis Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are visiting Rhodes, then this is the only place to stay, don't bother with the 5 star hotels or the B&B's. After checking out another recommended hotel from a friend on Trip Advisor, the site also mentioned the S. Nikolis, a quick read and also check of their website, convinced me that the S.Nikolis was the place to stay. From the moment I sent an email, which was answered within 24 hours by the owner Marianne, I knew I was booking the best hotel. The S.Nikolis is located within the old city of Rhodes, and near the San Fransisco gate as it is called by everyone. We stayed here from Sept 12 to 15. We arranged transfers from the airport to the S.Nikolis, which went without a hitch. Similarly our transfer 4 days later at 5am back to the airport - by Marianne the owner - thankyou so much!!!! Our room was superb, with flat screen TV, air-cond that worked really well and great terrace over looking the inner hotel courtyard, which on to their public bar area. Internet access is provided at reception if you decided not to lug your laptop or iPad with you. Breakfast is on the roof top terrace, which was brilliant, you have a view of the actually walls and also can see the cruise ships tired up at the port. Nothing is too much trouble here, you just have to ask, Marianne even washed some of our clothes, instead of us going to a commercial laundry in the new city of Rhodes. The beauty of this hotel. is that you can walk to everything, and the owners recommendations on where to dine, as they are locals will never disappoint. Being Aussies, it was great to be able to have a cold beer, in the hotel's courtyard, before going out to dinner, after a long day of walking. If you like seafood seek out Nireas. Marianne, her daughter and husband looked after us so well, it was like staying with family! Of all the hotels we stayed at while being away from Oz for 35 days, the S.Nikolis was one of the top 3 !!!!!!

Room Tip: Book room with a terrace over looking the hotels inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much.
What a review.......all winter time we will rave about you.
A wonderful end to a very hard season, which turned out
to be a season with wonderful guests just like you.
Thank you so much again.
Sincerely yours
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Maria and the boys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    24
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
19
86
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
puglia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found this hotel searching door by door something cheap and clean. At the beginning of August it has been difficult to find something like that, but the kindness and disposability of the owners convinced us that it was the right one. Even if the chamber they gave to us was a little bit over our budget, I can assure that have been money well spent. The apartament is near to the Walls, so it requires a little walk to the centre but guarantees tranquility for the overnight stay.
I want to insist on the kindness and niceness of the owners, Sotiri and Marianna, that made our stay more pleasent than we expected!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNikolisHotel, relatives at S. Nikolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guests.
My parents will be thrilled when they read your nice review.
Thank you.
We hope to see you again here.
Sincerely
Maria Nikolis *daughter*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The S. Nikolis is in the old town of Rhodes and suffers somewhat from the building restrictions and the owners passion for restoring old buildings. In the main hotel some of the rooms are small. We stayed in the "apartments" a short block away which we quite large.The rooftop breakfasts were very filling. While it is clan with beautiful decoration; it's not quite five star in its' appointments but that is far more than compensated for by the charm and the staff. Marianne is the hostess and went out of her way to make sure that our visit was exceptional. She arranged for a rental car and mapped out routes for us that took us away from the tourist traps to some great finds. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Ask to see Marianne's book of photos of the reconstruction. Location couldn't be better

Room Tip: The apartments are much larger than the hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much, its wonderful when the old stones and work is appriciated...
It was a pleasure for us to have you here.
All the best to you.
Marianne Nikolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Looked at earlier reviews before starting to write this one and was shocked by some of the damning reviews. We did not encounter the male owner who seems to be the main culprit in adverse comments, did not get charged the exorbitant prices quoted in some reviews, nor had any problems with the bill. We can only write as we found so here goes.
The hotel is in an ideal location in the middle of the old town. It is very close to the main street, Sokratus, and 2 minutes walk to Suleiman’s mosque so 5 – 10 minutes’ walk in any direction will get you to most sites in the old Town. The location, however, is surprisingly quiet and we did not experience any undue noise. The hotel itself is beautiful. It is a medieval building which has been tastefully renovated. We came in on spec yet were warmly greeted by Marie Anne despite not having made any advance booking etc. As we only needed a place to crash overnight, we took the small room which met our needs very well. The bed was soft and comfortable, antique furnishings, full sized fridge, air conditioning included in the price, flat screen TV. Yes, the bathroom was small but it was fully functional. We looked at one of the suites and it was fabulous. We would not have left the room if we had booked one of those, very sumptuous bedroom, separate shower and bathroom, lovely balcony overlooking delightful courtyard. Did not get up in time for breakfast and, having seen the pictures, regret this. The small room is obviously small but we have stayed in similar sized rooms in places like New York or London. Would recommend the small room only for an overnight stay but, from what we saw of the suite, would recommend these for a romantic break, honeymoon or if you need lots of brownie points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SNikolisHotel, Owner at S. Nikolis Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guests.
Thank you for your nice review of the S.Nikolis' Hotel/
We certainly are pleased. We hope to see you again and will
make sure you meet the male owner, who has created our
hotel, from the beginning in 1980, to what we are today.

And if I may.
I will follow your advice and answer all the reviews back.
To everyone who wrote a review. Thank you so much.
Sincerely
S.Nikolis' Hotel
Sotiris and Marianne Nikolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our Host Marianne could not have been more helpful, nor the location more delightful. From roof top breakfast overlooking old town Rhodes to the convenience of exploring the town so easily, this is a great location. Our rooms were very quiet, yet so close to everything. Marianne was able to arrange so kind extras, including laundry service and a ride to our car parked outside the gates so we did not have to carry luggage over the cobblestones.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartments down the street which were not in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

A great quiet place to stay in Rhodes Old Town at the southwest part just by the moat. Nice personal rooms with very comfy beds! You live in a history book and one just wish The walls could tell their tales. Rent a vespa and go to small beaches around Rhodes town. The wonderful owner Marianne most willingly Will help you out if u want. In The old town there are great historic locations to see and shopping+restaurants everywhere just by The corner from this small hotell. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our 12-day stay at the S. Nikolis (April 7 -19, 2012) was a highly-rewarding experience. The physical set-up of the hotel is unique: a partly medieval structure within the old city, next to the imposing wall; a court; and more. The hotel's facilities and amenities were very comfortable, but the main asset of the hotel is Marianne, its owner and manager. Her support and help in any detail; her attention to every need or wish which we had; her friendship and generosity - made the stay at a the hotel one of the best vacations we've ever had. We highly recommend the S. Nikolis.
Ora and Michal Michaely
Jerusalem, Israel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to S. Nikolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S. Nikolis Hotel

Address: 61 Hippodamou Street | Medieval City, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — S. Nikolis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your S. Nikolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S. Nikolis Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S. Nikolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.