We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness and good price, rare in Old Town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Kostas

Taverna Kostas
Pythagora 62 | Old Town Rhodes, Rhodes Town, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 225 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Verona, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Kindness and good price, rare in Old Town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Located in a very quiet street in Old Town, this taverna is run by a very warm-welcoming family, and is a very traditional and "real greek" cuisine, difficult to find in the very very touristic Old Town. The food is good, and very important, very good prices, and the fact that most clients were greek says it all. I do recommend a nice, simple, warm, home-cooking dinner there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    75
    26
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“welcoming Greek Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

No customers when we arrived at 5:30."Are you open?"...."No....yes".Hello Kosta!.We chose a table in the front of the restaurant and Kosta came straight over--now i know why we came here!We searched to find Kostas after seeing the reviews on trip advisor .There were 2 bikes tucked to one side' a kiddie trike on the other;i see he likes birds nests ..me too.Then it clicks in,I feel like i am at home, theres an essence of Kosta and his family here.He did all the cooking,and delicious it is too--He is very attentive about what you would like.He adds up the bill in his head,it seems so much for the price! This is a place for genteel people or people with soul--If you dont "get it" you never will.Curious?Try it--Its a tasty,soulful,experience. Thankyou KOSTA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The food was delicious, the staff is friendly. It's a really authentic Greek experience, we found it amazing. They've given us a glass of special honey rum when we left, they're really nice people :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A little off the beaten track of the old town restaurant run, this lovely place was the most authentic restaurant we visited. I ordered grilled sword fish and my partner had pork kebabs and they were both delicious. The service was friendly and the atmosphere lovely and relaxed. For a more authentic dining experience with lovely food and value for money, I would highly recommend visiting this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were greeted with a really friendly man who smiled the entire time he took our order and served us. We were there early, but a crowd formed fast. The moussaka was amazing! It took a long time to come out of the kitchen, but for how fresh and delicious it was, we didn't mind. Dolmathes were pretty good, and we also liked the oven vegetables. Popular spot around 9pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kostas also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Taverna Kostas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Kostas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.