We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday but some things really let it down.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cyprotel Faliraki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cyprotel Faliraki to your Saves list
Cyprotel Faliraki
Faliraki 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Faliraki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday but some things really let it down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on Thursday 18th very early in the morning. Check in was simple and within 15 mins we were in our room. First impressions weren't great we had supposedly been given a 'family room' which was a shoe box with 4 beds side by side in it! My husband opened the bathroom door to tiles falling off. He reported this straight away and it was 'fixed' the next day! The room didn't cause us a problem as we only sleep and shower in there so we could live with it. However the room was clean and clean bedding and towels 6 out of 7 days.
This hotel is very very busy and you have to queue for everything at mealtimes unless you get there for breakfast early and dinner opening. They often ran out of plates,glasses and cutlery so u had to queue for those too. The food was lovely always a variety. The unlimited ice cream was great for us all especially my daughter who ate her own body weight in ice cream!
Drinks were good although they did however run out of spirits twice while we were there. Not good on all inclusive!
The pools were brilliant 3 different ones and the waterpark which our kids 10 and 7 loved. We can't fault these at all. However if u wanted a sunbed at all never mind a decent one you had to take your towels down at the crack of dawn and I mean very very early!! The swim up bar is not actually a swim up bar as u have to get out of the pool to get served! But still a nice feature. Water park lifeguards are brilliant really really friendly and are great with the kids. The entertainment staff are lovely always trying to get everyone involved in fact all of the staff were lovely really friendly. The snack bar is good not too busy upstairs is less so.
The entertainment was very poor although we only attend once it was enough not to go back. We stayed in main bar which has a games room that cost 1-2 euros each however the kids constantly wanted euros and neither reception nor the little shop had any!
The hotel is about 20 mins walk from beach which is a nice walk or a train comes outside hotel every day at 10am and collects at 4pm for free!!!
My husband and son booked a Scuba diving trip at a cost of 100euros however after arriving at coach collection point at 7.15am he was told coach is full and he cannot get on it so to book taxi and keep receipts. All of this was done and when my husband approached the rep he was told "that's weird" and to come bk on Monday and she would refund him. Monday came but we were only refunded 1 way as apparently they could of got on coach on way back.....no one told him that. He was told coach was full so u would presume it was full there and back. I brought this up with rep but we have returned home with no full refund.
The coach to collect us arrived at 11.10pm for a 2.15am flight however when the rep got on the coach 2 hotels later she told us our flight was 2 hrs delayed! I wonder whether they could have delayed our pick up time as they knew this well in advance to save 4 hrs in Rhodes airport with 2 very
tired children. Possibly???

Summary
Overall the hotel is average with some fantastic features, great staff, lovely food and we had a very enjoyable holiday. The weather was amazing and Rhodes is a beautiful island.
I don't think I would stay at this hotel again and will def not book with Thomas Cook again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    107
    67
    56
    38
See reviews for
209
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

On arriving at the cyprotel, we where given a map and key and sent off to find our room which took us over an hour to find as there are hardly any lights or sign posts around, we arrived late at night which made it stressful with kids and a big hill to hike up to where we found our room. We asked to move nearer the facilities as we had a pushchair, all we keep getting is we need to ask tomorrow. We went to the bar and asked if there was something that the kids could eat on arriving as they were hungry and they presented us with a dried up cheese and ham sandwich one for each of us.
The dining room isn't big enough for the volume of people and we spent most evenings waiting and wondering round for a table as there were 8 of us. The table cloths are not changed from party to party and my 6 year old daughter thought it was rather interesting watching the ants crawling up the wall and around her feet.The food for a fortnight consisted of chips, carrots, pasta, salad and feta cheese and that was for both dinner and tea, ABSOTUTELY APPALLING. Food and drink constantly running out and having to wait a least 15 minutes even after telling staff that things are running out. You were lucky if u had a glass to put your drink in, a plate to put your food on or even cutlery to eat it with, demand to high. The staff are unfriendly and ignorant except staff on the water slides who made our holiday seem less terrible as they joined in with the kids and had a laugh with the adults, shame on the rest of the hotel staff who let them down. The manager is arrogant and unfriendly and made a comment to me that all the English are taking to many drinks of beer, saying to another guest I'll serve you after I've poured twenty five beers aiming his comment at me and being English, when I had asked for 4 at the time.
The entertainment at night was none existent expect for karaoke, bingo or and staff being made to put on cheap entertainment, consisting of walking on broken glass and putting a sword to his throat, Great for the kids to watch, I don't think. There is no seating area except in the amphitheatre so we had to resort to sitting on sun beds in the dark. Our rep was unhelpful in the fact I asked her how to complain and she said go to the notice board in reception to get a telephone number, like I'm going to ring from Greece to England are you mad?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Still here 7 days now no bedding change no towel change. 3 towels for 4 people, towels could walk out of the room by themselves!!! The manager although in the hotel Mr demetriou polys is refusing to come to reception. Please can I have new towels. Please can I have a knife fork plate and spoon to eat with. a glass to get a drink with. Room 3001

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a shambles, 4* dont think so!!!! if anyone likes to go on holiday and que que que and drink pop out of a wine glass and wine out of pop glass or even polystyrene ones at and eat your ceral out of a coffee mug, then this is the holiday for you other wise I would stay well clear.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just got back last night from staying at the Cyprotel.
Arrived just before midnight, easy check in and was allowed to go to the roof top bar for a sandwich and drink.Sandwich was dry just bread with a piece of cheese and ham on.

We stayed in room 3111, room was basic but clean.Tv was snowy and all foreign(only put on whilst getting changed for the evening so no big deal really)
Did have the cleaner walk in on us one morning before 10.30 am whilst we were naked.

Also on the all inclusive, no water in rooms daily you have to use the 2 bottles you have when you arrive and fill up in the restaurants

Pools and grounds lovely, although would recommend setting your alarm for 7am otherwise no chance of a sunbed- Take your own towels as not provided.
Pool round lunch restaurant area, clean and quiet

Main Pool, great children's large walk in area, going into a deeper end where volleyball and water polo is played.

Small water park area- didn't really visit this so cannot comment

No music played round the pool expect for maybe half an hour in the morning and whilst volleyball and water polo is played- Would recommend management look into this.

Mid morning snack restaurant around pool - as others have said, usually pizza - be prepared to queue -Fizzy drinks, coffee and beer available

Lunch Time - quite busy but we always found a table, - Salads with bread buns, pasta, usually chicken, occasional hotdogs and a few deserts

Evening Meal - Yes a lot of queuing, food not too bad, meat usually smoked , Men are allowed long shorts in the dining room.

Bars- Brochure showed pool bar, however this is incorrect, you had to get out the pool to be served, drinks very weak, not once did i feel tipsy and im not normally a drinker so you would expect to feel a bit merry.

Roof Top Bar- Very chilled , no music , balcony badly lit.

Reception - Nice , wifi very hit and miss, staff not really helpful. I booked the shower room for 5.20 as we were being picked up at 8, my partner went to see if towels were available to be told sorry you have not booked the room, after looking they found i had but the night staff had not passed the paperwork over and a new list was created.Woman on reception was rather rude saying no no this is the list
Asked if we could keep room on to be told bluntly NO

Entertainment/Animation Team very friendly tried to get people involved in all games and entertainment (night entertainment is mainly for the younger children)

Main strip in Faliraki is a 15-20 minute stroll away, usually good to visit with the family - the madness usually started after midnight.
There is a McDonalds at the end of the strip also a TGI Fridays, which does amazing food, especially the mixed grill for two

All in All - Ideal for families with very small children who want a quiet holiday with low key night life.
Over 12,s would be very bored unless on holiday with a group or make friends easily
Single sex groups - we didn't see any, other than one set of 5 boys who looked constantly bored
Couples with no children, ideal as a base , quiet pool but Faliraki just on the doorstep

Sun lotions - Make sure you take plenty as very expensive out there, Ombre Solaire a fiver in our stores (on offer) there expect to pay 16-20 Euro

Would we go back there? Possibly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at the Cyprotel Faliraki from 6-17 July.

First impressions at reception were ok - went from there to main bar on second floor and found this very dated and basic. Music system would be beneficial as there is no atmoshphere at all.

Went for breakfast next morning and it was chaos - as other reviews state there is one hot food station and this is nowhere near enough. We only went for breakfast on 2 other occaions after this - just not worth the hassle.

Lunch at the snack bar is fine - upstairs tends to be quieter and cooler.

Dinner again we found to be ok - but difficult to time this in order to get a decent table and not have to queue - takes ages to get round all the dishes - I ended up eating what was on my plate in the queue half the time!

More plates and glasses are badly needed - some plates have 'Columbia hotel resorts' printed on them, which i believe is at least 2 owners ago!! And the lack of glasses as other reviewers say means they are boiling hot straight from dishwasher and do nothing to help keep drinks cool - soft drinks themselves were of poor quality from the machines, and the wine although pleasant was definitely watered down.

The snack bar is a big let down - very limited choice - never enough pizza for the queue of people waiting, but then is there really any need for people to take 12 or so slices and leave none for the people behind?

The rooms were ok and of a decent size but oh my god they need to get sheets that fit the beds! Did not have one comfortable sleep because of getting tangled in sheets that were far too small!

Bathroom is very small and prone to serious flooding when the shower is used!

We sat by the waterpark most days - Hatem and Akis are lovely - really go out of their way to get to know the guests and ensure a good and safe time is had by all - my 2 kids loved them! No toilets at waterpark area though ....

Animation team try their best on the resources they have really .... and the seating area at the pool bar is just tiny and cannot accommodate even a fraction of the guests.

Overall the hotel needs a level of investment from the onwers in order to create a more comfortable and relaxing experience for guests,

We have been on several other all inclusive holidays in Greece in the last 5-6 years and all were of much better quality than this for the same star rating (with Thomson and First Choice) - although having said that to return to similar this year would have cost us substantially more than this one - so I suppose you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

How on earth thomas cook rate this hotel as 4 stars I will never know, could barely scrape 3 together. Good points, pool areas & grounds are nice, staff are very pleasant. Other than that everything is done on the cheap, cheap & nasty. Meals are diabolical, roasting hot glasses straight from dishwasher, running out of cutlery, limited choice and poor quality of what is offered, canteen environment, poor & constantly breaking drinks machine. Evening entertainment is terrible, non existent, nothing for children to do other than the 'games room'. The pool bar is open at night with about 6 dirty tables to sit at other than that there is the bar, which has same atmosphere as a bus waiting room. No music, no effort made for guests to enjoy & remain at the bar. There is an outdoor area that is used for the rotten lunches, they should use this in the evening but probably don't as they would need to staff this area. While we were there last week, they ran out of water, wine, beer & constantly ran out of fizzy, cheap juice . Also they do not supply pool towels. Snacks are served throughout day in lunch area, but watch for the crush of people to join the margaritas pizza queue, other snack are plain biscuits & cakes, oh & stale sandwiches. We were hoping to be allocated one of the revamped rooms, no such luck, decor dating from the early 70,s with pillows & mattress that felt from the 70,s. Standard joke round the pool was did these rooms actually exist?. I realise this is very negative but I have been all inclusive on 3 other occasions and was shocked by how little the cyprotel had to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyprotel Faliraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyprotel Faliraki

Address: Faliraki 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cyprotel Faliraki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprotel Columbia Hotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyprotel Faliraki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.