We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterranean

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mediterranean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mediterranean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, Kos (Cos) Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 118 hotels in Rhodes Town
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Generally good hotel, but do make sure you get a superior sea-view room and check via the phone, a few days before arrival, that the booking is correct. Do not book a cheaper back room; the bathrooms are the most cramped on the planet! Food is very average with some pleasant dishes and breakfast buffet daily variable and with some items appearing later than anticipated - such as hard boiled eggs; strangely they were unable to poach eggs on order! Not good enough. Waiting staff OK and some rather endearing and all staff generally helpful. Rooms clean but some occasional hiccups with missing towels and damp sheets, as is perhaps expected with an average busy seafront 4 star hotel. My big criticism is the ultra expensive guest laundry service, which seem to forget about my clothes and took far too long to return them, despite several reminders. Worth it for the view, otherwise the Best Western Plaza hotel, without a sea-view but with a larger garden and bigger pool, has superior food. Book through a package company and strike a deal; but do B&B as around the corner are some excellent tavernas around the hotel, including Ancient Flame and Louis. Finally, air-conditioning is very good.

Room Tip: Back rooms are not recommended - only the front sea-view rooms and suites. However, if you are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    144
    58
    31
    19
See reviews for
48
152
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well, this hotel is not a one you could dream about but I liked that it is close to the sea, the district where the hotel is situated is quiet, not noisy. Everything you mignt need is in 5-10 min walk - Bus station, old city center and a bar street.
I travelled alone and for the first night they provided me an awful room, so small that i felt there like in a cage and without balcony (I payed for the room with balcony). But I asked them to change it and they replaced it with another one, much better.
I liked the service, all the people were very open and friendly, waiters were attentive and kind.
Food was ok, but I disliked that dinner was served to early (18:00-21:00). When i came one time at 20:45 they said that they were to close and i had to eat in a hurry. Drinks are extracharged. So I'd advice to have dinner in some other places, much cheaper and up to your choice.
Nevertheless I had a wonderful time there, I think I could stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view are perfect, rooms with a rare view (to such called garden) are noisy, '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stratigically located next to the best bit of seafront in Rhodes town , within walking distance to the medieval old town and also next to the best restaurants in town (as they appear in tripadvisor), this hotel offers an unbeatable choice for me. The rooms are reasonably priced, and those with the sea view have a very nice outlook. The breakfast buffet is generous without being anything exceptional. The staff are friendly, helpfull and efficient. The rooms are generously sized and the double beds are comfortable and big. The bathrooms are ok, fairly dated. If you are very picky, you could find a lot of minor things to complain as the hotel is starting to look a little bit dated. However in a sense I am happy that not everything is perfect as otherwise I 'd need to pay a much higher price for such a good hotel. Overall an excellent deal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was so excited when we pulled up- the beach was right there!. I was greeted with reception staff that seemed annoyed that I had questions to ask. The room was gross (not ocean view- but instead, an abandoned building). We instantly ripped the cheap, DNA filled bedspreads off the beds. The bathroom was disgusting, dark, dingy, totally outdated. It was so dark in the shower itself. I felt like i was in a crappy motel. There were all of 4 lounge chairs by the pool...not ok. Breakfast was below par. Very crowded, again, attitudes when we were asking to be seated. Slim pickings- dry eggs, undercooked bacon, some pastries, fruit- but awesome sweet cheese pie. Having to make a mad dash to the yogurt area hoping to be lucky enough to get a bowl is a ridiculous thing. Wanting a $10 deposit on a pool towel is ridiculous- on this trip i stayed at cheaper hotels that had no problem giving them away. The beaches are beyond crowded- youre better off doing some research and taking a cab someplace else for the beach.

BOTTOM LINE: not going back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We‘ve spent a week and we returned, after a small trip, for a couple more days in this hotel. Most of the personnel were very polite and pleasant. There were a couple of people that looked unpleased working there but even they, were very professional. The room we had the first time were spacious with great view to the seafront, although the A/C was not adequate; there were times during the night we woke up because of the heat. The second room (two doors beside) was considerably smaller, had the same great view and the A/C was just perfect. The breakfast buffet was ok but I would expect better from such a hotel, and the restaurant was very small to support so many people. WiFi is free only throughout the lobby area and you have to purchase access time from the reception to access the WiFi in the rooms. It is definitely an old Hotel; it is well renovated, but still it leaves a taste of a long-passed time. Well, maybe to some people that’s a good thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are thoroughly enjoying this hotel, with a direct seafront room which is air-conditioned and drop-dead gorgeous views not only of the sea in front of you but to the port as well. The staff are unhesitantingly welcoming, polite and professional, and the buffet breakfast leaves nothing to be desired. We're on a half-board basis which means breakfast and EITHER lunch OR dinner, both with buffet salads, breads, cheeses and then a full dinner, of two alternative main courses, which are served to you, with vegetables/french fries, and ends up with tea or coffee. The wine list is extensive and, naturally enough, features Rhodian wines. Even the wine of our choice - Hatzimichaelis Chardonnay - is by far cheaper than anything you buy on Mykonos, where we were last week. HOWEVER, don't fall for sending your laundry to the hotel! Why on earth would you pay 3.5 Euros for a handkerchief to be washed, 4 Euros for underpants, 4 Euros for a pair ofr socks and a whopping 7 Euros for a shirt?! Better by far to take it to Tornado Laundry, 29 Apollinou Rodiou Street (open 0900-2100; tel. 22410-37659) where a 6kg wash-and-dry costs 6 Euros, abd ironing 1.5 Euros per shirt/T-shirt/shorts. Great value, and an easy 5 minute stroll from the hotel. Better still, on the cortner of the street with this laundry is Kariba Travel agency, which I can greatly recommend for day trips to Symi, Lindos and Marmaris (Turkey). Their official address is: 18 Ionos Dragonou Street (tel. 22410 24650)

Room Tip: The seafront-facing the rooms are a MUST, and try to get the upper floors (#5 or 6). The rooms are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location is good, the hotel is good but don't waste your money on a waterview room. I entered my room to be confronted with overhead wires and a construction site of the building across the road for my waterview. I asked the girl at the front desk who allocated my room if it was a waterview because that is what I had paid for. The arrogant condescending manager butted in saying that he was the manager and she was ONLY the assistant and to talk to him. He told me i had a waterview room and proceeded to show me where the waterview rooms were located. I said where is the waterview and he said if I leaned over the balcony i could see a view of the water! I was told to come back the next morning after breakfast to see if I could change rooms. I didn't bother as our stay was only for another night. Some people we had met were staying in cheaper accommodation at the same hotel and had trees outside their room for a view. The pool is cold and the chairs are located on the side of the building between the hotel wall and the fence.

Room Tip: Definitely not a waterview
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Address: 35, Kos (Cos) Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranean 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town
Mediterranean Rhodes Town
Hotel Mediterranean Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterranean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.