We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Lipsi

Island Lipsi
18 Agisandrou | Old Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
22410 33903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 224 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Raufoss
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came here twice during our stay. Ordered the Mixed Grill for two people both times, and was very satisfied with the meal. You get alot of food on the plates and you won't leave this place hungry.

Friendly staff as well and nice prices!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    77
    19
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade oregano pitta bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very pleasant family run restaurant in Rhodes old town. Very cool place to enjoy lunch, the main indoor restaurant is air-conditioned and the outside area is covered.

The food was full of flavour and not drowned in oils or sauces. The pitta bread was excellent and went beautifully with the homemade tzatziki.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“traditional Greek fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A well established family owned business,which we have visited each time (at least once) ,that we have stayed in Rhodes and paid a visit to the old quarter of Rhodes town. Always had good service,they are always busy,and sensibly priced ,compared with the junk food which is served ,overpriced and by many non Greek staff in the Square of Rhodes town.
Many older travellers will be aware of the general rule to avoid large squares and eat where the locals eat. Island Lipsi certainly fits the bill,even down to the old tradition of providing something free ( usually a desert) after your meal. Have a try you will enjoy.

usually a desert )

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“80's food, over rated & overpriced. Tourist Trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have no idea why there are so many good reviews on this place - We had a TERRIBLE experience which started of pretty good with a staff that seemed energetic and kind. Soon we found out it is all a fake act, with the owner "pushing" over priced dishes - 28 EUR for a 400 gr fish, claiming it is 800 gr or more, then yelling at us for trying to claim it is much lower.
We waited 40 min for our starters which were terrible, the fish was dry and small and they even tried to sneak us an extra 12 EUR to the bill. did I say Terrible? i mean it.
Stay Away!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Greek food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Situated on Agisadrou street, Island Lipsi is a family run restaurant that does not disappoint. We ordered the gyros plate with chips and salad; we also ordered a large plate of tzatsiki and olives to complement our meal. The pita bread was light and crisp, grilled not fried. Great hospitality and free wifi too. Would definitely come back here. Niki you are an excellent hostess. Opa! Oh and by the way, the restaurant is in a seven hundred year old building in Rhodes

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Lipsi also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Island Lipsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Lipsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.