We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect breakaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marianna Hotel to your Saves list
Marianna Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perissa 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
LaindonWest
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“perfect breakaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

cant wait to return. The Hotel location is ideally located within walking distance from the beach, bars, Tavernas and shops and away from Traffic noise. The photos in the Bouchures do not show the scale of the mountains around the Hotel. We was greeted by the Hotel Director Maria who offered us twin or a double bed room, and this consideration was maintained throughout our stay. Our room had mountain, sea and pool views, very happy but we would of appreciated any of the room views. Our room was kept spottless and we was glad that the TV was small and volume controlled to further protect the peacefulness of our stay. There is a path up to Ancient Thera for a better view of the island. The Taverna prices are very good but couldnt beat Maria's Special Omlettes. The nearest Bars are also cheaper than expected but we found they couldnt beat the Hotel Pool bar (and for a laugh) . There is the Local bus (coach) stop that is just down the road that takes you to Fira (2.40 Euros), From Fira you can visit the rest of the island. We will return to take in much more of the island. Because the weather was so good we spent a lot of time in the Orange cushioned beachfront bar Tranqiuillo (the menu is also very good) beach front. For the best evening meal near to the Hotel was the resturant local to the big Church (also worth a visit), that we only found in the last few days was the Sorrocco (Good meanu and Pizza oven).

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
13
115
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH wEST
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Really enjoyed our third holiday at The Marianna. Maria always there to
assist if needed, Alexander The Great (Barman) very entertaining and
enjoyable conversations developed at the bar (can confirm the Doris
has landed!). Views from hotel position hard to beat - especially when
you take into consideration the excellent value for money cost. Good maid service with regular change of linen and towels with a spacious pool area with cushioned sunbeds. Enjoyed our poolside meals with plenty of wine available!
Please note these are our own personal opinions. Some comments at present appear to be relayed comments on trip advisor.
We would not hesitate to revisit The Marianna in Perissa to chill again!
Prieka until next time

Room Tip: All self catering studios overlook the pool area on lower ground or first floor (which is ground on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton le Fylde
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely hotel a short walk from the beach and Tavernas, but far enough away to be quiet. Maria, the owner, is friendly and helpful and cleaning staff efficient. Berakfast options are limited but enough to start the day. Pool and sunbed area were both large. We had absolutely no problems with security. Road into village has dim lighting so a torch may be useful!

Room Tip: Room 4 if you go bed and breakfast. Upstairs so it is quieter and it is a corner room so great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My much better half, 2 friends and I have just returned from a 2 week break at the marianna. It was our 2nd stay but our friends 1st on our recommendation. We all really enjoyed it and its excellent value for money. Beach just 5mins walk away same with taverna's etc. Clean rooms, clean pool, average barman (again just joking Alex), and great company. The pool area is spacious and clean. Everyone in the hotel got on well and had a real good laugh and joke (well almost everyone, you know who you are doris). Keep up the good work guys and maybe we will make it a third time.

Ohh and P.s Alex............... Pass it out !!!

Mike.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 or 2 if you are B&B, or 32 if you are self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Marianna in Perissa and i have nothing but praise for the hotel the facilities and maria and her staff who work tirelessly in the background to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. The hotel is without doubt the cleanest hotel I have stayed at when visiting Greece. The beds and towels are changed very regularly and the rooms cleaned to a high standard. The pool area and pool are very clean with sun beds spaced out giving everyone their own space and still retaining a friendly atmosphere. The pool barman alex is great always ready for a chat and to make you very welcome and to make the evenings at the bar relaxed and fun. The Hotel is placed close enough to the seafront for easy access to restaurants and bars but far enough away from them to be quiet and restful. The beaches at Perissa are cleaned daily and sun beds are plentiful and cost between 5 and 7 euro's for the day. The only thing that spoils the beach are the sellers who try to sell you everything from dresses and handbags and a massage to needle threaders. These people bother you every couple of minutes all day long. In all though a fantastic holiday in a great Hotel. Thanks Maria, Alex and friends.

Derek and Jane (West Sussex)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Will keep this brief. Have to agree with MOST of the good things said about the Marianna, but not happy, like others,about the limitations of the bar. Drinks run out, there is no atmosphere, and the barman's timekeeping is unreliable.

Also, before leaving for our holiday towards the end of July 2012, we were alarmed to see several reports of theft at the Marianna on Tripadvisor - see reviews prior to this. We were careful to hire a safety deposit box and keep our room locked. However on the first day it turned out that a couple we met at the bar had been robbed of 80 euros hours after their arrival. This was from a locked safe in their locked room!

This pilfering appears to have gone on for most of the summer. How difficult can it be to track down a thief with access to keys in a hotel with a staff of 5?

As we were hoping to return next year I wrote to Thomson to ask for reassurance. They did not reply, and consequently we will not be using the Marianna again, nor Thomson, until they can give us an explanation and confirm that the problem has been solved. It is outrageous that they have not, apparently, carried out a thorough investigation much earlier.

Happy holidays, but take care!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Marianna Hotel for two weeks and had an amazing holiday. Maria (the owner) was fantastic! She was incredibly helpful and always around to assist in any way that she could. The swimming pool was relaxed and quiet, spacious, with ample comfortable sun beds. The view from our terrace was gorgeous-blue domed church, the sea and mountain backdrop.
The room was basic, but clean and spacious. We had air-conditioning, which we didn't have to pay any extra for! There was a secure safe in the room which costs 10 euros per week.
The location was good- 300m from the beach, bars and excellent restaurants. We were self-catering and the nearest supermarket was a good distance away if you have to carry heavy water etc, but there is a great system where the big supermarket in Perissa (The Coop) will come and collect you from the hotel and take you back with your shopping (only a 5 minute car journey). Maria rings them for you and they come straight away. The local bus stop is only a 5 minute walk down towards the beach.
We would really recommend the Marianna-would definitely go back again! Great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianna Hotel

Address: Perissa 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marianna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianna Hotel Perissa
Marianna Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marianna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.