We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Agla Hotel to your Saves list
Agla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   35 Apolonos Amerikis St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Jüri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Agla is a great hotel :) the location for the hotel is perfect...close to beach...close to new town and old town :)
Staff in the hotel is so nice and polite and friendly :) specially in the reception and lobby bar :) Felt welcomed all the time.
Rooms are nice and clean.... TV could be better but it is not that important as you don´t spend much time in the hotel room :)
Will recommend this hotel and if I come back to Rhodes I would be happy to stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Front Office Manager at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate that you used your valuable time to write your feedback.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    109
    41
    9
    12
See reviews for
53
143
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have been staying at the Agla hotel for over 30 years and never made a review before, but feel I should share the joy that I get from there. The reception staff and the bar staff are wonderful friendly people who cant do enough to please. The hotel owners are also very wonderful. I go there twice a year so that must prove how wonderful this hotel is with a perfectly location for everything. The rooms are perfect and spotlessly clean and the food is very good value for money, a very relaxing place. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Your review is very much appreciated and thank you so much for all your positive remarks. We cannot wait for you to visit us again as it is a pleasure to serve such contented clients.
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

There is good and bad here

Good

We had a fabulous sea view on the 6th floor
Rooms are clean and comfortable and spacious
Breakfast has good choices
Staff are friendly and helpful
Easy walk to the old and new towns

Bad

Located in a very very windy area so that the beach at the front of the hotel is unusable lest you be blown away

Wifi only in the lobby..really! !! In this day and age..does not even reach the pool area.

Safe in room costs 10 euro per stay..this is always included in every hotel ive ever stayed in.

Charge for pool towels even..we used our own.

Aircon in room turns off every time you open the balcony door.....very annoying.

Would I stay here again .....no... id try the other side of rhodes town away from the wind with wifi in all areas

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guests fronm Australia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will attempt to reply to your comments. Obviously we cannot do anything about the wind which I note was particularly strong when you stayed. Many of our clients chose to stay with us because we are on the windier side so this is a question of preference. As I have said many times wi fi is not standard in all hotels in Greece or in the world. I recently attended a conference in London paying quite a hefty rate and the wi fi was not free even in the lobby. We are a superior 3 star hotel but our rates are not extortionate and that is why we charge for extras which gives the clients the choice of where they spend their money. On a small island where we try to be ecologically minded it makes sense for the air co to go off when the windows or doors are open, one of many small innovations to make our little mark on the world.
Thank you for the positve comments about the hotel.
Hotel Agla
Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been a client of the Agla Hotel for many years now but this is my first review. I did not realise how important reviews are nowadays and that is why I have now decided to write one! As a regular client I think it is obvious that I find the hotel totally charming with wonderful friendly staff. They are always ready to have a chat or help you with any problems. The rooms are of a good standard and kept spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel. The food is very good value for money and the bar a friendly place to relax at the end of the day. What more could one want!

5 stars for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
A wonderful review and thank you so much for writing it. The management and staff do appreciate hearing positive comments as they work so hard and this is part of their reward. Working 7 days a week for 5 months is not easy and I am so proud of my staff.
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Agla hotel and were extremely happy with our choice.If we get the opportunity to visit Rhodes again we would definately want to stay there again.It is a family hotel about 15 to 20 minutes walk from the Ancient city(pensioner pace) .We arrived hot and tired after a long journey from South Africa we were greeted by a charming lady called Louisa she was so calm and welcoming that we immediately relaxed and felt at home.Our room was on the 5th floor and we had a sea view ,which is not of major importance as we are out and about all day,we had a small sitting area and roof garden which had table and chaurs and a sunbed.Rhere was a small fridge just big enough for milk,beer and cold drinks quite adequate we had a kettle which was very handy.We had a comfortable kingsize bed(which we had requested in advance) and a pleasant bathroom.The room was spotlessly clean and indeed was cleaned every day although they stated 6 days out of 7.All of the rooms and common areas that we saw had the same standard of cleanliness.The breakfasts were as advertised continental and were adequate if a little unimaginative but good wholesome food.The lady in charge,Sophia,was absolutely charming always smiling and helpfull .In fact all of the staff were quite lovely and created a pleasant atmosphere.We didn't eat our other meals in the hotel as we enjoyed sampling the nearby restaurants and generally had lunch wherever we happened to be .The restaurant across the road ,which was also a family business,was really consistently good. The swimming pool area was very pleaseant with a lovely clean pool and a fair number of sunbeds we didn;t make use of it we found the weather a bit too cool for swimming besides there was so much else to do and places to go. Whilst in Rhodes we explored part of the island a lso the neighbouring island of Symi which we really liked.We spent many hours in the ancient city which was fascinating and we were so pleased to see that quite a lot of restoration work is underway.The visit to Rhodes was the start of our Greek adventure we loved the island and the people who made our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: The upper rooms had a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that you immediately felt relaxed as our aim is to make every guest feel like this as we appreciate that they have saved up for the holiday and we need to make it as special as we can.
I will pass on your comments to both Louisa and Sophia as its also good for them to know their efforts are being rewarded.
I hope the rest of your Greek adventure was a great experience.
Once again thank you.
Pamela Salvaris
Agla Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is not large and does not have the sea-front location of others in Rhodes Town. However this hotel has a lovely atmosphere, is very clean, quiet and the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming.
The location of the hotel (on the windy side of the resort) is ideal to reach the harbour, new town and old town as they are all about 15 minutes walk. The beach is just across the road and down some steps.
The rooms are well equipped with hairdryer, fridge and kettle and plenty of clean towels are provided.
The pool area was small but spotlessly clean, people did not feel they had to put towels on sun beds all day so no matter what time there was somewhere to relax.
The staff (particularly Tasos and Luisa who work in the main bar area) are so friendly and helpful - all the local tips they gave us about restaurants etc were spot on.
This is not the usual type of hotel we would choose, however we would certainly return there should we go back to Rhodes Town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
What a lovely review and we are so happy that despite this not being your usual type of hotel that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your comments to all the staff especially Louisa and Tassos as they do work so hard and it is good to know that their efforts are appreciated.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and i do hope we see you again in the future.
Pamela Salvaris
Hotel Agla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is nice and clean there is a pool, restaurant and a bar where you can get a nibble or two. The food is good, the morning breakfast has lots of food to choose from the coffee is served in thermoses left at your table. The staff will help you as much as they can and are very accommodating. The rooms are small, clean and the beds are firm. Shops and restaurants are nearby the beach is very close and the old town is twenty minutes away. We walked around the whole end of town to the marinas in less than forty minutes. The internet is available in the rooms at a cost but if you sit in the bar it works there too.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if staying before June 15th and after September 15th.The AC is not turned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Front Office Manager at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you review, which we received some time ago.
We appreciate that you used your time to write this feedback, which of course I have shared
with my colleagues. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Wishing you all the best
Agla team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agla Hotel

Address: 35 Apolonos Amerikis St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#20 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agla Hotel Rhodes Town
Agla Resort Rhodes Town
Agla Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.