We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its way to quiet for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nakellis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nakellis
Save
You added Nakellis to your Saves list
Petra 81109, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Petra
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Its way to quiet for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I have now had to resubmit my review as Trip Advisor said i did not adhere to their guidelines.
Firstly for those that has never been Lesvos. The airport is the size of a postage stamp and although getting in was not too bad; leaving was a nightmare of queuing in the heat and waiting.

The coach transfer is over an hour and a half which I was not expecting and there is not a highway on the island. Only twisty roads and mountain passes but we got there OK.

The resort of Petra is very nice but you must understand it’s a working Greek village not a purpose built fun resort so all the sounds and activity that goes on in a village you will hear and see. Some find that quite nice. I found the man selling chickens and shouting over his megaphone very early in the morning was slowly getting on my nerves especially as it set of a poor basset hound that was tied up to a tree so he then barked for about a half hour every time. Not to mention the donkey at 4 am.

The coach drops the cases off at the main road before it gets right into the village and a small truck picks them up and takes them to the various hotels or apartments. The coach then drops the people off.

In respect of Nikellis you get dropped off on the sea front just on the outskirts of Petra and the tour rep walks you up a long lane past various houses, farms, olive groves and chicken coups and eventually you arrive. It is quite a stroll.

Upon arrival you will be drawn to the pool which I gotta say is lovely. No crowds and plenty of beds and umbrellas.

The owner meets you and gives you a key and gives you a quick run down on how to turn the electric on and how to open patio doors etc.

The rooms are so basic but I guess your not gonna spend a lot of time in them. I’m not so sure about self catering as there was only 2 rings a fridge and a kettle. No oven or toaster. Very basic.

The bathroom did not have a curtain around the shower so it gets quite wet in there. My wife had to hold the shower as it does not have a wall bracket. A bit of a pain.

There is no proper bar to sit around and chat to people and chill. What does happen is if Nick is about he will get you a drink from his office come bar and you can either take it to the pool or sit on the terrace nr the office. Its not like having a proper bar with music and snacks.

You can’t take your own food and drink from your room to the pool.

The owner was very nice. The Greeks when talking to one and other sound as if they are arguing/shouting but its just their animated way so you just have to get used to that. He was very nice to me.

The complex is small with only 10 rooms and the place attracts mainly older people who like to chill in peace around the pool and when hot take a nice cool dip. I rather think It would not suit young families with kids that would obviously like to run about and jump in the pool. You would get looks of disapproval, especially from those who have been going the same place year on year.

It just did not suit me as it was a bit too quiet. It may well suit others very much if they are getting on a bit.

The town of Petra is small and once you have walked it a few times it becomes a bit like ground hog day.

No peddleows or windsurfing to do on the beach. Nothing that gets the pulse racing a bit just quiet Tavernier’s which I must say serve the loveliest food. Recommend the Marina tavern which is on the way out of the village keeping the beach to your left and you will come across it on your right 100 yrs after the football pitch. And opposite the kebab stall as you go into the village from the apartments. Cant think of its name but it’s under vines and trees and it does the most lovely stiff ado kebabs.

So would I go again NO.? Not because it was bad, it was because it was not my age group at the apartments. The town was a tad too quiet and the coach transfer was a bit on the long side. But I must stress Nick was a very nice fella as was his wife and daughter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

This was a fantastic holiday. Our rooms, although pretty basic and could do with updating, were cleaned every other day. The pool is beautiful and we shared it with five people! No fighting for sunbeds of getting up at 6am to put out towels!
The resort is only a short walk and there are plenty of places to eat. We hired a quad bike which was excellent for exploring. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Just got back from our second trip to Petra and second stay at the Nakellis. The first time we stayed we were not overly impressed with the level of hygene in our room, particularly the pans etc in the kitchen. The rooms and facilities are basic but pretty standard for low cost accomodation in Greece. The showers are not showers as we know it, more like a large tray with a hose attatchement. You do only get hot water in the afternoon as it's heated by solar panels. Again, pretty standard for the Greek islands. On the plus side, the apartments are well situated in a very quiet location with easy access to town. The owner is not exactly over-friendly but he's ok, he just tends to be a bit abrupt when you get there and the rest of the time he stays out of your way. This place is not suited to anyone who likes a lot of action and facilities around the pool, it's very quiet and the bar is only open occasionally through the day. If you like peace and quiet and can cope with the basics, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

The Nakellis is in a fab location - a few minutes stroll from bars and tavernas and very quiet and peaceful. Our room was spacious but not very clean and the shower facilities are not good with hot water only in the evening.

We had read several reviews of these studios with many people commenting on the owner and how unfriendly he was - however we decided to see for ourselves. Be warned - this man is the most unfriendly, unwelcoming Greek we have ever met and seemed to go out of his way to make us and everyone else feel unfomfortable - even ignorning us when he saw us. Just cannot understand why on earth he is in this business and why he thinks he has the right to treat people like he does. Never ever come across anybody quite like him before in all our visits to Greece. Shame really as this place has the potential to be fantastic with it's location and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Petra is amazingly wonderful.

But - and there are far too many reasons to list - DON'T stay at the Nakellis. I complained to Thomas Cook, but, from the letter I received back, I do not expect anything to change at the Nakellis.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rooms not cleaned.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We have just returned from a two week stay in Petra at the Nakellis Studios. Petra is a wonderful town and we could see why people returned again and again.There are some excellent bars and tavernas all serving great food and none of which are too expensive. They all give good value for money. Try the Lemon bar just past the bus stop for a chilled drink while you watch the sunset. Bliss! The Womens Co-operative is fantastic and the Salt and Pepper Taverna in one of the side streets near the harbour is great, look out for Lorenzo the waiter here, he is an Albanian and very hard-working with two jobs. We saw him during the day at Molyvos serving in a taverna and then at night in the Salt and Pepper! He was always very curteous and friendly even though he must have been knackered!! The Nakellis is in an ideal place and has a wonderful pool which never gets busy but it did not live up to expectations or some of the reviews it has been given. I have been to Greece about ten times and know how basic it can sometimes be but this was the worst place I have stayed for sheer can't be botheredness on the part of the owner. We had one bed change and two towel changes in two weeks. The toilet had to be flushed 3 times whenever you went and more on some occasions!! The cleaners came in about every three days, emptied the bins and ran a mop over the floor. The kitchen area was disgusting, even by Greek standards! There were three mugs, 1 broken. 1 plate, 2 bowls,1 small pan and a frying pan and a rusty assortment of knives,forks and teaspoons. The worktop was formica, very badly stained with a large hole in it gathering dirt and germs. Charming and rustic we thought! (Not!) I had to wash everything as it was covered in grime and other peoples leftover food. We only make a cup of coffee in the mornings and sometimes a sandwhich but it wasn't what you would expect from a self catering appartment. The shower flooded after use and a mop and bucket is provided so you can bail the shower room out! There was no hot water after about 6.30/6.45pm and none in the morning. The water tanks on the roof aren't big enough so there will always be someone who ends up with a cold shower! The owner managd to grunt at us occasionally and that was about it. I'm sure if you buy his drinks and water he will manage more than a grunt if you are lucky. It was the only place I have stayed where you couldn't take your own water to the pool. He told some people off on our first day for having their own water from the supermarket which speaks volumes about his attitude! I love Greece and have stayed in some very low budget accomodation none of which has been as bad as this for cleanliness, so I feel that these are all things you shouldn't have to put up with for the price. The airconditioning was very expensive too at £60 for two weeks but this is about average for the area.. We loved Petra and would recommend it to anyone, we would also come back again but not to these appartments.

  • Liked — pool and location
  • Disliked — kitchen, shower room and overall cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes bucks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Nakellis. The location of these apartments was everything we had read about on previous reviews and just what we wanted a quiet and beautiful retreat.
The Journey from the airport was about an hour and half through small villages and many twisting narrow roads. On arrival in our resort of Petra we were dropped off and had to walk 10 mins or so through quiet country lanes to the apartments whilst our luggage was delivered by a smaller vehicle.
Our first view of the Nakellis was very impressive. It was about 10pm at night and the pool and olive grove gardens were beautifully lit and looked extremely welcoming. The apartments were on the small side and quite basic as expected however the fridge and kitchen units were very old tired and worn out with the fridge falling to bits. The cutlery, crockery and utensils were very old and in poor condition thankfully we were not intending to do a lot of our own cooking.
The apartments had the benefit of air conditioning which in temperatures of over100 degrees was welcoming but not the £30 week it cost to have it. Whilst the apartments were clean the cleaners were not very good and hardly did anything in the whole week we were there.
We did not find the owner and his family over welcoming in fact they never bothered to speak to you unless you spoke to them first and it seemed like they had been running the apartments for so long that they had lost the enthusiasm and were just going through the motions. Having said that when you had a problem it was sorted out quickly.
The main attraction of the Nakellis is without doubt its location, gardens and lovely pool area that never gets over busy and with only 10 bedrooms there are enough sun beds and umberellas for everyone. The pool itself was extremely clean and very deep so not ideal for toddlers.
I commented to my partner that the water was very clean and i couldnt taste the usual chemicals that also sting your eyes. I found out to my cost why this probably was when the day before we came home i developed an ear infection. I only ever used this pool and never went in the sea and so i am certain it was that caused the infection. When the owner found out we noticed the smell of Chlorine which we had not previously.
In fairness none of the other guests whilst we were there got it and so maybe i was just unlucky.
The village of Petra was very charming with a good selection of tavernas and shops. I would definately recommend the womens cooperative for a fantastic meal in very clean surroundings at reasonable prices and with gorgeous sun set views over the bay.
Molyvos is just a short bus or taxi ride away and is well worth a day or 2 exploring the shops and tavernas at the harbour front and an english run bar called MOLLYS that has english drinks and music playing through the night.
The beaches were in general dissapointing and so if that is what you are looking for then maybe this resort is not for you.
Yes i would recommend to a friend and would consider returning but with ear plugs for the pool and a hope that the kitchens in the apartments would have been replaced.

  • Liked — Location, gardens and pool area
  • Disliked — Quality of room furnishings
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nakellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakellis

Address: Petra 81109, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Petra
Number of rooms: 281
Also Known As:
Nakellis Hotel Petra
Nakellis Hotel lésbos
Nakellis Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nakellis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.