We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amphitryon Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amphitryon Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Alex Diakou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

OK not the greatest hotel we have ever stayed in but we always use the "would we come back again" as our benchmark and our answer would be a yes. The hotel is located next door to Marks & Spencer and is only 5 minutes walk away from the nearest gate into the old town and the port area. Breakfast and dinner was buffet style which is not our favourite but al in all we thought it was good enough to eat on two occasions and at just 10 Euro pp for dinner it was excellent value for money. We had a pool view room on the 4th floor, nice enough but unfortunately the view of nearby shops looked like they were part way through a demolition process that had run out of money, we realise that this is something out of the control of the hotel. The room was quite large, don't waste money on a 'suite' they are really standard rooms with an extra bed.

The reception staff were very helpful, we didn't get the name of the man who is on the desk during the day but despite being run off his feet he was really good, Fani who runs reception in the afternoons was a great laugh, always joking and smiling. Nickos who runs the restaurant area seems to work more hours than there are in a day yet remains the most pleasant and really nicest person you could wish to meet.

We think your doing a good job Amphitryon,

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a pool view if you prefer a quieter setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    63
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
73
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed four nights in September.

The hotel is close to the old medieval town, and a short walk to the beaches. It is an old building recently refurbished on the cheap, with a passable but not great pool area.

The room we had was a good size, and the bed was large, but the bathroom flooded when you showered, there were loose wires sticking out of the walls, the balcony glass railing was very loose, etc etc. The big newly painted fire hose cupboards were also all empty.. I only checked as a joke given the standard of the redurb, but disconcerting nonetheless.

Staff were friendly, but not particularly helpful. Our passports were left sitting on the reception desk in plain view for hours before someone bothered to photocopy them so we could have them back.

Breakfast was very ordinary compared to what we experienced elsewhere in Greece. Everything was done on the cheap, from the defrosted mini hot-dog pastries and fruit salad out of a can to the slightly off yoghurt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This nice hotel is in the city center and everything is very close. Near the hotel there are many nice bars and restaurants pizza and cafe. The location is very good 10 minutes to the harbor and 15 m to the old town. The rooms nice but bathroom is small. Very nice breakfast and dinner near the small pool. the stuff very friendly especially Nicos. We had a very nice time

Room Tip: Room with balcony to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel good. Staff was incredible. Prices were awesome. Dinner was great. Definetely worth to try. Do not waste your money with out side restaurants. Try the hotel dinner. Niko is the Man he will make it happen for you. I am sk pleased with the hotel. Oo I have to say IAni the front desk lady was so helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my partner have just got back from a 7 night stay at this hotel, the staff were all very friendly and would happily talk to you whilst having a drink at the bar. The rooms were very clean and modern, the maids came in everyday. The rooms had air-con at no extra cost :) one lady on reception was extremely nice and was able to tell us where was good to eat and would draw us maps. The hotel is close to the beach, old Rhodes town, the new town and bars/clubs too all within a 10 minutes walk. I would deffinantly recommend this hotel to anyone probably one of my most pleasant holidays so far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, late August 2013.
Despite some earlier reviews, we found this hotel to be an excellent choice. Their biggest asset is their staff, who are very friendly and helpful...especially Nickos who really made us feel welcome from the moment he met us on our first night. The restaurant, reception and cleaning staff were also friendly and efficient. The receptionist even brought a couple of paperback novels in for me, as my kindle broke on my first day there. Lifesaver! :) Thank you xx
The clean, minimalist décor of the hotel was very much to our liking....the pool area and the bar offered a very relaxing atmosphere, especially in the evenings when the pool and lanterns were alight.
Despite there not being many sunbeds around the pool, we always managed to find a spot...it was more than I expected from a town centre hotel.
We stayed on a B&B basis, and found the breakfasts to be very good. Occasionally we had lunch at the hotel, which was reasonably priced and of good quality.
The drinks are little pricey at the hotel bar....which is a shame. I think more people would use the bar in the evenings if the beer prices were reduced in line with other local bars.
The location is excellent...everything on your doorstep!!
Overall a great experience. Our first time in Rhodes, and we will definitely return...and we will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Karen and David
Newcastle

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. Staff were friendly and service efficient, from organising transfers to excellent dinner service. The room was quiet, clean, simply decorated and yet felt luxurious...we loved the remote control air con! The pool was a good size and it was never too busy. Finally, with its city centre location, convenient for both new and old town, the amophytrion proved to be a great destination for a young couple.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amphitryon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitryon Boutique Hotel

Address: 10 Alex Diakou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphitryon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Amphitryon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitryon Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amphitryon Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.