We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when staying in Rhodes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zacosta Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zacosta Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Zacosta Villa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xenofontos 23 | Medieval City, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must when staying in Rhodes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Amazing service and an extremely memorable stay. The owner, John, gets the little things right and certainly makes you feel at home. The location is also perfect for exploring the old town, while there are also a number of sensational restaurants in close proximity that offer up tradition Greek cuisine. John is more than happy to highlight restaurants where "the locals eat", so you know that you are not being ripped off by the restaurants that are only in operation during the tourist season. Zacosta Villa is a must for those looking to break away from the boring chain hotels, offering a great value stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
122
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Zacosta Villa Hotel is amazing. I cannot rave about it enough. It exceeded all of our expectations and made our stay in Rhodes that much sweeter. My boyfriend and I found Zacosta on Trip Advisor and were immediately impressed with all the positive reviews and guest photos - and we were most certainly not disappointed.

The Villa is tucked away in the Old Town, near the Old Town square, restaurants and bars. John - the owner - was so attentive and hospitable that it immediately made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Every morning we were served a gorgeous breakfast of fresh fruits, local breads and pastries, greek yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. John would help us with any queries, recommend places to visit etc.

John talked us through the history of Zacosta Villa and showed us the photo album of how he transformed an empty, dilapidated block into a gorgeous B&B. Undoubtedly, the stay at Zacosta - and John's hospitality - made our stay at Rhodes unforgettable. We honestly could not fault it. As young travellers - aged 26 & 28 - we absolutely loved it. It would also be the perfect place for a family to rent out all three rooms to themselves for a family-holiday!

It is an exceptional hotel - and John is amazing. Thank YOU, John!!! We hope to be back soon.

Lisa & Matt

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This small (three guests rooms) hotel is located in a tranquil setting in the Old City of Rhodes. From the hotel, it is easy to explore the Old City and major sights on foot.
The owner John is a gracious and generous host who went out of his way to be helpful and to make our four night stay a pleasant and memorable one. He even gave us the very late check out time of 5 pm, as we had a late evening flight back to London.
Breakfast, served in the lovely courtyard, was a real highlight, with delicious local products, freshly squeezed orange juice and excellent coffee.
The rooms and bathrooms are tastefully furnished and decorated. There was a generous array of quality toiletries.
Our only niggles were that our room, on the ground floor, was slightly dusty and noisy. We were aware of our neighbours upstairs walking around on their floor (our ceiling) and moving their bags around.
Overall, this hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and more luxurious (and more expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights in the Gran Maestro Suite at Zacosta in June 2013 and would come back here in a heartbeat. 
John is an extremely charming, helpful and generous host and provides a level of service that is extraordinary. 

Zacosta is tucked away in a quiet street off the main streets, but only a couple of minutes walk from the hussle and bustle of the major attractions. The courtyard was a quiet and serene oasis when coming back "home" for chilling out in the sweltering Rhodes afternoons. 

The suite was a very large room, furnished with great taste and with goodies to make our stay extra special....a box set of olive oil soaps and sponge, some local nut bars, a bottle of wine, and a daily top up of water bottles. He even gave us a gift as we were leaving! The wifi coverage was quick, comprehensive and free.

The breakfasts were served in the court yard and enough to feed us for the whole day. In addition to cereal and fruit, John bought fresh treats from a local bakery each day so we could enjoy a local breakfast and we had freshly squeezed orange juice. 

John gave fantastic restaurant recommendations which he clearly marked out on a map for us. He also showed us where to get laundry done, where to get haircuts, where to buy various types of things, etc. He gave us instructions on how to catch local buses to various sights and arranged a taxi driver to take us to sights that would have been cumbersome to get to without a car. 

There were numerous other examples of John's service and generosity. Suffice to say, while we have had really wonderful hospitality during our trip through Sicily, Malta and Greece, Zacosta really stood out.

We cannot recommend Zacosta enough, for the clean and well furnished rooms, for the quiet location that is walking distance to the lively part of the old town, and more importantly for amazing service.  I know we've repeated ourselves, but we believe the praise is deserved.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The best choice to experience the Old City in Rhodes, walking distance to all the sights and activities and a stone’s throw away from the new city as well. Tastefully renovated and decorated with a charming patio where we enjoyed breakfast, by the way an amazing one. John, the owner, goes the extra mile to make sure you make the most of your visit, even if that means carrying your luggage all the way from the gate to the hotel! (no cars allowed in the old city). We have never seen or experienced such attention to guests anywhere else. We highly recommend it and will come back if in Rhodes again.

Room Tip: Gran Maestro Suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This little hotel is hospitality at it's finest. The owner, John, is incredibly helpful to make your stay perfect in every way. The location in old Rhodes town is perfect for walking to everything and yet the setting is quiet. The private courtyard is lovely for breakfast and sipping wine in the early evening. The bathrooms are beautifully done, clean and efficient. The beds are great. We were traveling with another couple and it was a wonderful spot to come home to in the evenings!

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. We were in the one downstairs - perfect. Our friends were in one above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Think no more. Zacosta is the place to stay in Rhodes Town! We recently stayed at the Zacosta Villa hotel and we still talk about how awesome the whole experience was. It is a beautiful hotel located inside the midieval town. What makes the hotel stand out is the service. We were met from our taxi by John (the owner) and from that point on he delivered an exceptional experience. The hotel has only three rooms, two upstairs, one downstairs, and a beautiful patio, where you can unwind after a day of sightseeing. We booked Giardino for our stay, but since Raimondo was available, John was kind enough to upgrade us to that room. He is very personable and provided us with an excellent service. He made excellent restaurant suggestions, and we enjoyed our chats while sipping on ice cold beer. We liked the location in old town as it was an easy walk to anywhere in Rodos, but it could be a little tricky to find your way back to the hotel at night. And the breakfast was delicious - I asked him where to get fresh baklava, and the next morning, he served us baklava at breakfast (the best baklava we had during our entire trip to Greece and Turkey - and I still regret leaving a piece behind). You can't beat the customer service provided by John, and the little souvenirs he gives to his guests. So do yourself a favor, and stay at Zacosta Villa, and enjoy every single minute of your stay.

p.s: John, good luck with your 'Bin 36' concept, and thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zacosta Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zacosta Villa Hotel

Address: Xenofontos 23 | Medieval City, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zacosta Villa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Villa Hotel consisiting of one suite and two rooms with a graphic courtyard, set in a quiet neighbourhood of the Medieval City. A charming establishment where the traditional has been blended with the luxurious. This together with the unique atmosphere of the Medieval City will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Zacosta Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zacosta Hotel Rhodes Town
Zacosta Villa Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zacosta Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.