We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel friendly end october 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orion Hotel to your Saves list
Orion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Kallithea Avenue, Faliraki 85105, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Faliraki
Rhodes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good hotel friendly end october 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

very friendly personnel; swimmingpool outside still open; we got a better room (with kitchinette and view on swimmingpool) than we payed for. Halfboard was good, but no buffet because only 6 tourists end october.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    44
    25
    7
    13
See reviews for
34
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ηράκλειο, Ελλάδα
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A few words isn't enough to describe my stay in Orion hotel...the family owners Paul Maria George in the snack bar make us feel like home !!! The homemade home was amazing and very tasty...I eat the every day ....the pool was really nice!!! Is only 5 minutes away from the beach and 10 minutes from faliraki center...there is also a supermarket close to the hotel...recommended !!!! I will stay for sure next summer !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived in the morning about 0500 , and when we arrived we got a message from the man in the lobby that our room wouldn`t be ready until 0900, even though we actually paid for the night before and 12 days after. About 2 hours later the owner arrived and told us that they we`re overbooked and we needed to stay on another hotel. After I talked to the travel agency that we booked it from we finally got a room, and we lost a hole day already. BUT, instead of the 2 rooms that we booked we only got 1. We got half of our money back, but the rest of the stay was uncomfortable because we felt that we had pressured us in to a room that actually was our in the first place. NEVER going back. And will tell all my friends and family that they should stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recommend this lovely hotel to everyone. Outstanding extra service on all fronts.
Staff will make you feel welcome and they are very friendly.
All facilities clean and well kept. If you have a question or problem it's quickly solved.
Nice breakfast and good dinners, also a la carte for different choice if you wish.
The hotel bar is very cosy, they serve all brands of drinks and the cocktails are delicious.
Very good value for your money.

Room Tip: rooms at the backside are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself hubby and son and friends had a truely wonderful break at this hotel. A lovely lady took us to our room.The food is fabulous in both restaurant and pool bar. The staff are all so smiley and lovely all the time.. Excellent with children..the pool is fab and always sun beds. Clean and big room :0) cant wait to return here. Its in a great location near main shopping area,bars and beach. A perfect family break :0)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Pre-booked and paid two months in advance, with full confirmation of the hotel booking received. However on our arrival on Wednesday night we were met by the owner of the hotel, who explained the hotel was fully booked and we would have to stay at another hotel further away from the resort. We were promised by the owner that we could come back to the Orion on Friday. Friday came and went and we were informed that we would have to stay until Saturday, On Saturday the owner of the hotel informed us that there was still no room and couldn't confirm when we could go to the Orion, admitting it was his fault and that he was solely to blame. "Sorry" was the only pathetic excuse he could come up with. We were not the only ones caught up in this situation, at least another four sets of guests were also messed around like this on our arrival and this was the trend throughout our stay.
Due to the unreliability of the Orion and its owner and the fact we were only on holiday for a week, we took up the kind offer of the Mon Repos Hotel which we had been forwarded to and stayed the rest of the week there to minimize our disruption and disappointment.
This is the first review I have ever written and firmly believe you get out of your holiday what you put into it. However to see the disappointment on the faces of the other people and children being messed around, on what should be a special time I feel deserves a true reflection on how this hotel and it's owner operates "no remorse" at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had prepaid our stay at the hotel and still they did not have a room for us. We had to stay the first night at another low-quality hotel. The same happened also to other visitors. To compensate this, owner of Orion Hotel promised free breakfast for our stay (it's not included in the room price). Half-way through our stay, the owner contacted us and told that he only meant one breakfast and we would need to pay the rest. After a long fight, we were able to settle this with other hotel staff, because the owner did not speak much English. The whole case was handled in very unfriendly manner and that ruined one day of our vacation.

We had cockroaches in our room. Also, kitchen appliances in our room were not working, and they were not fixed during the whole week, although reception promised so. The rooms are quite noisy - we had party people next door and were waken up at 4 a.m. many times.

The only thing we can recommend is the pool and pool restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Address: Kallithea Avenue, Faliraki 85105, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Orion Hotel is in a prime location fronting onto Kallithea Avenue (Club Street) in the popular resort of Faliraki on the beautiful Aegean island of Rhodes. Situated in extensive grounds the Orion offers clean comfortable accommodation in a tranquil location whilst being on the door-step of Faliraki's fabulous Blue-Flag beach, shops and night-life. The pretty harbour is just a 10 minute walk away, from where ferries operate to Rhodes and Lindos, and boat trips and excursions depart.The hotel offers a warm Greek welcome from Polichronis Papageorgiou and three generations of his family. Facilities include a superb pool, childrens' pool and Jacuzzi with complimentary sun-beds and umbrellas next to the popular Pool Bar & Café which opens from 0900h until very late, serving meals and snacks throughout the day and evening along with a great choice of drinks including quality cocktails and spirits, local wines and draught beer. It is an ideal escape from the midday sun and also a great place to relax with friends for drinks before heading out for the evening, benefiting from big-screen TVs, music, pool tables and internet PCs.Reception is open 24 hours, with sofas and chairs, a TV, and safety deposit boxes for hire.Orion en-suite rooms are well-furnished with comfortable beds, plenty of wardrobe space, dressing table & chair and all benefit from a large balcony/terrace. Our studios contain a kitchenette equipped with an electric kettle, refrigerator, crockery & cutlery for preparation of cold meals and snacks. All rooms have satellite TV and internal telephones. Lifts to all floors are provided in all three buildings.The Orion Restaurant offers a superb choice of menu catering for all tastes from 0730h to 2330h daily: Traditional Greek dishes, international dishes, breakfasts, snacks and dinners. Half-board/B&B guest meals are served in the Orion Restaurant: an extended buffet-breakfast is served from 0730h to 1000h, a table d'Hôte dinner (choice of two main courses) is served from 1830h to 2200h. The Orion Restaurant has an extensive bar serving quality drinks including cocktails, spirits, local wines and draught beers at attractive prices.Bus stops to all destinations are located within 3 minutes walk of reception, making the Orion an ideal base for exploring the island of Rhodes. Historic Rhodes Town and picturesque Lindos are served by a frequent bus service. There is a choice of reputable local car hire operators nearby, offering delivery & pick-up from the hotel or airport if required. Kallithea Spa is a delightful local attraction, with beautifully restored Italian buildings on the water's edge, with a restaurant and art gallery. Faliraki's fabulous Water Park is also a popular local attraction offering a great day out and fun for all ages. Village life can be sampled in Kallithies, set in the hillside overlooking Faliraki Bay. Faliraki's main beach offers safe sandy bathing in crystal clear (Blue Flag) waters with a wide selection of water sports on offer, along with many restaurants and tavernas fronting onto the beach. Karatha Bay, beyond the harbour, is a little quieter, offering a beach with mixed sand and shingle. Faliraki's Nudist Beach is situated in the most southerly bay, beyond the small headland at the end of Karatha Bay. Ladiko Bay and Anthony Quinn Bay, both popular beaches and ideal for snorkelling, are situated over the southern headland and can be easily accessed with a short bus ride, or a walk over the hills.Taxi ranks operate from the airport and harbour for direct transfer. Buses (via Rhodes Mandraki bus station) stop near to the hotel on both Kallithea Avenue and the main Rhodes - Lindos Road. Located just 15km from the airport makes transfers to the Orion Hotel easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Faliraki, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.