We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , but weak in other aspects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterranean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterranean to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterranean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, Kos (Cos) Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location , but weak in other aspects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Pros:
1. The location is great (next to a casino and to the beach) .
2. The staff is also kind and helpful .
3. Room service was nice

Cons :
1. The hotel had much more guests that it could handle which caused big lines into the dining room and situation when it was too hard to find a place to sit . The waiters could not handle this amount of people meaning getting a fork or a cup sometimes was basically impossible . Since those waiters were also responsible for giving main dish and deserts during dinner and coffee during breakfast and they were too busy to do so , sometimes we had to leave without getting any service from them .
2. The beds are not comfortable at all , instead of double bed we got two adjusted single beds and kid's bed was not appropriate for her (she felt from it during her sleep) .
3. No air conditioning combined with general heating created a very hot temp. in the room , we had to open the window and suffer from street (and other) noises during the nights .
4. The hotel had no child activities what so ever (not a real problem but something to be familiar with)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    170
    73
    39
    28
See reviews for
62
184
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived late due to delayed flights. We were met at the door and they even moved our car for us. Everyone at the front desk was very nice. Breakfast buffet was very good and great view from the hotel of the water. Room was very nice and clean and a good size. The location is perfect if you want to walk to old town or if you have a car. Make sure you explore the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First hotel's location is perfect. It is too near to old town and has a really good beach.
Breakfasts and dinners are open buffet and diverse. Important point: Hotel is too cheap...
I suggest to everyone

Room Tip: SeaView Rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arrived one day thanks to the Greek strikes which plagued our trip. They let us have breakfast while they quickly prepared our room. Room had a wonderful view, was comfy and we found the whole hotel to be quite adequate. Such a great location with short easy sea side walks both ways. Close to the marvellous old town and palace. Would stay any day again. Funny watching all the semi undies on the beach down below and sitting watching the sun go down sipping wine. A brief respite from the greek strikes which effected every travel plan throughout the whole of Greece. On that, I would never go back to Greece (which we have travelled extensively through over the years) until they sort themselves out. The hotel though was good, good, good. Staff helpful, clean, located wonderfully. No issues at all!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view preferably on the third or above floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I traveled to Rhodes for 8 days with 3 of my best friends, and we stayed at the Mediterranean hotel. We loved the hotel, it was very clean and the maids were lovely.. there is a free wifi in the lobby, hot water is always available, the air conditioner was for FREE and without any noise. The hotel has the best location ever..2 minutes walk far from the new town, 10 minutes walk far from the Old town and the bus station, surrounded by several restaurants and shops.There is a mini bar in the room but be careful you can not remove any item from it because they will charge it on you even if you didn't eat it..there is a TV, a hairdryer etc... The best part was the breakfast and dinner (as we paid for a half board): The Breakfast was a large buffet full of everything you can think of..Milk, Coffee, Tea, cereals, eggs, Jam, pastry, Labne, Cheeses, sausages, cakes etc..; The dinner is composed of a soup,a buffet of Greek appetizers, a main dish, and a desert. We loved our vacation, Rhodes is full of fun and the Mediterranean is worth trying it.
PS: the front desk assistants were amazing :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evia greece
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed for 10 days during the christmas holidays..we loved everything..service was exceptional...staff very friendly...atmosphere and decorations elegant...classy.
the breakfast buffet has everything all types of eggs..pastries...different breads...and if you want something else all you have to do is ask the waiters...they are so friendly and eager to assist in any way.
the best hotel in town!!!!

Room Tip: we selected a room on the casino side...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel, hotel Mediterranean and its services are definitely worth a visit!
We not only enjoyed quality in services but were welcomed by very friendly people and a wonderful staff stand by whenever we needed. What a location!!! Right infront of the beach walk. Definitely worth staying here!!! I suggest it as we had indeed a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterranean

Address: 35, Kos (Cos) Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterranean 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mediterranean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Rhodes Town
Mediterranean Rhodes Town
Hotel Mediterranean Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterranean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.