We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place all-round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardenia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gardenia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gardenia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Perissa Beach, Perissa 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place all-round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My friend and I went late June for 2 weeks. Perfect weather. take clothes that are really light and cool, could be quite hot at times. Santorini is a lovely island, quite barren but has very dramatic scenery and beautiful picturesque villages. The resort Perissa is by far the best out of all the resorts on the island. It is shielded by the mountains and therefore gets the best weather conditions. Hotel Gardenia is a truly great find. The pool is really clean and not cold. Do patronise the hotel/pool barbeque, great evening and great food. Rooms are just fine, always kept clean and adequately furnished. Hotel is perfectly situated for shops, beach and restaurants. The hotel reception staff are really very helpful and knowledgeable, so take their advise it is worth it. Instead of spending buckets of money on the tour operator trips do them yourselves. The buses are very frequent and on time and travel the whole island. Costs about 1.60-2.20 euros for each trip depending how far you want to go. We went on a Kamari boat trip (booked in the shop by the bus station at Thira) to the Volcano, Hot Springs,Thirasia and Caldera sunset for only 30euros each. Can't recommend it enough.You can visit by bus the excavated city of Akrotiri..well worth seeing. Places that we would highly recommend near the Gardenia, Gods Garden just up the road, had one good meal and one not so good, turn left AT the main road for the 24 hour bakery (500yds), turn right for Dorians with Rob/Bobs(?) bar opposite and if you want a cheap day, go toTranquilo on the beach (all orange decor) and have a salad (its huge) and tomato/potato fritters and ask for a doggy bag if you can't eat it all, that then went towards our evening meal, you can also stay on their sunbeds all day free. Lovely tranquil evening walks along the beach front, all very civilised. The water park (not very large) near the hotel didn't bother us but we were pool side. ONE WORD of WARNING...travel out light because if you want souvenirs and goodies to take home, with many of the tour operators you are allowed only 15kgs & 5kgs hand luggage so when you weigh your luggage to go home if it is over that you will pay dearly...mark my words..the airport has a field day...for every Kg over there is a high cost. Gardenia, Perissa is in our opinion a good choice. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms poolside are possibly quieter than the ones that back onto a small road. Upper floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
algra
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent 2 weeks here in July with my 18 year old and had a great time.
Friendly and quick check in.
We had room 30 which was very spacious ( obviously meant for 3 so we were lucky)
1 twin and one single bed with seperate kitchen area. Beds were comfortable and sheets changed very frequently. Sufficient power points and storage.
Kitchen area is very basic No issue to us as we had no need for anything apart from the fridge and kettle bu it would be difficult to rustle up more than a basic snack.
Bathroom is basic as in most of Greece and water temp hard to regulate. Towels changed when you want but they have seen better days.Nice big balcolny with views of mountain and melon patch spoiled by really uncomfortable plastic "caff" chairs
lovely big clean pool.Pool bar run by George , reasonable prices and friendly service
The whole place is very clean with very pleasant , helpful staff . paulo and esp Roland are fantastic on reception
Location is great with every thing from the beach to a 24 hr bakery and bus stops within a few minutes stroll.
A few little improvements , such as the balcony chairs and a hook for the shower and I would havehappily given it 5 stars for its class

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a great holiday, we went for a 2 week holiday with friends 2 couples no kids.
We came back on the 2nd July
Me and my wife have traveled quite a lot, but this is by far the nicest and most picturesque islands we have ever traveled to.
We stayed at the Gardenia in Perissa, rooms are basic but clean, clean towels each day, rooms cleaned daily, bedding changed 3x a week.no complaints.
The staff were fantastic, George who worked at the pool bar who always put everything on Phil's bill,
To Rolland who worked on reception. Rolland tried to teach my wife as many Greek words as she could learn.
We got home and are looking to book again for next year.
We found a English bar that served a nice English breakfast sandwich called the Lazy Lizard, it's a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of June and were very happy with the hotel. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean. For a small hotel, they have one of the largest pools with plenty of sunloungers. The hotel is ideally situated for both the beach and all of Perissas restaurants. We booked via Alpha Rooms and found the price to be very competitive. All in all, a great hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a fabulous week at this lovely hotel. One of the main attractions for this hotel was the location, just a few minutes walk from the beach, bars and resturants. Hotel staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. The rooms are very basic but clean. We had a view over looking the mountains which was stunning. The pool is quite large and kept very clean and the bar served the usual bar snacks and had plenty of Mythos :) Tried quite a few resturants but my favourites was Gods Garden which was great value and service, it is only a minutes walk from the hotel. My other favourite was Atlantis Island which is on the sea front, a bit more expensive but worth it. Only did one trip which we booked with a tourist shop at the top of the road and was a lot cheaper than booking with our travel rep, it was a boat trip from Fira port to the volanco and then a visit to the hot springs. I can't recommend this hotel enough and would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is lovely. The location is great close to all amenities and restaurants. The room is basic but has self catering facilities too such as a kettle, hair dryer etc. As the water is de salinated they need lime scale cleaner for the taps. The small cost of this additional cleaner would make such a difference to the bathroom cleanliness. The weather was fantastic and the resort was relaxed. There are no touts trying to get you in shops etc all very laid back. Gods Garden we found the best restaurant off the main front. I did not go in the sea but some guests complained it shelved very badly. The beach front sunbeds were free as long as you bought drinks in the day. The hotel pool was our favourite which was a dream. They could do with improving the breakfast selection but it was adequate. Santorini is fantastic and Perissa is a superb base to travel around by foot, bus etc Perissa was very very reasonably priced for eating out. I do not think other parts of theisland were as reasonable. The locals and hotel staff made this holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from a week's break in Santorini, stayed at the Gardenia which was a v clean if basic hotel, which is the norm for Greece, air con included in price which is not. The only criticism we have is the shower, the curtain was not long enough & the water went everywhere, having to mop bathroom every time we used it.. Staff v helpful & friendly, especially Roland who always had a smile & a friendly word no matter what time of day or night. Lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds, although we are not ones for lying around the pool.Hotel was well situated, only 5 mins flat walk to beach & tavernas (we liked the Atlantis where you could get a litre of good local wine for the price of 1/2 litre at other places, although it was so busy people were booking to ensure getting a table, Visanto was also a favourite with a brilliant guitarist playing Sundays & Wednesdays),& the same in the other direction to the main road with a great 24 hr bakery & the bus stop,to Thira which we found v crowded & quite expensive. Hired a car for a couple of days & saw all of the island, Oia being our favourite, a smaller version of Thira but extremely pretty & not as crowded. Also took a boat trip to the Volcano, it is a lot cheaper to book one in Thira & you end up on the same boat as the tour operators for a fraction of the price. On the whole a very beautiful island with stunning views & sunsets but unfortunately won't be returning until they get the airport sorted out, we have travelled to a great many places in the world but have never seen such a disorganised airport, our arrival was fine but the departure was a nightmare, we spent the whole 3 hrs we were there being pushed & jostled in various queues (one of which we were in the hot mid-day sun for appx 1/2 hr & as usual reps no-where to be seen!) At one point we thought we were going to miss the plane, it was a miracle we only ended up delayed for 1/2 hr, this was very stressful & spoilt the relaxed feeling we had achieved during our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Address: Perissa Beach, Perissa 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty lodging in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardenia Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Perissa
Gardenia Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.