We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koykos Cafe

Koykos Cafe
Nikiforou Mandilara 24-28 | New Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
22410 73022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 208 restaurants in Rhodes Town
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This must be one of my favourite places in Rhodes to chill out. The food is good and very reasonably priced. The setting, decor and atmosphere I can't fault. I will be returning next time on the island as I have done on my last 3 holidays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    221
    135
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“good place for a tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice food trad, nothing to special but with good quality and prices. Would go another time for something local.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great mezethes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very good Greek food in a lovely setting. Not only is the food good but all the different areas inside make you feel like you're part if an intimate space. We sat in the central courtyard and ordered 5 meze dishes and a bottle of wine and we had food left over. It was also very reasonably priced. The Imam (eggplant) was outstanding as well as the lamb leg (only 10 euro) and the pork with tomato and spices. Everything was delicious. The staff were very good and gave us a free glass of 'Masticha' at the end. Definitely reccommend this one.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herentals, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed eating in this original and authentic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The concept of mezze cafe Koykos is much like a traditional Spanish traditional tapas-bar, with local food in small portions, so you can try a lot of local dishes. The choice of dishes was way better than the 'tourist restaurants'.
The atmosphere inside the house and outside on the terrace is excellent. Relaxed, but lively.

We really enjoyed eating in this original and authentic place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a relaxed break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great service, interesting meze menu. Best Greek coffee in Rhodes :-) Very different form all the other tavernas and cafes, probably belongs more to the Old Town, but it's in the new town, and very decent prices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koykos Cafe also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Koykos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koykos Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.