We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perissa 84703, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Perissa
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rena for 5 days with family and friends. The rooms were a comfortable size, not too squashy. The bathroom was old looking and definitely need a makeover.
Using the shower caused water to go everywhere, flooding the bathroom.
Kitchen equipment was almost non existent. Hardy enough to claim it is self catering. Crockery was minimal as was cutlery. No sponge or kitchen towel provided.
Refrigerator was tiny and extremely noisy. We complained about the noise and were told it would be looked at/or replaced. Nothing was done about the fridge. It was extremely loud and annoying and caused us to stay awake at night. This was mentioned to the owner several times in person, by phone, and I even sent him an email. Each time I was told there's nothing wrong with the fridge.
On a brighter note Hotel Rena was close to everything. Bus services to everywhere were within walking distance, as were shops, restaurants and the beach.
Breakfast was ok. Could have had more variety. There was the option of walking to Marios restaurant and having breakfast there with no extra charge. We took this option on one of our days and were not disappointed.
Rooms were serviced daily which was a bonus.
Mama Rena was lovely and welcoming. Vassili at the bar was great to chat to and always answered our travel related questions. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He is a credit to Hotel Rena and a genuine all round nice person.
During our stay we lost our ferry tickets for our ongoing travel to Rhodos. These tickets are non replaceable, but the owner quickly swung into action and made contact with several people and our tickets were found and returned to us.
We also forgot our phone on the bus and Vassili helped us to contact the bus driver to see if it was handed in.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building where the pool is are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    64
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
23
113
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I spent an amazing week here last year but I still can't forget it so i thought i should write a review. Hotel Rena is perfect if you're going to be out most of the day, exploring the island or relaxing on the beach. The room we were given was spacious with a double bed and a single bed although there was only 2 of us. At first we didnt like the first room offered so we chose another room. we had a tv, cupboard, side table, coffee table,a dressing table with a mirror and a small fridge for drinks and snacks. The attached bathroom had a shower but no bathtub which was not needed anyway. The room was cleaned, rubbish thrown and the floor mopped everyday. But by night I could see tiny specks of black sand on the bed :/ ...that's my only complain. Every morning the breakfast was simple with coffee, tea,bread, jam, cereal or eggs. I could also get hot water from the dining area or the barman to make my own drinks. The best thing about the hotel must be the people there as they were very helpful and friendly, always offering a smile. In the front room there was a collection of English novels to read but i never got to finish even one,..just too many other things to do..The hotel is a 5 minutes walk to the beach where the restaurants are. We were given a discount for eating at one of the restaurants there, Waves, as it is owned by the hotel. I have to say the food there was delicious, whether it was the mains or desserts, so we went there almost every night :p At that time of the trip, the weather was just right, not to hot and not too cold. If there is another chance to go there again, I definitely will!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went on a very cheap last minute deal and didn't expect very much. What a great surprise! Yes our room was small and we didn't have a view etc....but it was clean, the staff were great and so very welcoming and helpful, and the additional 'continental breakfast' filled any early morning cravings. We stayed with other guests who had paid 10 times the price we had - yes 10 times - and they were really unhappy. Of course, they'd paid luxury hotel prices and got something basic, but for the price we paid we were delighted and will definitely go again! Thanks to all the staff who made our stay such a great one!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, some of the rear ones look at a wall or over the bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 14 days, with friends at the Rena in July 2012, it didn't help being dumped the end of the road, and having to walk the 100 meters with our luggage. The rooms were very small,and didn't match the description in the Thomson brochure they looked out onto a closed courtyard, with no escape from the heat. The bathroom;s were grubby, and had a very unpleasant pong!Hot water was a luxury, we only had occasionally.while at the resort three of our party went down with a sickness bug, and therefore we were confined to our room for 2 days, once we emerged from our room, and although the owners were sympathetic to our condition, our rooms were not deep-cleaned, we were then left very much to our own devices, which included cleaning our own rooms and bathroom, when we complained to the owners, we were given the cold shoulder and made to feel very uncomfortable.
breakfast was very meager bread and jam with the occasional fruit or yogurt... never both.
We couldn't wait to leave, and would never go back to the Rena, or recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in September 2012. When we first arrived it was 7.30am and they showed us to a room that we could get a couple of hours sleep in before checking in to the room meant for us at checking in time. This was lovely of them, as they didn't have to do it.

Our eventual room was near the dining area, which was great for breakfast! The only downside is that our air con unit wasn't working. The food on offer was rather basic but was sufficient to start the day. The pool area was really nice and we spent some time there and at the bar there. There was no pressure to buy drinks from the bar, which made for a relaxing, pleasant atmosphere.

It was great to be so close to the shops/beach/restaurant too. The purpose of our stay was our friend's wedding and the bar man even drove us in his own car to the ceremony (for a small charge, but no more than a taxi). This was a really good service and again something he did not have to do.

Overall, we had a really good time there and would recommend it to others wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

After a Many deferent hotels we find our small paradise in Hotel Rena in perissa beach, the most friendly family hotel in the world, Marios and Mama Rena is always helpfull all day and night, very clean hotel just in 2 mum from the beach, we love this hotel and we come back again and again for all of our life!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a room in the main block on the first floor,it had two singles in it, a set of drawers, and a bedside table.And was very cramped, more suitable perhaps as a single room if one of the beds was removed.The main bedroom was clean,the fridge worked well, as did the tv. The bathroom was not good at all,Very cramped, dated and tired looking and in need of a refurbishment. There was nowhere to put toiletries,the shower draining into floor which became very slippery and needed care when moving in the bathroom.It was quite common for there to be no hot water available at certain times of the day ie mornings and evenings.For the ladies there was no full length mirror in the room.
Balcony was nice to relax on, with two chairs and a small table. Had to shut doors to balcony at night because that is general advise given by rep,so you would need to hire aircon.
Pool and pool area was good, nice seating and bar area.
Location to main resort excellent
Breakfast experience also not good,tired and frugal but coffee was ok.Ended up buying breakfast on the main strip.
Very dissapointed with the accomodation, in view of the glowing appraisals on this site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rena

Address: Perissa 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rena 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rena Hotel Perissa
Hotel Rena Santorini/Perissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.