We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibiscus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibiscus Hotel to your Saves list
Ibiscus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Nisyrou Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel during the last week of the season in October. Our seaview twin room with balcony was clean and spacious, simply furnished but with everything you could need. The bathroom was fine too. Our only criticism was that the pillows were, not some reason, not very comfortable.
We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The public areas of the hotel were of a good standard. The buffet breakfast was varied and the two evening meals we had in the hotel were quite good and excellent value for money. Drinks and snacks were reasonably priced.
The hotel is in a great position, right on the beach front, a stone's throw from loads of restaurants in the New Town, not far from Mandraki Harbour and within reasonable walking distance, on the flat, from the Old Town.
If you want the height of luxury this is probably not the place for you. But if you're looking for decent accommodation at a reasonable price, we'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for sea view - you can also see the harbour and the Turkish coast in the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    103
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
154
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at The Ibiscus Hotel in late August into September and found the hotel as most of the previous reviewers, in that the bathrooms were a little tired and the stair carpet was ready for changing, but overall the hotel is very nice and very well located for all parts of Rhodes town. The restaurant provides the type of food that is quite common in a hotel that tries to accomadate for many different nationalities and there was always something to suit our tastes.A mention must go to Nikos who was most pleasant and helpfull along with the restaurant staff. We had a most pleasant stay at the Ibiscus which was typical of a greeek hotel.The hotel location is much aided by the strong breeze that blew every day to make the very warm weather more comfortable

Room Tip: a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are going to Rhodes for the first time I would advise stay in Rhodes Town, much more to do there than any other place on the island! But make sure you do a few excursions and perhaps a boat trip or two. Avoid the glass bottom boat trip, it barely leaves the harbour and the biggest fish we saw wouldn't have made breakfast for one!
The hotel was better than average but doesn't quite grade 'very good' let's say 'good'! We had B&B but for only £4 per meal per person we could use the buffet in the evening. Amazed at the quality, choice, and service; unbelievable value and saved us a fortune. Even forfeiting our meal and dining out a couple of nights in Rhodes Old Town it was still well worth it.
Package holiday was cheaper than DIY and of course easier. This was a Thompsons holiday, their service was 'average to good' too.
Two decent places to dine, 'Romeos'' hidden behind Socretes Street in the old town, and 'Louis' quite close to the Ibiscus Hotel. Both good friendly service, good food, and excellent value for money.
Finally if you want to do a Greek Night excusion be warned most stop early October, and virtually the whole island closes down by the end of October. Overall holiday rating 'very good indeed'.

Room Tip: A sea view is extra but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've just read some of the recent reviews of this hotel & find it difficult to believe that they refer to the same hotel where we spent such an enjoyable week. First impressions of the hotel were good: cool, light & airy, with comfortable & inviting public areas, friendly & helpful staff. First impressions of our room (second floor, with a sea view) were equally good, & the bottle of wine to greet us was a nice touch! It was spotlessly clean, well furnished with plenty of storage space, 2 easy chairs, 2 very large mirrors, & comfortable beds. It was plenty big enough for the 2 of us, & the view from the balcony was wonderful - well worth the extra money. The bathroom could do with a face-lift, but was more than adequate, with the towels changed daily, as was the bed-linen.
We enjoyed most of the food, & the breakfasts deserve a special mention with star billing going to the omelettes - freshly made with your choice of filling(s) - and to the jug of coffee which was so well insulated that the 4th cup was as piping hot as the first. I'm not a meat eater but found plenty to enjoy each evening - soup, a wide selection of salads, some appealing veggie dishes, & fresh fruit to finish, all washed down by a very pleasant local wine.
Special mention must be made of Nikos who not only ran the restaurant with the utmost efficiency, but had the ability to make every guest feel special!
My tips: 1) do take a boat trip to the picturesque island of Symi & 2) be sure to take a beach towel on holiday with you as the beach just outside the hotel is irresistible - even to a pair of pensioners like us!

Room Tip: Do pay extra for a sea view. Our second floor room was convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ibiscus the first two weeks in October having booked some time ago because of the good reviews. Well, something has changed drastically.
People spoke before about the need to refurbish and we thought, Theres no pleasing some people. Thompson dont do that kind of hotel. WELL THEY DO. The beds were like rock. The carpet on the 5th floor landing is in a dreadful state as is the stair carpet up from reception. The picture taken of the pool on the hotel site shows a rear view of the hotel with glass bricks in the wall high up on the left. Several of these are now broken. The food was the worst I have eaten in any hotel for 30 years. It was cold, steamed, bland and unimaginative. The plates were cold though they were kept in warmer stacks and the cooks idea of potatoes was a joke. Imagine partially cooked baked potatoes swimming in olive oil every night for two weeks with no alternative. When we raised these points with the maitre d, Nikos, he immediately got us some French fries from the kitchen which were available normally as bar snacks. The second night when we asked the waiter for some with our cool food already going cooler, we were told we must wait for at least 5 minutes. Maybe we suffered from the We ll all be out of work when the hotel closes in two weeks syndrome but that is not what we paid for.
I could detail the good points such as the brilliant location, the immaculate state of the reception and bar area, the bit the public see, the excellent service of the reception staff, the provision of a quiet room as requested and the ability to get bar food at 1.30 am when we got in very late due to Greek air traffic control but since I have no intention of recommending this hotel, I dont feel like elaborating.
ps. I have tried to post this review at the Thompson website on several occasions but it wont let me! Say no more!

Room Tip: West side, Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 2 weeks at the Ibiscus Hotel returning last Sat 13th October and my experiences were:-

GOOD POINTS Wonderful location, friendly staff, room allocation was exactly as requested, prices for bar food and drinks was very reasonable and our Sea View room (we were not upgraded, this was what we had booked) was wonderful. Yes! The carpet could have been cleaner, the cleaning by the room maids could have been more thorough, but given their work load they did very well, were really obliging and re-filled toiletries upon request immediately.

BAD POINTS The carpet on the largish landing outside our room on the 5th floor had obvious water damage, was dirty, but most importantly there were HUGE rucks in it so that someone, especially a child, could have easily had an accident! The carpet on the spiral landing leading from Reception to the Half Landing servicing the swimming pool and where the meetings were held was absolutely filthy! I have had cleaner carpets on the floors of my various garages. It was supposed to be green but was so dirty it looked as though engine oll had been spilt on it. As for the food, much vaunted in reviews until recently, and after we had booked, was the worst I have ever eaten on holiday. The breakfasts were ok as I had freshly cooked omelette, but the cereal choice was very poor and the cooked food was tasteless and seemed to have been kept warm for hours (breakfast was from 7am-10.30am). As for the dinners!! They were tasteless, poor choice of foods barely warm, sometimes when it had just been brought out on a fresh tray from the kitchens and even the plates were nearly cold, despite being kept in plate warmer holders. The food quality was pretty awful too, seemingly, how cheaply can we feed you and I spent 2 weeks filling up on Half Board with their wonderfully fresh bread. Need I say more!

We enjoyed being so close to Rhodes Old Town and Mandraki Harbour a great deal and that was the reason for booking this hotel with Thomson, despite it being only 3* as it was their only one so centrally based. However, I would not stay in this hotel again, would not recommend it to any friends, nor family and can only presume that its much vaunted Repeat bookings willl suffer as the standard has clearly plummeted of late. A great shame as, with not a great deal of money and some attention to other details, as well as those mentioned, this could be exactly what it purports to be - a 3* hotel. I must admit that rating it as 2* IS pushing the envelope somewhat. A terrific holiday, but not thanks to our accommodation. Oh and finally, the beds were so hard that, despite putting 2 blankets underneath my sheet I came home with a bad back and absolutely shattered due to lack of good sleep quality.

All in all an experience not to be repeated!!

Room Tip: We asked for a 5th floor quiet room and that is exactly what we were allocated. We did this via Tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Ibiscus Hotel is a really lovely, peaceful hotel; it is in a wonderful position just across the road from the beach - so the small pool isn't a problem. The staff are friendly, attentive, but not intrusive and do everything they can to make your holiday complete. The rooms - which are large; are clean,air-conditioned, have TV (we managed to find some English films with Greek subtitles!! and the chambermaids change the sheets and towels every day - shower,shampoo and conditioner are always refreshed. The restaurant is first class - the waiters are helpful but unobtrusive... the food (and there is plenty of it) is well cooked and what a great choice - amazing. Would recommend paying the extra for halfboard but 12 euros each for a 3 course meal if you have only booked bed and breakfast isn't bad! - better than the tavernas which we felt were out to make as much money as possible - who can blame them really??? The rest of the hotel is clean and spacious. The location is to die for - right oposite the beach - with views of the liners and ferries as they pass on their way to and from the harbour which as a short walk away as is the Old Town - well worth a visit so much history!
Our holiday was booked through Thomson, but it is not a Thomson hotel so you get lots of different nationalities there too. Our boat trip to Lindos was amazing - but note it's a bit of a climb from the beach up to the village,

We had such a great holiday - we plan to return

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the east side if you want shelter from the wind and vioews of the liners - or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibiscus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiscus Hotel

Address: 17 Nisyrou Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibiscus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibiscus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Rhodes Town
Ibiscus Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibiscus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.