We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michaelia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Michaelia Hotel to your Saves list
Michaelia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Petra 81109, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Petra
Patras, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed in the hotel in June 2009. I was very happy with the hotel services, they were always friendly and very helpful with everything I needed, including general advice about the area and what I should visit. The whole atmosphere of the hotel felt like a big family! The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. I'll try to visit again this year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Michaelia Hotel is a very nice and clean hotel situated in the traditional village of Petra at Lesvos, one of the Greeke islands.
The hospitality is the best you can have. Me and my family have stayed at Michaelia several times, and will go back as soon as possible next summer.
A place to calm down and just live the quiet life.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I visited after some time the Hotel Michaelia in August 2010 and I was astonished by the aesthetics & functionality of the recent rennovation. The rooms were very bright with soft colors. I loved the the garden with its unique furniture, the rock garden with the fish pond, the pool with the waterfalls and wooden deck around. It's an elegant hotel with a great attention to detail and excellent surroundings.

I found the same personnel as my previous visit, always friendly and prompt to make you feel comfortable, as if you were among friends.

Very nice, relaxing vacation with beautiful images. We're awaiting eagerly to find the time to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Michaelia is a nice hotel, well located , next to the sea and very clean. You can stay at the front part of the hotel-where we did last year- or at the back which is new.
Judging from their site we chose the first-and paid a little more- because of the view and the nice balcony.
When we arrived we really liked it but....at the sight of our room we were really disappointed. It was not at all the room presented at the photos of the site. The furniture was old, the room was really small (as was the balcony too) but the most important was about beds. We had never seen such low beds with such a light mattress......It was like sleeping on the floor! I wondered if someone was joking us! Nevertheless, we stayed as we had made a really long trip and were exhausted...and then we didn't want to make a fuss so we didn't change either room or hotel.
However, I think that the rooms at the back site of the hotel were new and spacious.
If you book at the front specify if there are any photos of these rooms at their website.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

Loved this hotel! The service was excellent and very very friendly! It's located just across the beach and I could just sit in the balcony and gaze at the sea for hours. The breakfast was very delicious and the place was really, really clean everywhere! I certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy his holiday.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suldal, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

We have recently returned to Norway after two wonderful weeks at the Hotel Michaelia in Petra. Our views are of course coloured by being two well grown-up couples who don't much like being roasted beside a pool, and are looking more for the genuine Greek hospitality than for luxury and the cool professional attitude you can find in the big hotels whichever country you visit.

Nevertheless, we could also see that a family of five, with children from 5 to 10 years, enjoyed their stay immencely.

Our room had balconies towards the sea, with only the road between. A wonderful place to sip an ouzo while watching the spectacular sight of the sun going down into the Egaean, before going out for dinner.

The rooms were adequate, spotlessly clean and with AC. The breakfast buffet had everything we needed, and the garden was a nice place to sit and relax with a cup of coffe in the afternoon.

We can't talk about the Michaelia without mentioning the owner and our hostess, Maria, a wonderful woman who made us feel very welcome, and had very interesting plans for the future of the hotel. We are looking forward to return and see what happens.

But please, Maria, don't do anything that changes the atmosphere of your hotel, it's just perfect!

John

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michaelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaelia Hotel

Address: Petra 81109, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Petra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michaelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Michaelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michaelia Hotel Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaelia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.