We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Alexandridou 14, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My friend and myself had a great time there.The place is really special, and the staff are very kind and helpful; Alex, Karl and Dunkan. Everything is special, I remember the sound of the breeze moving the trees in the " patio " and coming into the room trough the window...
Excellent rooms!! I wish we could stay longer and read the books they have in the relaxing garden....
Love the breakfast and the cats.
I've been really happy there!!!!! If you want a place to remember, this is the place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
266
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay in Spirit of the Knight in Rhodes on our 25th Wedding Anniversary trip. It ended up being the best location we stayed in on our entire vacation. The only thing missing is a view, but they make up for it with location, charm, elegance, and history. And after a day of sightseeing, shopping, or exploring the Old Town, sitting in the garden patio enjoying a nice glass of wine or using the jacuzzi was just what we needed. The staff is both attentive and knowledgeable, and each one of them made our vacation better. Thank you, Alex, Kyle, and Duncan!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We could not have found a more perfect base from which to explore the fascinating island of Rhodes. The Spirit of the Knights is an exceptional place to stay, not just for the stunning building, so beautifully restored and furnished, but also for its very special owners, the Marshall family. Felicity is acknowledged as being the driving force behind the creation of the hotel from its previous ruinous state. The day to day running of the hotel is managed by Alex, the perfect host, who pays great attention to detail and for whom nothing seems too much trouble. He is ably supported by his wife Lena (who produces superb breakfasts), brother Kyle, and brother in law, the delightful Duncan. Service is attentive but not intrusive, with advice about restaurants, transport, places to visit, including the services of an excellent local guide, readily available. The beautiful courtyard garden provides a perfect setting in which to relax with a glass of chilled white wine after a hot day exploring the Old Town or further afield. The two weeks were over far too soon. This was without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and one of our best holidays. We were very sad to leave both the island and the company and care of such special people, including Earl Grey, the resident cat. Thank you all.

Room Tip: The Pasha Suite has its own hammam. A great way to recover from the heat of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were delighted to arrive at our accommodation Spirit of the Knights Hotel after a boat ride from Turkey to busy port of Rhodes. The minute we walked into the courtyard of the Hotel we relaxed, it is just beautiful .
We were greeted by Alex who is very professional and helpful. Took us to our beautifully decorated and delightful room to relax.
Breakfast was just perfect in the sunny courtyard and Alex makes the best Gin and Tonic at Happy Hour to calm the nerves after the adventure of the day.
Therese and Rudy Wildschut : Pam and John Farragher

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Spirit of the Knights hotel is situated within the walled city of Rhodes hidden away down the cobbled back alleys. We were met by Alex, one of the owners who escorted us to the hotel. The hotel is a wonderfully restored ancient building. Our room, the Knights Chamber was on the ground floor; furnished in keeping with the history of the building. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious and clean towels were provided each day. Breakfast was served each morning in the garden, fresh food was prepared to order and presented beautifully. Fresh Greek yogurt, fruit and honey – yumee………

The garden area was designed in such a way that as guests we could enjoy privacy but also have the opportunity to meet other guests. The garden courtyard was packed with plants and trees, was a sheltered and secluded a peaceful place to relax, enjoy a cold drink and enjoy the plunge pool and other water features. The house cat “Earl Grey” kept watch in a sleepy sort of way.

Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay in a fantastic environment. Alex and the team were extremely helpful doing everything possible to enhance our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We only had time to stay at the Spirit of the Knights Hotel for one night unfortunately but it is definitely a place where I would stay again. The customer service was excellent with one of the owner / family members meeting you where the taxi drops you off (outside the city walls as few vehicles are allowed inside). We were recommended a great restaurant and enough couldn't be done for us. Overall it was a lovely stay, albeit brief, but somewhere I would definitely go back to or recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We chose the Spirit of the Knights purely on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, and we're so glad we did! We spent 5 days here before going over to Turkey for a further week, and couldn't have asked for a better base to explore the old city of Rhodes. The hotel is a very sympathetically restored ancient building, with lovely rooms and public areas, but what makes this a very special place to stay is the family who own and run it. Alex, Kyle and Duncan were friendly, attentive and helpful, and couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome and looked after. From airport transfers to ferry bookings and extremely good restaurant recommendations, nothing was too much trouble, and it all worked beautifully.

The small garden with its water feature and plunge pool was a lovely place to return to after the chaos of Rhodes town, and as the hotel is hidden away among the backstreets and cobbled alleys, it was extremely peaceful: as there's a member of the family around 24/7, restorative cups of tea and glasses of (very good) house wine were always readily available! Breakfast is also served al fresco in the garden, and was the best hotel breakfast we've had for a very long time. Everything was super fresh and prepared to order, and the croissants really are as big as other reviewers have said - probably the only time in history that I haven't been able to finish one! The garden was also a very good place to meet and chat to other guests, and while we were there there were some extremely pleasant and interesting people from different parts of the world. (Not to mention Earl Grey, the very affable and laid back hotel cat!)

All in all, it's safe to say that none of the glowing reviews that Spirit of the Knights has received have been overstated. We hope to go back to Rhodes sometime, and certainly wouldn't bother looking for anywhere else to stay. Thank you, guys, for a most enjoyable break, and Lena for our wonderful breakfasts!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Address: Alexandridou 14, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.