We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place in Chora!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stou Stratou

Stou Stratou
Pl. Ag. Assanasiou | Ano Chora, Greece
+30.22810.52566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Serifos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place in Chora!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

In 2012, we stayed on Paros and decided to take a ferry to Serifos, for a day trip. We caught the bus upto Chora and found a lovely square with a taverna. We sat down and started to read the menu, which is full of art and poetry...as well as food & drink to order!
We spent quite a while there, just sitting and drawing and painting, whilst drinking beer & frappes and eating Sfakian cheese pies!
Because of that trip, we are going back to Serifos for a holiday and plan to spend some time at Stou Stratou.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly atmosphere high up in the Chora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

At the beautiful little plateia with the Town Hall and the church, we found this taverna, run by a charming lady. She was very attentive and helpful, and recommended a mixed plate with salad, cheese, sausages and smoked pork. This was really what we have been looking for - it was tasty and plenty of food, and not expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nice place in Chora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

All-day cafe-restaurant in Chora Serifos. Situated in the main square just next to the Town Hall, provides the visitor with a very nice and picturesque atmosphere: nice little buildings, colours, tiny tables all very 'cyclades-like'. However there is no view of the rest of the island from above. One can drink coffee, taste many delicious local or greek plates and of course very tastefull sweets. It's not considered to be a typical restaurant, but the food quantity can guarrantee that no one will remain hungry afterwards. The prices are ok. but you don't usually get a receipt. Best time to visit is after the sunset, as there are is no shadow. Staff friendly and capable. I think it's a must-visit spot in Serifos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“The best karydopitta (walnut cake) in Serifos but no receipt!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A cosy place located in the Chora (upper village) of Serifos, attracting lots of tourists and Greeks for its sweets, omelets and coffees. I would have given it a 4* if only they have given us a receipt for what we have ordered! Shame there are still businesses that do not comply with the Greek finance tax legislation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A category of its own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

All day place in Serifos. Perfect atmosphere, picturesque scenery surrounded by the winds of the aegean sea.

Only drawback, not expensive, yet it could be a little cheaper.

However, the whole thing pays you back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stou Stratou also viewed

Serifos, Cyclades
Serifos, Cyclades
 

Been to Stou Stratou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stou Stratou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.