We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation of my LIFE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Birds Villa Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Birds Villa Apartments to your Saves list
The Birds Villa Apartments
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Perissa 84703, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Perissa
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best vacation of my LIFE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Birds Villa for a week in April and it was absolutely fantastic. Roussettos, the owner, was extremely hospitable and friendly. Helping us whenever we needed anything. He also had a young man from Albania (I think that's what he said) working there, who was especially helpful and friendly as well. The price is good, especially since it comes with a car outside of peak season. I don't see how anyone could complain about such little things when given this is a fair price for a nice apartment. Some people are never happy, just that simple. The breathtaking view from the apartments will blow you away. My husband and I climbed the mountain up to the museum (which was closed), but the hike was worth every breath. There was a little chapel about half-way up, and while herbs (especially thyme) growing rampant everywhere. If you like to be outdoors, not in a crowded city, but close to restaurants, shops, beaches, church, this is the place for you. It is peacefully remote while being close to everything. We walked to the restaurant every night. Yes I would highly recommend it. Apartment is nice and the location is perfect for those who seek tranquility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirgu Mures, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We made the best choice to come to Perissa because the prices are lower than in Oia or other villages, so we had a goooood room, we took a nice car, good price, we was near to the beach and we visit everything...we enjoyed the pool, we relax, is very quiet....and we want to come back ofcourse.All was great!!!Great room, service, staff, weather, people, pool...Thank you for a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The only down part about staying in Perissa, specifically during the off season, is that you're at least 15 minutes away from Fira via car. And yes, you must have a car. The good part is that the off season promises quiet, security and comfort. Plus, The Birds will provide you with a car transport to and from the port as well as a free rental car to use during your stay. A small continental breakfast is delivered each morning. Just be sure to grab water from one of the nearby supermarkets as you cannot drink the water on location. The owner has properties in other cities/islands, and he also operates his own tour company. Very trustworthy person to deal with while traveling!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Some friends and I spent five nights at Villa the Birds in early April, and we have to say staying here was one of the greatest decisions we made in the entire trip. The location, although not with a Caldera view, is spectacular, only about 10 minutes walk from the black sand beaches of the Eastern part of the island. My personal favorite about the location is that when you walk out the front door of your apartment you have amazing views of the largest mountain on the island and a Greek Chapel which seems to be perched in an impossible place. We had a lot of fun hiking up to the ancient city which is on the summit of the mountain. Overall, it was a very quiet, relaxed atmosphere, being in a sort of "countryside" area of Perissa, which was exactly what we were looking for during this trip.
Rousettos is very trustworthy, helpful, personable, and just an all around great host. He is the owner an operator of Romani Tours (Tourism Agency), so he got us some great deals on two rental vehicles from his agency as well as a boat trip to the Caldera.
As for problems there were only a couple, which Rousettos resolved very quickly. One was an electrical issue with the fan in the bathroom of one apartment, and the other was an issue with the toilet flush button not working properly in the other apartment. After we told Rousettos he came and had fixed both problems within two hours of us telling him.
The complimentary breakfast was great, with plenty of fresh bread, eggs, orange juice, bacon, cake, coffee and tea.
We wished that the pool would have been filled when we were there but we were there too early in the season so it wasn't possible.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed staying at Villa the Birds and would definitely stay there again if we ever return to Santorini.
Thanks Rousettos and Villa the Birds staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently spent 2 weeks here in Santorini, which has much to commend it but, alas, the same cannot be said of The Birds. Things got off to a bad start with a mattress on our bed that was so rock hard that we could not sleep for the first 2 nights. To his credit, the owner changed this for us when we mentioned it. However, that was just the first of many negatives. Towel rail in the bathroom was hanging on by one screw so we didn't risk putting anything on it, then the handle fell off the front door. A PC was provided in the room, very nice but half the keyboard didn't work. The bathroom itself was quite presentable with the walls 3/4 tiled but they had put the same, shiny, tiles on the floor and bath area - these are not floor tiles and are extremely dangerous for wet feet. However, the biggest drawback is that the place was just not clean - some of the other reviewers must have had too much sun in their eyes. The place looked generally shabby but the pool was very poor; at first I thought some of the flooring was a different colour until my foot swept up what was a layer of earth turning the water cloudy mud. The pool surround was laid out with small decorative tiles but I stopped counting at 100 that were missing and those that remained looked very grubby. Santorini is a really nice place with plenty of interest for everyone to have a great holiday. Just find somewhere else to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romani, Owner at The Birds Villa Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
hello David, i am the owner of the Birds (the person who changed the mattress for you )
I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in my place ,that the place was not clean ,the tiles not good , the towel rail and keyboard bad but you just had to mentioned and for sure will take me 10 min to fix them.Any way i think that the apartment i gave you with separate bedroom ,PC with internet for free, transfer from the airport for free for 70 euro per night INCLUDED A FREE CAR and breakfast served at your room every morning was much more that money value.
I am sorry again but when you was here you never show me all the negatives and i was thinking that you are one more happy client of the many i have.I am really surprises that you found all this time to write all these for my property.I will try to be even better and replace the keyboard.Have a good time. Regards Roussetos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This villa is actually a really nice place and we enjoyed our stay very much. The surrounding is not the nicest and it is outside the center of Perissa. But still in walking distance to the main street and beach, but if you like to be few meters by the beach, this is not the place. The location isn't perfect, but has also positive sides - the place is so peaceful. You can relax by the pool, listen to the sounds of silence. No traffic, no loud tourists - if you are here to relax, this is the spot. And the villa with the pool is really nice place with some privacy. The rooms are clean with everything you need. The staff is really friendly and helpful. There are two dogs, both lovely and very friendly (yes, even the big one on a chain). In the price is included breakfast served to the room every morning - really great! The same every morning, but there is plenty of it and I'm used to eat the same every morning (don't you?). And there is more - you will get a free car rental with the room for the whole stay. What a deal! And of course transfer from/to the airport - that is good service. The booking and communication was easy and our trip (actually, our honeymoon) was perfect. Thanks Roussetos and all the Romani tour staff for making this vacation special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My family and I recently spent 5 days at Villa the Birds and we loved it! The apartment was comfortable, clean and well equipped, and the area was very quiet. It was a pleasure dealing with Roussetos and his staff from the planning stages of our stay, to being met at the airport and driven to Villa the Birds, to booking a tour. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that was brought to our room every morning was great and we enjoyed relaxing around the lovely pool and watching the stars at night from our balcony. Although the town of Perissa and the shops, grocery stores and restaurants are all within walking distance, it was great to have a car included to tour the beautiful island of Santorini. I would highly recommend this property for a very enjoyable stay and we look forward to returning again in the future. Thank you Roussetos!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Birds Villa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birds Villa Apartments

Address: Perissa 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Birds Villa Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birds Villa Apartments in Santorini. All apartments have one-two separate bedroom and can accommodate from 2 up to 5 people. There is a swimming pool with an opposite swimming system and extra powerful hydro and aero massage, umbrellas and sun beds, very nice and big private balconies. Fully equipped kitchen, safe deposit, satellite TV, DVD player, hair dryer and private computer for internet access in your apartment, a/c, large bathroom with 24 hour hot water. Continental breakfast. After your request we can arrange a delivery from the port or the airport to your apartment. On the apartment building there is an outdoor barbeque area that you can use. FREE Car Rental (except for the period 25th July until 25th August) - One manual car rental is provided for your use whilst on the island. The vehicle provided by our agents is usually a 4-5 seats hatch back, which is very well suited to the narrow roads of the island. Kindly ensure that you have a valid drivers license for Greece. Third party insurance & unlimited kilometers are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Birds Villa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birds Villa Apartments Santorini/Perissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Birds Villa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.