We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Agla Hotel to your Saves list
Agla Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   35 Apolonos Amerikis St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nizhny Novgorod
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A friendly place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

1st time in Greece for a week, chose Agla Hotel.
Despite little problems with computer system, i was accomodated quiet fast.
I was very impressed with the staff's helpfulness and friendliness. Thanks to the staff!
Special thanks to Jannica!

Single rooms are small, but comfy and cleaned well.
The room for 4 persons (i had a chance to live in one) are really nice, spacious and well-equipped.

The hotel's location is OK, it's a few minutes from the main bar and club road, but the distance is enough for a good sleep.

The chocolate cakes at breakfast were my #1 favourite)

Recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I am always pleased to hear that new clients rate our hotel highly so thank you for your review. I have passed on the positive comments to the member of staff that was so helptul too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    110
    42
    10
    12
See reviews for
56
145
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Agla Hotel. All the staff were brilliant, food was good and varied (we liked the red jelly and the ice cream). The hotel is well situated for exploring Rhodes and beyond (we went to Symi and Marmaris in Turkey). The bus station, harbour and old city are all within a 10-15 minute walk and the beach is only a 3 minute walk away. The room had all the facilities we needed, and the minimart was very reasonably priced.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you, everyone for an enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: Street noise is a problem if you get a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We are always so happy when we receive such positive responses to our hotel. As a smaller hotel we rely on our excellent staff and good hotel facilities in order to compete with our larger compeitors. Thank you for taking to time to make this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Agla Hotel 25th May - 4th June

First time in Rhodes. Our plan was to have 5 days in Rhodes and then go to Santorini. We stayed in the Agla and had a wonderful time. The ferry timetable did’nt allow that and we got the ferry directly to Santorini five days later than planed. Our first five days in Rhodes was great got to know the town very well. We could have moved to any other hotel but we decided to stay in the Agla. The Agla was like a home away from home. My wife’s birthday fell on the Sunday and after breakfast she was presented with a birthday cake and card. We felt very comfortable here. Wonderful people wonderful hotel, so friendly and delighted to help with anything. This is a great hotel and I am very happy to recommend it to anybody of any age group.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and list what you want 2nd floor, view etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
A great review, thank you so much. We do try to make all our guests feel special even though with so many nationalities in the hotel it is sometimes a little bit difficult to communicate well. I am so glad that you enjoyed the birthday surprise too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband & I have just spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Agla Hotel in Rhodes Town.
Everyone at the hotel made us very welcome-nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.They are all very friendly.
Even although the hotel was very busy we were able to keep on another room as we were not leaving the hotel until 20.30.
I would recommend this little gem to anyone.
We are already thinking of returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
I would like to thank these clients from bonny Scotland for their positive reveiw. We were very busy and also missing 2 key members of staff because of illness so I am glad that they felt they receved good service.
We do hope that we see them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here the 4th of june for a week, we asked for a top floor with a sea veiw,we got the ground floor looking onto the back road,asked louiza whos on the desk why, she said they were full and that a sea veiw would be an extra 10euros a day, but pointed out that were only in the rooms for sleeping and to get a shower,maybe she was trying to save me spending more money,but when the air con didnt work i went back and she told me they dont turn the air con on till the 1st july. and that a fan would be an extra 3euros a day i was not happy having to pay for a fan, when in the bar that night june who has been going there for the last 35 years told me her air con was on at no extra charge.we payed more for our holiday we were H.B june was B.B but we couldent have ours on, we havent been going there for 35 years thank you mr manager.On a positive note the staff were lovely TASSOS,IVANNA,SOPHIA.The food was lovely though they catered more for other nationalitys not Brits so if your takeing kids theres no fishfingers and i didnt see a chip in sight, not that all kids eat fishfingers and chips.Ifyour going to LINDOS for the day get the bus its 5euros there and 5 back and takes about an hour to get there.were a friend said he got the boat and it was 20euros return and took about an hour and a half to get there. the bus station isnt far from the hotel. we will be back to rhodes but not staying at the AGLA,though we will pop in for a drink to see there nice bar staff, and maybe get a refund for that FAN. I WANT HOLD MY BREATH.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for writing a review but I am sorry that you had the air cond problem. However you booked with a tour operator and in our contract with them it is quite clear that air conditioning is charged extra at 8 euro per day so I think that you should perhaps take it up with them. Maybe Louisa should have made this clearer to you. Regarding the food we feed up to 15 different nationalities and as Winston Churchill famously said you can please some of the people all of the time and all of the people some of the time but it is impossible to please all of the people all of the time. Chips can be ordered from out taverna by the pool if withdrawal symptomsare serious!
I do not think that you know what the hotel was paid for your stay and the person you mentioned says she never divulges to anyone the charge for her room which by the way she books a year in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

In May we spend 7 days vacantion at this confortable hotel.We were treated very good by front desk staff(special mention for Luisa).Good breakfast.The room was spacius at first floor,balcony on quiet street.Nice pool aria.I recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: for 10 euros per day you can upgrade your raoom to have plain sea vue (4,5,6foor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope one day to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A good breakfast, and the evening meal was provided at the conveniently early time of 7 pm. However, choice was limited and became repetitive. Red jelly became something if a joke!
We found the hotel staff generaly pleasant and helpful. The hotel was busy, with a high proportion of groups of residents on short stays en route to other destinations. Consequently the hotel tended to be noisy; there is also some aircraft noise.
Twelve steps down to the dining room could present a challenge to the disabled.
Pool area pleasant but restricted in size; childlren's paddling area particularly limited.
We found that the balcony flooded in heavy rain. There also appeared to be a possibility of locking yourself out on the balcony - no visible external door handle.
One welcome feature, not always found abroad, was a kettle and coffee cups. Coffee, milk etc available to buy in the hotel shop.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AglaHotel, Owner at Agla Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
I am really replying to this review to assure future clients that on a very busy Saturday monring when we have about 6 plances arriving an hour I have not heard one of them. The hotel is not on the flight path as I should know as the flight path is over my third floor flat over 1 mile away or over the sea halfway between Rhodes and Turkey.. Occasionally a pilot who does not know the correct route makes a mistake.
Secondly regarding the steps down to the restaurant we do have another lift that does go down to the restaurant so this is not a problem. We have a ramp into the hotel and out to the pool area.
I do wish to thank the clients for taking the time to write a review and I hope that they read this and it answers their main concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agla Hotel

Address: 35 Apolonos Amerikis St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Agla is situated 50 meters from the beach in a quiet area near the centre of Rhodes Town, only 5 minutes from the Old Town and the shopping centre of the New Town. Therefore it is in the ideal position to combine a beach holiday with shopping and sightseeing. Combining the advantages of a modern city hotel with a friendly family atmosphere, the hotel Agla is the ideal choice, summer and winter, for holidaymakers and businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Agla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agla Hotel Rhodes Town
Agla Resort Rhodes Town
Agla Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.