We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rustico Taverna

Rustico Taverna
Ippodamou 3-5, Old Town Rhodes, Rhodes Town, Greece
+30 2241 023182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 234 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Picture yourself enjoying a traditional Greek meal, with a small vilage atmosphere, with lush greennery overhead, walls covered with rustc farrmer's toolsand handmade pottery throughou.. This is Rustico!The taverna is situated on the corner of Hippodamou and Sokratous street a junction as the streets were created on the hippodamio system (a city were the streets are in blocks). The area is elevated and there were no archeological findings when excavations were performed thus assuming that a small forest existed which is a characteristic of elevated areas of that time.In the first christianic and Byzantine period after continuous destructions of the ancient town by the Persian, Goths and the Arabs and the town’s forced shrinkage into the Byzantine city the forest park which was destroyed by the fires was now open fields which was left as such for defense purposes since the distance was not far from the existing Byzantine defense wall
Haifa, Israel
1 review
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visited "Rustico Taverna" on our cruise from Israel .The staff were very very friendly!!! The traditional food is very good and at a reasonable price."Bachlava" was perfect,delicious .
The atmosphere was nice .It was a pleasure sit under the green roof coated grapes.
Wi-fi free included
We recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    73
    34
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, honest price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our return to Rhodes from the islands. We had passed it on our first night, but had already eaten. The staff were very keen to talk you through their menu as we walked past. This restaurant was situated towards the top end of the Old Town, near the mosque on the western side.

There was an extensive choice of food. And plenty of set menu options designed to give you a starter, main, pudding, coffee and liquor. We decided however, to order a salad and two mains. I ordered the vegetable moussaka which was full of flavour and tasted beautiful. My partner had spaghetti aglio e olio which was as it should be - simple and tasty. The green salad we had was also simple, but had some dill added to it which gave it a different twist.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given a complimentary glass of Retsina after finishing our meal.

The prices were very reasonable. Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lamb on the spit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was the Greek Easter when we visited this restaurant,we saw the rotating barbecue and went in for a beer, the staff were very friendly with superb service,needless to say we had to sample the lamb which was superb. Overall a very reasonable cost and great service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodos
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This restaurant is sitauted on a lillte street just off Socratous Street to the left and is a nice shaded garde area with a quantity of tables for you to dine at. This restaurant is quite popular and does get busy in the early evening. The food served is very good and at a reasonable price. Cheaper than the restuarants in the square but dearer than some others but the quality of the food served is much higher. I had a pork dish which is one of the specilaities and it was superb with a full plate to devour. The Moussaka is very good to. The drink prices are quite reasonable to. the staff are attentive to your needs and leave you alone when your dining but always on hand when you need your drinks replenished. There are fans on the roof to cool you down if you stop here in the heat of the day. There are so many restaurants to choose from in the Old Town but this in my opinion is one of the better ones. Try it for yourself don't take my word for it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Shady spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Top of the old town this is a shady spot to sit and have a drink or a meal. Staff are friendly but can be a bit pushy sometimes trying to get your custom. Food and drink is reasonably priced. Toilets are reasonably clean. Sitting under the vines will cool you down from the mid day heat. Very busy with day trppers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Rustico Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustico Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.