We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theodoris is very hospitable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nireas

Nireas
Sofokleous 22, Rhodes Town, Greece
+30 2241 021703
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 234 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beautiful alfresco setting. Tucked away in a quiet square off the beaten track. Dine on fresh seafood and fresh vegetables (many of them organic) under a pergola overflowing with jasmine,honeysuckle, Bougainville and a 25 year old grapevine. The Tsikis Family is always happy to meet new guest and welcome back many return customers ( some that have been coming since the opening in 1989)!
Guilford
1 review
“Theodoris is very hospitable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Highly recommend this informal, family-run restaurant. Situated away from the hustle and bustle of Old Town Rhodes, but very accessible. We had a relaxed meal outdoors iin a shaded, garden-like atmosphere. The food was fresh and wonderful. Theodoris helped us with our selections and treated us to homemade limoncello. Great afternoon dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    97
    41
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This family run place is tucked away from the honky tonk crowds. The food is just to our liking. Yes, it is seasonal but it is worth going a little away from the crowd to have some of the best sea food on the island. It is one of Rhodes special places with a Rutgers connection, believe it or not. If you are in town and looking to eat without the rush and crowds Nireas is where you should go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perevilain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Return to a gastro heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Last year we ate our last meal of the holiday here and this year it was our first - an early morning flight from Gatwick got us into Rhodes at 12 noon and we headed straight to Nireas for a long lazy lunch before catching our evening ferry. Theo and his wife are so very welcoming and the food is just delicious - and as one of us is a veggie its great for them too. The home-made pastries just melt in the mouth - just magic. For a combination of friendly welcome, great food cooked in a stylish but uncomplicated way then this is simply the best - lovely setting too.
And the puddings - are just mouth-watering!!!
Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“heavenly fresh fish that hasn't been messed about with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We only managed to eat at Niraeus twice unfortunately. On both occasions we enjoyed excellent really fresh grilled fish (mullet, bream, dorade, whitebait). It was not messed about with or covered with sauces, just accompanied by a delicious lemon and olive oil dressing. Friendly staff and good service, too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best In Rhodes Town !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is the restaurant to visit in Rhodes Town !
Theo the owner, extends the warmest of welcomes and is front of house service at it's very best.
The fish and seafood is of the best possible quality, cooked simply and superbly.
We go back year after year !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nireas also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Nireas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nireas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.