We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodos Sun

Save Saved
You added Rodos Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rodos Sun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aegea Street, Faliraki, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 hotels in Faliraki
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very friendly and helpful team of Nick, Myra, George manage these apartments excellently. The rooms are basic but kept very clean and air-con works very well. Clientele (late July) mainly groups of girls and lads, well managed by Nick and all very friendly - hello to Somerset lads from my wife and daughter!

Monday BBQ very good for food and socialising - followed by Nick leading a big group out afterwards. Just a suggestion but since main changeover day for Rhodes is Wednesday, perhaps BBQ could be moved to Thursday - would be even better for getting to know other guests.

Great location for buses to Rhodes town and Lindos - both must be visited. Tip for Lindos - on way back down from Acropolis take a left when path splits and go into 1st main bar on your left - go upstairs to a roof top plunge pool - fantastic after the heat of the walk - obviously have a beer as well.

See you again soon.

Room Tip: Order air-con in July!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    18
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spent a week here in May 2012 with our 3 year old and were made to feel really welcome by Nick & Alexia, who couldn't do enough for us! They were both really friendly and helpful recommending places to go, where to get buses etc and where to eat (would highly recommend Manolis & Pete's eats). The room was basic but had everything we needed and plenty of space even with 3 beds. Hotel was always clean and tidy, including pool and pool area and the rooms are cleaned (with clean sheets and towels) every couple of days.

The Rodos Sun is in a good location about 10mins from the main bar/club street and the beach so near enough to walk to but far enough away to avoid the noise. We were a bit concerned about taking a 3 year old to Faliraki but need not have worried as Nick manages to balance a mix of guests at the hotel (ranging from families, couples and groups) so that they all enjoy their stay. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Myra, Nick and George made us so welcome, like being introduced to new family. Rooms are basic, but spotless and costs are very reasonable. Very accommodating with a wealth of local knowledge and great to chat with. English breakfast is great value (as is the rest of the menu) and Nick's cocktails are fab. The Monday eve bbq is great for socialising with the rest of the guests and great food too. The pool is lovely and cool and kept very clean.
The hotel is far enough away from town to be quiet with a short walk to the beach (can get very busy and the sand is too hot to walk on! Nice sea breeze when its hot though) and the nightlife.
Be sure to visit Manoli's and Petes Eats, great food, try kleftika, souvlaki and dolmides .. delicious.
Bus service is good, Rhodes old and new town a must to visit, as is Lindos. Beautiful town, great beach (take your swim gear), visit the acropolis, lots of walking. Water Park is great fun, take socks or flip flops, ground is too hot to walk on, also lots of sunscreen or take a tshirt.
All in a brilliant holiday, made excellent by the family welcome. Would definitely recommend (not just for party goers!) and would definitely go back.
Thank you Nick, Myra and George.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I spent a week here 19th - 26th July 2012 and found Nick, Myra & George to be very warm and friendly. The room (308) was basic but clean and tidy, we never had a problem getting a sun bed and the "Bar Snack Food" was very good value for money.

During our stay, not only were the owners friendly but we found that all the guests were as well. We had one of our best holiday's ever at the Rodos Sun and will be back again next year.

Holiday information: These apartments are about a 10 - 15 Minute walk to the "Bar Street" area and Beach.

Room Tip: Room 308 has a Sea View (In the distance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Myself and 6 of my mates aged between 19-22 stayed for 7 nights starting the 5th of july... Safe to stay we were quite a rowdy bunch but nick was understanding and even came out down bar street after the monday night bbq.. The bbq is 10 euro and is absolutely lovely... Well worth the money. Rooms were ok beds were comfy and the showers were hot :) the pool is well looked after as are all the guests who stay there... If you looking for a friendly atmosphere this is definately the place for you. No matter what your age!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'll start by saying.... FANTASTIC......
Rodos Sun is basic,clean and has the friendliest staff in Rhodes. We booked a weeks holiday to catch up on the things that we didn't do when we got married 6 years ago and wanted somewhere clean. We are mid forties and booked Falaraki 23rd June-30th June we were a little nervous about the possibility of getting no sleep but after using Trip advisor we decided to trust the reviews and booked.
We contacted Nick to request a top level room and we got it. Nick,George and Mari were so helpful.... I collected the wrong suitcase at the airport..... after several phone calls by Nick we headed back to the airport and 40 mins later were on our way back to Rodos Sun with the right case.
The rooms are very clean, basic no shower curtain but no problem the bathrooms are designed on a wet room basis. Recommend take a kettle if you like to drink coffee and tea. Other than that everything was there that was needed for basic food preparation. Air Con a must 42 euros for the week. Oh don't forget toilet roll but then there are supermarkets and you can get a pack of 4 for 1.50.
The area the hotel is based is quiet and far enough away from the main street (Bar Street) takes about 10 mins to walk.
We were never disturbed by the younger one's in the apartments. Nick did his best to make sure all were quiet..... even us reprobates turning in at 04:00 after a night down bar street!!!! I'm sure Nick only sleeps for 2 hrs a day and always smiling.
No problem getting a sun bed if you wanted one.... we spent most days on Tsambiki beach.
Monday BBQ nights are a must. Food is great and killer pool ......yes we died.... is a great way to show your snooker skills. Monday nights in the Rodos sun are the best to meet others in the apartments ..... and yes there were couples our age..... card bingo is great fun as well.
We had a car and went to Lindos the acropolis is 6 euros to get in the views from the top are fantastic if you time it late afternoon you'll catch the weddings in St Paul's bay. Bit of a conveyor belt scene but with temperatures reaching 45 degrees + getting out of the heat is a must. We married there in May 2006.
Would definitely return to Rodos Sun and have already recommended it to our kids ( 19,20 and 24).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Let me start off by saying the Rodos Sun is not the ritz. The rooms are very basic and have no toaster, tv or kettle.
If you decide on a stay there it might be wise to take a kettle with you.
The hotel itself though is spotless, the room are a good size, the gardens are well maintained, the staff are very friendly and there is a nice relaxed atmosphere around the pool area during the day.
The hotel is situated just far enough away to enjoy a good nights sleep but close enough to some lovely restaurants and the bustling nightlife of faliraki's bar street and club street.
It is only a ten minute walk to the sandy beach and only a couple of minutes walk to the supermarkets or the nearest bus stop that will get you to lindos or rhodes town.
I will definitly stay at this hotel again so if you are looking for value for money then the Rodos Sun could be for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodos Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Sun

Address: Aegea Street, Faliraki, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Faliraki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
#7 Family Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Sun 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Rodos Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Sun Faliraki, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodos Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.