We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Alexandridou 14, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 118 hotels in Rhodes Town
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Rhodes at The Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel late in July. Our holiday consisted of time in Paris in a great hotel, Athens in a great hotel, Marmaris in a good hotel and Santorini in an excellent hotel. However, none of these hotels approached the overall feel of The Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel.
As requested, we contacted the hotel by phone from our cab on the way from the airport. The manager instructed us to proceed to D'Amboise Gate, one of several gates to the Old Town. This is done because there are few cars allowed in the Old Town, due primarily to the extremely narrow alleys. As arranged from the cab, the manager met us at D'Amboise Gate. Our luggage transferred to a trolley and off we set to the hotel. This walk was refreshingly pleasant- along cobblestoned lanes, past several restaurants and cafe's, down narrow alleys, with Alex (the manager) giving us a brief history / background lesson as we went.
A five minute walk saw us to the hotel. It is finished beautifully. Alex invited us to sit in the garden to cool down and brought us a welcoming drink of our choice prior to official check in- this was not rushed, but left to us to say when we were ready. The grounds are manicured and serene. A large, raised pond / water feature in the centre cascades water around the entire garden setting. A jacuzzi on a raised platform looks inviting and would be most welcome on a hot day.
Following check in we were escorted upstairs, through the hotel lounge- a large, well decorated, airy room, in keeping with the theme. It is full of bookcases, lounge chairs, tables with chess sets and picture windows.
On to our room- the Rodos Suite. Happily surprised at the size, decoration, furnishings, layout... it was perfect. The bed was perfect- huge, high and adorned with soft, white linen and soft pillows. A large wardrobe alongside the bed also houses the safe.
The Rodos Suite also has a separate lounge room- with lounge, coffee table and television. As usual, maps, hotel and area information booklets are provided.
Bathroom is spacious and well appointed, with huge soft white towels.
All rooms were spotlessly clean.
Windows from all rooms have magnificent views of the garden or of the immense stone walls of the Fortress.
After a break to catch our breath, we met the night manager, Duncan. He kindly directed us to his recommended restaurant- Mama Sofia's. A great recommendation too. We ate there almost every day due to the excellent food and the warm friendly service.
Breakfast the following and proceeding mornings was excellent. Served in the garden, from an extensive menu. It was a pleasure to eat wonderfully prepared food in a relaxing environment.
For other meals, food can be ordered from several restaurants, but really there is no need as they are all near by and the walk through the ancient, cobblestoned alleys is pleasant.
As unprepared tourists, we had many questions regarding the area. These were all met by hotel staff with warmth and enthusiasm. There is a sense that they genuinely want you to have a good time and will do all they can to make sure this happens.
We left the Spirit of the Knights after three nights, absolutely satisfied.
However, due to a mishap, we found ourselves in need of a room four nights later. I called the hotel from Marmaris in Turkey to enquire about accommodation. The manager was most helpful and again, 3 hours or so and a ferry ride later, we found ourselves being escorted from D'Amboise Gate to the Spirit of the Knights. This time we were accommodated in The Grand Masters Suite. Another great room, again beautifully decorated and appointed.
In short- The Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. This hotel has that 'take your breath away' punch to it- albeit a gentle, relaxing punch. This hotel has that feeling of warmth about it that you will always remember.
In addition to all this, during our stay I received a great deal of help from Alex with a couple of important issues. His assistance with this was well beyond that to which a hotel manager would normally extend. This was done with such ease and "No trouble at all." As one friend would help another.
The Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel is one outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this hotel- they are all outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
231
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel has a beautiful tranquil environment in walking distance to the main area of shops and restaurants in the old town. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the beds and pillows are divine. The renovated bathrooms are great and the products supplied by the hotel are of good quality. The hotel staff were friendly and warm and made us feel very welcome. A very yummy Breakfast is served in the garden area every morning with a good selection of food and good coffee. The hotel exceeded all expectations and made our stay in Rhodes a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently stayed for a week at The Spirit of the Knights Hotel and enjoyed every minute of our holiday. What sets this hotel apart is the quality and individuality of the service. The family who run it are very friendly and professional and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast is served in the beautiful courtyard garden and is all freshly prepared and cooked to order. The garden is also a lovely place to relax in after a day of walking and sightseeing, with its tranquil pools and exotic plants. A cocktail by the pool is highly recommended. The hotel is located in a very quiet street but is only a few minutes walk from many bars, restaurants and the attractions of Rhodes old town. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We recently stayed at The Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel in the old town of Rhodes.We are a family of 5 and all snuggled comfortably in one of the stunning suites.The location is perfect, being right in the old town and in walking distance to fabulous restaurants and surrounded by history.The family who run the hotel were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make the stay very comfortable and enjoyable.The hotel is very quiet and the grounds are quaint and atmospheric.The breakfasts were very generous and very delicious.We look forward to our return and will definitely be staying at the Spirit of Knights Boutique Hotel.Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed three nights and enjoyed a most wonderful and relaxing experience. The family who run the hotel couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable. Inside the walls of the old town of Rhodes, away from the bustle of the modern town, we experienced a delightful, calm and peaceful environment. Upon request, dinner was brought in for us at no extra charge and we were able to enjoy a very pleasant evening in a most serene atmosphere. Thank you so much to Alex and Duncan who really made our holiday special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Spirit of the Knights Hotel is a unique hotel experience. The hotel only has a few rooms and is hidden away in the old town of Rhodes. Service levels are outstanding. Breakfast is extensive and delicious. The courtyard is pretty and calm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The British family who have restored this hotel have done an excellent job and provide a high-quality service. The rooms have been sympathetically restored, with real historical interest. The bed was extremely comfortable: Coco-Mat beds are a brilliant Greek invention! We visited in the winter, so spent more time in the hotel than we might have in the summer, so noticed more the emphasis on aesthetics rather than comfort, eg in seating and lighting. Breakfast was very good and individually prepared. Because the family employs no locals and the visitors were (when we were there) all foreign, there was an international rather than Greek atmosphere. Some may actually prefer this, others might feel they're missing something.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Address: Alexandridou 14, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#4 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.