We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Panorama Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Panorama Hotel Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Parthenopis Str | Kamirou Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a shame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We got a fantastic budget price for a late deal but got exactly what we paid for - no self catering equipment good job I am an experienced camper and was prepared - we asked for a saucepan to boil eggs for breakfast and they needed it back before 3.30 to do evening meals!!! Obviously they are not equiped neither.
We had the Sunday lunch in restuarant which was OK. JUST.
Every member of staff were friendly at first until they realised we actually wanted to go out and sample other bars and restuarants then they ignored us.
We always went back to Bar at night and Joy the Irish girl serving was the best thing about the place. She was a pleasure to meet and talk to.
The local area you had to walk through to get to town was uneven pavements with dog muck all over , once in town all OK. The walled old town is a fantastic experience. Taxis are cheap, dont recommend walking back once darkish as have to look where you are walking and lots of stray dogs around.

Room Tip: DO NOT book studios - insist on Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    24
    17
    15
See reviews for
20
49
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I think some of the reviews on here are very misleading as is the hotel description
Just returned after a week and I have to say our studio room 208 was just awful. We were led to the back annexe and had to pass grubby wasteland and dirty mattresses to get there. We were then pointed in the direction of a steep flight of concrete steps and told our room was up there
When we opened the door we were very very disappointed.
It was a dingy room with a sink in it. That's the only way I can describe it. For self catering it was very poorly equipped. Virtually a couple of side plates a pan and a bit of cutlery. So if you're intending using this as self catering forget it.
The shower room - or wet room was a joke - it was like a swimming pool after a shower as the water did not drain away and most mornings there was no hot water.
Our balcony was absolutely filthy. It had caked in dirty spillages that had obviously been there a long time and same for the table.
After five days and it still being the same we actually threw pans of water over it to try soak some of the dirt away. The cleaner obviously got the hint and mopped it that day. Though quite effortlessly it seemed as it was still dirty.
These rooms are in serious need of attention.
The tv didn't work either it was just a green screen with sound.
We had to pay 49 euros for the air con for a week and 20 euros for the safe. Way over the top really when you consider what you may pay in superior accommodation.
Breakfast was tinned. Sausages mushrooms and tomatoes all from tins and served cold on one occasion. We only ate twice in hotel. Having said that we tried the Chinese one evening and that was pretty good.
The hygiene in the servery is something that needs attention too
Chef smoking behind the servery and another cook smoking with a dirty ashtray on the counter.
Waitress constantly wiping sweat from her face and brow with bare hands and then handling salad and bread without washing them.
There was no atmosphere at night and the drinks were expensive. Five euros for a spirit with a mixer. It was no cheaper than town even on the food side so we went out every night.
The pool was very clean and the pool area and also the staff were all very pleasant.
When you go out of the panorama it is in a residential area which is a bit grubby. Rubbish everywhere and dog foul on the pavements and some abandoned cars.
It's a good 30minute walk to mandraki harbour and the old town and 45 minute walk to the nearest beach.
It's 5 euros to both these areas by taxi. Best to order it from hotel rather than wait at the taxi rank at the bottom of the hill
It is quite a distance to the bars restaurants and tavernas of the new and old town.
But worth getting out of the hotel.
Would I return to the panorama
NO.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in craven
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks because we wanted to be close to the town centre(only 30 minutes walk) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We stayed in the annexe,the room was clean but basic, beds and towels were changed every day.The self catering facilities left a lot to be desired so we ate at the hotel,the food was excellent,reasonably priced and plenty of choice.Taxis and Elena work non stop and seem to be ever present.All staff especialy the lady on reception and the one at breakfast were friendly and helpful.Joy behind the bar always had time for a chat and asked every day what we had done.Just a word of warning,make sure in the cafes that you see the menu before ordering,we ordered a small beer and frappie in the old town-cost 14 euro

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 weeks there, only problem was we were in 212 apartment clean but really needs revamp. Bathroom was below par but clean. Food and drinks are ideal and staff /cleaners etc superb. Joy in bar was excellent and the owners fun jokes and daft banter made out holiday . We did ask for upgrade to hotel as that is what we thought we booked but 200 euro fee we declined yet all others were offered foc. Husband took bad but staff were exc in helping us. Just a little too far from Rhodes town but if u want to chill it is ideal. Met great people and only got home at 2am into ncl but Benson and I had good break in all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from Rhodes and Panorama hotel/apartments. Firstly the apartments are run by Taxis, Elena and their extended family. The whole family are great and obviously want you to have a good time. The staff are lovely too and nothing is too much trouble. The meals are Excellent and the portions substantial to say the least!! We shared a starter as they were so huge. The calamari is fantastic, fresh well cooked and again plentiful. The fresh fish is superb. There is also an option of Chinese food and again this is superb. We would not normally eat in the place we stay but it was so good we did. I cannot praise the cleanliness of the rooms enough, clean towels every day and clean sheets too. One thing to be aware of is the different standards of rooms between the annexe and the main hotel, same high standard of housekeeping but the accommodation in the main hotel is superior. We thought we had booked the hotel as the advertising does not make it clear there there is an annexe. If you request a move to the main block there is normally a charge of 100 euros. That said we were quite happy with our accommodation in the annexe until a rowdy gang of lads moved in below us. AND I MEAN ROWDY!!! They were Norweigean and taking full advantage of what to them was cheap alcohol think Taxis regretted taking them in, but good enough he moved us without payment into the hotel away from them when we complained. The distance from the main town is a fair old hike and for us slightly too far out. there isn't a lot of other things for tourists around the hotel either. To finish on a positive note we had a good time, were well looked after by this friendly family Despite the negativity I would give this hotel/ apartments a 4 rating due to it's friendliness, great housekeeping and fantastic food.

Room Tip: Make sure you know where your accommodation is, in the hotel or the annexe this not made clear when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Returned yesterday from a short stay in Rhodes for a family wedding. Booked for a very good price of £17 a night. For that price you would expect the apartments to be maybe substandard, but as we had no intentions of only using it for a bed that would have been fine. Instead we got a great welcome and fantastic stay, The restaurant and bar prices are very reasonable, 2.5 euros for a beer, 3.5 for house wine by the glass and nightly specials of fantastic local starting at around the 7 euro mark. Saturday night was fish noght and there was a huge choice for 10 euros a head.

We where in room 110 on the ground floor leading straight onto the pool area, A reasonable comfort apartment with no complaints on cleanliness. Towels are changed daily and the housemaid would arrange the towels in many different figures, the most impressive being a pair of swans holding a rose. A really nice touch you would only expect at a high end £100 plus hotel. Air con is available for fee but it was not really necessary for the time we where there. WiFi is 5 euros a day or you can bulk buy at a discount but again we never needed it.

All staff where excellent and during our stay we where lent a hairdryer for the stay and an iron when needed. Its also worth noting we requested a child cot for one night as we where on babysitting duties and this was also provided free of charge.

Location wise, its maybe a 10 min walk for local attractions but as we where short on time we taxied everywhere and never paid more that 5 euros for local trips. Ixia was the furthest we went to visit and the cost was 10 euros. Airport transfers by taxi where around the 20 euro mark.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

On arrival had a very warm welcome and felt comfortable and relaxed instantly. Only stayed for a few nights and everything was at hand and the accommodation was very clean. Staff were very chatty and I felt relaxed in the bar, especially as I was on my own. Nothing was too much trouble, excellent value for money and I will def be back in June for a visit. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel Apartments

Address: 41 Parthenopis Str | Kamirou Street, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panorama Hotel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Panorama Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Apartments Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.