We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perissa 84703, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 42 hotels in Perissa
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the hotel July. I agree the the rooms are basic but how long do you spend in your room on hoilday !. Everywhere was really clean and the staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Fantastic location, 5/10 mins from the beach, taverners and the main street, what more could you ask for! It was my first visit to the Greek islands and we are in the process of booking the Hotel Rena for not 1 but 2 weeks next year!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
20
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel Rena is great yes its basic but this is Greece! The staff are amazing Pannos made us a great punch we just had to bring him the biggest watermelon we could find ! Jacob at the bar is a legend he got to know all our names.Yes the breakfast is basic but there was fresh bread every day and sometimes fruit.The hotel is in a great location minutes from the beach and shops 24 hour bakery is must you will be amazed at the choice.We hired a quad bike and went travelling over the island so many amazing views.Had a great holiday with family best times ever!

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony but you can ask for another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, great cocktails, very clean room. A typical Greek bed and breakfast. Average price for drinks at the bar are about €5. Hotel rena is also connected to the bar called waves on the beach and they do a deal with the sunbeds and umbrella for €5, also lunch is very nice at the waves.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Rena for 2 weeks with family.
Lovely hotel,lovely staff.
Hotel,pool and surrounding areas always very clean. Always sun loungers.
Rooms are very basic with no cooking facilities and only a small fridge but if you're happy to eat lunch and dinner out then the rooms are fine. Also,it's so hot in Greece your rarely in the room. Breakfast was very basic (only bread ham cheese) but you can always buy food from the local supermarket Coop (about 20 min walk from hotel,there are closer places but coop biggest) Food sold at pool bar,not large menu but the food I had was nice.
Very close to beach,hotel owes a place called Waves so recommend going there for food and sun loungers which is a 10 min walk from hotel. You also get a 10% discount there.
Recommend going to Dorians Bar which is a 5 min walk from the hotel.
Lots of taverners along the beach which are nice.
Hired a quad bike and travelled the whole island,very beautiful island. Recommend going to Santos Winery for wine tasting plus the views are beautiful.
Def recommend Hotel Rena if your happy for very basic rooms in great area! The hotel rooms are very basic and prob need 'doing up' but they are fine for sleeping in ...the surrounding area is lovely and the location is great for going out.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

While quiet and very bijoux, there is little to recommend this hotel over any other.
Close to all ameneties, it is also far away enough from any passing traffic/pedestrians to mean it is not disturbed.
Breakfast is poor, with the staff incapable of understanding much English.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here a few times now and can't quite understand the poor reviews. The hotel is a quiet hotel hidden just behind the main road on the beachfront. The rooms are cleaned daily, and have a tv and balcony. Pool area is quiet also. There was a problem with the pool where there was a chemical imbalance, this is quite common where the strong winds blow dirt into the pool. Mario was made aware of the problem and promptly fixed the pool.

This is a budget hotel which is clean and basic, which is Greece at its best. For the price you pay £400 for 2 weeks you can't expect 5* food and accommodation, if this is what you want perissa is not really the place to be.

Perissa is a very quiet resort, and seems to be in decline which is a real shame, although I prefer to the much more commercialised Kamari.

There are many excellent restaurants - noma, gods garden, waves, and decent bars in perissa.

I'd recommend anyone to hire a car it's the only way too see the whole island!!!! Or a quad bike but pay the extra to get a good sized one as the tiny quads are a little unsafe and slow!

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again, we had no problems, and as a regular visitor I had no expectations. Santorini is beautiful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbynel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had a good feeling about this hotel when we booked it, however, the only thing my husband & I liked was the location. Its a minute or two at the most from the beach & very close to restaurants and bars.

The rooms & hotel were tired, old & grubby, needs a desperate makeover & a PROPER CLEAN. We only went to breakfast 5 times out of 14 nights as it was a grim miserable affair, Bread for toast, butter, marmalade & jam. Then tasteless cheap cheese slices & some sort of ham which looked & tasted dodgy !!! oh, & must not forgot there was also a bowl of chopped up tomatoes. It was the same every single day, no cereal or fruit. There were young children staying at this hotel & not even a cornflake or rice crispy in sight. The owners watched over the breakfast area like hawks as if you were going to take an extra piece of toast.

Food was not always available from the bar, people were often told that the chef was asleep !!! - so much for Greece getting back on its feet from hard work !!!

We had no pool for 3 days which was eventually sorted by the rep Catherine who was fabulous by the way. This lead to us receiving £30 compo each from Thomsons.

Jacob on the bar was lovely & friendly and so were Pannos & Despina, however, once we politely refused to go to the Greek BBQ at 14 Euros per head (no entertainment inc) we were more or less sent to Coventry by Pannos & Despina. We were told after the BBQ that it was terrible & a complete waste of money.

We have been visiting Santorini for 14 years on & off, the resort of Perissa is a shadow of its former self, buildings closed, derelict properties, its scruffy & generally unclean. Kamari however, seems to have improved tremendously & was very chic & trendy.

We would never return to this hotel & probably never to Perissa. In my opinion this hotel does not deserve to be in the Thomsons brochure.

Room Tip: Don't bother !!!!! go to Kamari instead xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rena

Address: Perissa 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 hotels in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rena 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Rena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rena Hotel Perissa
Hotel Rena Santorini/Perissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.