We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrium Platinum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atrium Platinum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atrium Platinum Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iliados Street, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hassle Free Deal*
Ranked #4 of 119 hotels in Rhodes Town
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I enjoyed staying at the Atrium Platinum Hotel because it’s a quality establishment in a quiet beachside location. It was always a pleasure to head back to the hotel for a late afternoon swim or glass of wine.

Our standard room was spacious and interesting, with a lovely balcony to enjoy views of the swimming pool and the beach beyond. We appreciated the well designed desk and modern comfortable chairs. Breakfast, available in the grand top floor restaurant, was excellent, with coffee from the espresso machine and lots of food choices. The staff was generally helpful and welcoming, although I was surprised when the Reception personnel could not explain how to get to the Temple of Apollo under our own steam.

The hotel itself is overly large and was perhaps built before the latest economic crisis. There is space to expand, but already the hotel feels too big. It was curious walking along the wide, stark and furnitureless corridors, but once we arrived at the pool, the restaurant or our room, the feeling was one of warmth and vibrancy.

The hotel is only a short, cheery bus ride away from the mediaeval town of Rhodes. We had considered staying in the Old Town but, to be honest, we preferred retreating to a modern, quiet establishment at night. I’d definitely be happy to stay here again.

There’s a small shop down on the main road selling water, alcohol, ice-creams etc., and I’d recommend the Olympias Restaurant close by for quality Greek food served with a smile.

.

Room Tip: As the hotel is large, you may be able to pick up a room at short notice at a discounted rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    135
    27
    1
    3
See reviews for
142
436
31
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in October and overall had a wonderful holiday. The staff, without exception, were very helpful and friendly. The hotel building and fittings are top quality and the public rooms are bright and clean. We had a room on 7th floor with a personal pool which was magnificent. However, there were one or two things which could have been improved on. Although the buffet at both breakfast and evening meal was good the food was only warm at best, never hot, and the plates were cold. This spoilt the dining experience as in my opinion hot food should be hot, and served on hot plates. Our bathroom had a jacuzzi bath, twin basins and a walk-in shower. Unfortunately there was black mold around the edges of the floor and up the walls. Also some tiles had come away from the bottom of our pool and care had to be taken as they hard sharp edges. Overall I'm glad we stayed at the Atrium Platinum but do not think we would go again as the hotel had nothing exceptional over other top quality hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Atrium Palace hotel for many years now. Each year we return the hotel seems to improve and maintain its 5 star standard. We have also been fortunate to experience the other Atrium hotels in the group on the island, that is the Atrium Platinum and the Atrium Prestige, again both exquisite hotels with excellent service. All the hotels are architecturally pleasing and incredibly clean and well run, with superb facilities, food and helpful staff who will bend over backwards to make your stay very comfortable. These hotels really are outstanding and I can thoroughly recommend a stay at any of them where you will be assured of a warm welcome and a most relaxing and leisurely stay. Rhodes itself is a small island that is easy to explore with lots of interesting features and the Greeks everywhere will be most hospitable. I am well travelled but this is my favourite place on earth!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here the first week of the holiday season this year (begining of April) new hotel, it was fabulous couldnt fault it! My partner was 50 and the staff delivered a cake and candles to our table and a chorus of happy birthday echoed in the restuarant. Superb staff couldnt fault them in any respect.

We had a suite on the 6th floor with private dip pool looking over the bay - everything was a dream. So wonderful THANK YOU

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We travelled with Olympic Holidays in the last week of the season which coincided with school half term. We don't normally book via a travel agent or tour operator, but this was a very last minute break and we had very restricted dates/flight times.
We had booked a family room with a sea view (we travelled with our 2 sons, aged 10 and 5), and we were very fortunate to be upgraded to a family suite with private pool on the sixth floor (room 617). Very spacious with 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms and a fabulous view of the main pool and sea from the very private balcony. Lovely comfortable suite with great bedlinen. The only thing missing from the room was a 'do not disturb' sign which we would have expected as standard.
We had booked B&B as we didn't want to splash out on the HB supplement for 4 people until we knew what the restaurants were like. Breakfast was excellent and served until 10.30. We ordered Americano coffees from the bar on the first day because the filter coffee was typical hotel stewed weak stuff. Each day thereafter, we were brought freshly prepared machine made coffee to our table with a smile, which was a very nice touch.
We had dinner in both the Asian and Greek a la carte restaurants during our stay and the food and service were excellent. In fact, the cost wasn't much more than the buffet restaurant, so we didn't actually have dinner in the main restaurant so can't comment on that. Lunch at the main pool bar was decent quality and always served with a friendly smile and chat.
We ate out in Rhodes Town a few times (8 euros in a taxi) and I would recommend doing that also. Ixia itself was pretty much a ghost town at the end of the season, and I can't say the hotel's immediate surroundings or beach are worth exploring. However, the hotel makes up for its location, and Rhodes Town is very atmospheric, particularly at night when the cruise ships and daytrippers have left.
The pool area at the hotel is lovely, although the pools are not very warm! That said, it was lovely to see the kids splashing around in November. There's a kids club but I don't think anyone used it whilst we were there, but the hotel was very quiet. There's a small outdoor play area and football nets, squash, tennis courts, table tennis, billiards etc so plenty to occupy all ages.
I had a facial in the spa which was great & good value. However, the steam and sauna were cold which was a shame. Again, I think this is because the hotel was about to close for the season.
All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Atrium Platinum. I don't think I've ever been served by such genuinely pleasant and friendly staff in a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying for an upgrade to suite with private pool on the 6th or 7th floors (or being lucky out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled to the Atrium Platinum Hotel the last week of the season (27th Oct-3rd Nov) with Olympic Holidays, half board. We were greeted by the lovely reception staff and bell boy and checked in, but asked to wait as our room was not ready. It was well worth the wait! Our room was huge it was a Deluxe room, side sea view on the 6th floor of the semi-circle tower (627). We were told by 2 of the staff that it was the best deluxe room in the hotel. The pool area was huge and very clean with lots and lots of empty sun beds. The pool bar was very good and again the staff good. The shop had a good selection. We did not try the 2 a-la-cart restaurants but everyone said the Lobster Night was fantastic. The main restaurant was really good and yet again, the staff were brilliant. Each night had a theme (Rodian fish, Mediterranean, Italian, Asian, Greek, Latin and Gala dinner) the main meal being served to you at the table and a help-yourself- buffet for the starter and pudding. But there were also main courses on the buffet. The selection was similar each night with variations to match the theme of the night. We did not like 2 of the meals but there was enough choice on the buffet. Breakfasts again were buffet style with plenty of choice and help-yourself Cava – it would be rude not to have it! On the down side the wine was silly prices, from 24 Euros. The same wine in the supermarket was 5 Euros! If it had been reasonably priced we would have had a bottle every night! I would also have liked the option of hot plates for the buffet. The Chromata bar (with uncomfortable chairs) had 3 nights of entertainment Greek, Reggae and Jazz/Rock.
We did not use the spa.
A big thank you to the staff, for helping to making a memorable, lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Our room 627 was lovely but in Oct/Now the balcony did not get any direct sunlight. If you want a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just got back from 1 week at the atrium platinum. The hotel looks very lovely on arrival, minimalist and modern. after checking in we went up to our room on the 5th floor, when getting out of the lift the corridors to our room looked very much like an underground car park, we did wonder whether top gear might want to race some cars around a la "the italian job". Room was spacious and clean with wine, fruit and water in the room, bed was very comfy and lovely view over the pool and beach, the bathroom very nice with 2 sinks but the shower head pointed towards the shower door resulting in wet floor.

Things missing from the room where iron and ironing board (thought that would standard for 5*) also no "do not disturb" sign for door, which mean't the maid service just knocked and entered without waiting to see if we needed them or not. My husband was quite wound up by this. Also (see below) when I was ill they came into the room twice, when the last thing you need is maids coming in when you are being sick and in your underwear so a NO NOT DISTURB sign would have been very welcome.

The buffet restaurant was not very inspiring for a 5* hotel and nearly the same every night, nice but boring after a while, the plates were always cold and the food was also not very hot either during breakfast or dinner. The a la carte restaurants were both nice but would not rate the food as 5*. We arrived on the Wednesday night and by friday night I was suffering from a 12 hour bout of food poisoning not feeling well enough to eat properly until the Sunday evening - we had been anywhere but the hotel for the entire stay. After reporting this to the hotel, they said it could not be from the them as no one else had reported the same symptoms and they always use fresh ingredients and were not really interested. Later in the week on passing the open kitchen at the pool restaurant we saw a staff member smoking in the kitchen, who then left their cigarette on a stainless steel preparation table whilst they came into the restaurant and some dishes (which looked like moussaka) left on a metal trolley (not that were were particularly looking but could not help but see this as it is an open kitchen).

Ixia - the hotel seems to have been dumped in the middle of a derelict area, there are no restaurants or bars (that were open) to go to, the beach was foul, rubbish dumped and full of stones.

Having eaten and stayed in some of Europ's top 5* hotels and restaurants we felt disappointed. For a last minute break was ok, but wouldn't visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atrium Platinum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Platinum Hotel

Address: Iliados Street, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atrium Platinum Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 5* Atrium Platinum Resort & Spa is located next to the beachfront and has a direct breathtaking view all over the west coast and the bay of Ixia. Let yourself be enchanted by romantic sunsets as well as relaxing walks along the center of Ixia with various shops and restaurants. Just a step away (3km) of the City center, where once the statue of the Colossus of Rhodes, one of the seven wonders of the ancient world, used to welcome travelers at Mandraki Harbour. The stunning medieval Old Town has been declared as World Heritage Site and is waiting to get discovered by you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Atrium Platinum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Platinum Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atrium Platinum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.