We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Agla Hotel to your Saves list
Agla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   35 Apolonos Amerikis St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The location is very near to windy beach with waves, about 400m. There sea at west coast is not suitable for children. There are minimarket, restuarant and car-rental next doors.
Hotel itself was clean and tidy, modern enough. There was a pool, quite large and sunbathing chairs, but these got occupied rather fast. Very close distance to nightlife bar street.
The breakfast was very good and lots of varieties. Fruits, pastries, bread, etc.
Warm water in the shower: not sure about it, the water was never as hot as back home but as it was so hot outside never found it to be a problem.

Our only problem was very strict policy about night silence. May be not the best choice for having fun with friends.

Room Tip: First floor balconies have some motion detector, so if you get stuck in the balcony and climb over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    110
    42
    10
    12
See reviews for
56
145
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

could not speak highly enough of the Agla Hotel absolute wonderful stay from start to finish.Made to feel very welcome by the staff and through out our stay they could not do enough for us to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.The hotel itself was of great standard from cleanliness,the meals [all inclusive a must],swimming pool,restaurant and outside/indoor bars.Started our honeymoon in room 007 [u can just call me James ha] which was a lovely room and then few days later moved up to the top floor room 505 for the sea view which was amazing!.Hotel is a great location 1min walk to the gorgeous beach and a 10min stroll to the new town and sea port with plenty to do and see.Old Town is an absolute must which again is a short distance stroll from the New Town. Buses to get around the island run every 20mins and are of good standard.Finally would like to thank the staff of the Agla [reception] Sirqa,Paula,Maria and Christos. [bar staff] Louisa,George and Tassos. [restaurant] Antonis,Giota,Martina,Tamara,Gabriela,Janna and the very special lady Sofia whos smile lit up the room every day. [Mini Market] Anna and Eftichia.Would love to return one day and will!!!.

Room Tip: top floor rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
A fabulous review, thank you so much and also for your letter. The staff so love hearing positive comments and as you can see if you look on trip advisor on the same day as your review was listed we have a very different review from Italy and it says the staff were not helpful!
Just to thank you once again for your positeve feedback and to wish you both all the best for the future.
Pamela Salvaris
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Other reviews have made reference to how good the staff are...and we can only concur. They are very friendly and helpful...with a good command of English.

We paid a very fair price for this holiday...an All Inclusive deal for four.

The rooms are fairly standard but comfortable, very clean and maintained well daily

The food is what one would expect for a 3+ star hotel....not spectacular, but very edible. Maybe not too much variety but something for everyone's taste.

Our only negative, and it's a small one, is that we arrived at about 11pm and the restaurant was closed. There was no alternative offered to us so we had to pay for a meal at an outside restaurant....something we hadn't really factored in our budget.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would happily recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and also for your comments about the staff who work so hard to make a great holiday for all guests. I note your comment about the meal on the arrival which is a valid one. Our system is that the people who miss their meal on arrival get a meal on the last day or a set lunch at the pool. As we are sometimes not advised of arrival times of the guests my suggestion is that if you have a late arrival on your next holiday you contact the hotel directly and ask either to have a cold plate in the fridge in your room or if they can arrange something for you.
Pamela Salvaris
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

For anyone who has a bad word to say about the Agla you must be the one in the million. The staff, room service, facilities all excellent. The breakfast buffet and ever smiling Sofia set us up for the day, the room was always clean, bar and other staff always helpful and friendly. What more can you ask for. And this, only 10 minutes walk to the Old Town and a stone throw to the first of many ideal beach locations. I have however knocked one rating off for only one socket in the bedroom and the power going off when you leave the room so you cant charge until you are in the room which for the phones x 2 , Ipads x 2, Camera.....is a bit of a juggling act.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your great review and do appreciate your comments concerning the recharging of phones etc. We are hoping in our next renovation to do something about this but it has been delayed because of the economic climate. However for all clients benefit you can leave your phones to be recharged in the reception area at no cost.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your break and maybe one day we will see you again.
Pamela Salvaris
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I do not normally write reviews but having recently stayed at the Hotel Agla I happened to read their page. I was shocked to see the review NO HOT WATER, as I distincly remember the day that this Greek man was so badly behaved and asking everyone if they had hot water which they did. He was screaming and shouting in reception and called the ladies a very rude name which means lady of the night and was abusive to another lady .
I just want to say that the Hotel Agla is a lovely hotel with brilliant staff who were always kind and courteous and went out of their way to help everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Front Office Manager at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We do appreciate it.
Hope to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was on business trip and i had to sleep there for 4 nights.The first 3 days i had to deal with semi hot water to the bathroom!The last day in afternoon the water was cold!While i informed the front desk they told me to wait.After 1 hour i went to managers office and she told me in same water's temp beheavior that she coudn't help me at all.
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I called tourist police and never answered!
I met i policeman near the hotel in a Gas Station and asked for help.His reaction was like:There is nothing to do about...
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I cannot thank you for writing this unture report and I am going to contact Trip Advisor about this.You informed the reception you were here on business and that you had contacted the hotel association for a free room but they had not replied. In the end you stayed on and were given a free room for a few days at the Rodos Palace Hotel. At no time during your first stay here did you complain about the hot water. You returned after a few days after making another booking which I do not understand if you were so disatisfied and then started causing quite a lot of fuss and asking the other clients if they had hot water which they HAD.
Your attitude in bursting into the office of the front office manager and interrupting a conference call was unacceptable and you were told so. As anyone can see from Trip Advisor this report should never have been aired and I would suggest that your anger started because you were not given a free room by the local Hoteliers Association.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Agla is a great hotel :) the location for the hotel is perfect...close to beach...close to new town and old town :)
Staff in the hotel is so nice and polite and friendly :) specially in the reception and lobby bar :) Felt welcomed all the time.
Rooms are nice and clean.... TV could be better but it is not that important as you don´t spend much time in the hotel room :)
Will recommend this hotel and if I come back to Rhodes I would be happy to stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Front Office Manager at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate that you used your valuable time to write your feedback.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agla Hotel

Address: 35 Apolonos Amerikis St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Agla is situated 50 meters from the beach in a quiet area near the centre of Rhodes Town, only 5 minutes from the Old Town and the shopping centre of the New Town. Therefore it is in the ideal position to combine a beach holiday with shopping and sightseeing. Combining the advantages of a modern city hotel with a friendly family atmosphere, the hotel Agla is the ideal choice, summer and winter, for holidaymakers and businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Agla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agla Hotel Rhodes Town
Agla Resort Rhodes Town
Agla Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.