We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional Greek taverna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Kostas

Taverna Kostas
Pythagora 62 | Old Town Rhodes, Rhodes Town, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 224 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Greek taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had read about this little gem on tripadvisor so were determined to find it. We had to ask in a little shop but once you know the street name its easy, just keep going up the little road even when you think you must have passed it and suddenly there it is.
Its a lovely family run establishment, very traditional and the staff are so pleasant. The lovely man who runs it took our order and greeted us like old friends even though it was our first time there.
The food was perfectly cooked and we all enjoyed our choices, the Greek salad was one of the nicest I have had and the Moussaka was wonderful. All in all a lovely relaxing family meal. We will definately return to Rhodes hopefully next year and come here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    75
    26
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best traditional taverna in Rhodes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We come to Rhodes every year , and every year we impatiently wait for dinner in Kostas taverna . Nobody insist You should come inside ( as in other tavernas) , food is prepared and served by grandpa Kostas himself and its simply is excellent ...His tzatziki , SAGANAKI , Imam are best in town ....Keep strong , Kostas - next year we will come for dinner again :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very traditional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Very authentic type traditional taverna.

Atmospheric & very cheap.

Worth a look, but not going to set world on fire.

Very nice people who run it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had the sovlaki feta and the dolmades as starters. They were very good. Then mussels and chicken skewers as the main course. Delicious. I'm regretting not trying the Greek yoghurt with honey for dessert. The service was good and probably what can be described as Greek in the meaning relaxed. The atmosphere is nice with no matching cutlery and weird little details like a rubber ducky in a cabinet. The owner - and cook - is a nice old man with a grandfather vibe that mixed up languages and just wants to please everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Limited choice and hard to find”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

In the dark this taverna would be very difficult to find, as we wondered where it was in the day light. The cafe owners on the same street assisted us and told us to continue walking. When where we least expected it, there it was. We had a look inside, looked a little dark and dingy in the dark. The menu wasn't appealing and my husband didn't like the look of anything on offer. We decided to avoid this Taverna too..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kostas also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Taverna Kostas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Kostas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.