We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee

Elysee
Ialisou 105, Rhodes Town, Greece
2241075586
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 224 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Didn't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate here on our first night at Ixia and were worried afterwards the other restaurants would be of a similar standard, fortunately they weren't.

The service was OK but not very friendly and the food was extremely average.

We didn't return..........................

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    8
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a couple we met at our hotel (Dionysos hotel, Ixia).

The first night me and my mum went to the restaurant. I ordered a pizza and she got pasta. Both meals were delicious.
Afterwards we decided to order cocktails here as they were cheaper than at our hotel (most around 4.50 euros). Mine turned out to be a massive cocktail, so made the value even better.

The service was great! although there was only two waiters serving for about 20 tables, we never had to wait long to be seen to because they were very efficient and tentative. They really pride themselves on attention to details.

The restaurant is in a great location along the front by the beach. There is also a really lovely constant breeze through the large open windows.

The second night we returned we shared two starters of garlic mushrooms and fried aubergine. Both were really good, but the aubergine (eggplant) in particular was the best. I definitely recommend it. and the size of this starter is so big that you could just have it as a main if you wanted to.
I chose the pork gyros for my main course. It consisted of small pork strips, a cucumber/garlic dip, onions, pitta bread and some salad. It really was so delicious, I can't find the words to describe it. The meals are of such a large size, it's such good value for money

The third time we ate at the restaurant we decided to just order starters. We got meatballs, hummus, pitta bread, fried aubergine and roasted pepper.

Every time we returned the waiter recognised us and greeted us with a hand shake. He was so lovely and welcoming. Both waiters provided excellent service.

Would definitely return here again if I was in the area and I definitely recommend you go here too....you won't be disappointed by the food!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Although it was very busy the evening we went in two things spoilt the visit. First my wife steak was served 10 minutes before my swordfish came out and to make it worse halfway through i found it was raw in the middle.
Despite there being about 30 plus tables full there were only two people serving. A false economy really as i would have gone again if not for this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The portion sizes here are incredible, we came here on our first night and ordered a platter for two and it was absolutely phenomenal. We went back here again to try something else on the menu and it was just as rewarding.

The cocktails here too are great value for money.

On a strip full of bars trying to serve food this is a true resturant that you don't want to miss!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“In a restaurant with two covers, they lost an order”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Terrible service, average (at best) food. When the food eventually did turn up, it was bland, both visually and to the palate. Would strongly recommend Coconut or Le Gourmet instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elysee also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.