We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location right on the beach, lovely grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veggera Hotel

Save Saved
You added Veggera Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Veggera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perissa 84703, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 hotels in Perissa
Herts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic location right on the beach, lovely grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week at the Veggera in Perissa and we were more than pleased with our choice. Perissa is a great resort, just the right number of bars and restaurants along the beach front without seeming too overly touristy, although I don't know what it would be like in the high season.
The hotel itself is right there on the main 'strip', you can walk over the road to the beach in a few seconds. This is its main advantage. Walking around the hotel, past the pools and to the room is lovely as there are beautiful flowers and plants all around and the pool areas are very pleasant. We did not actually sit around the pool as the beach was so close, but there seemed to be plenty of beds but no shades which was a bit of a problem in such hot weather.
We had one of the 'basement' rooms, where you go down a few steps to get to the room, it still had a balcony type area with a table and chairs but obviously there was no view as it was below ground level. The room itself was fine, pretty basic but just what you need if you're not spending much time there. The bathroom doesn't look very good on first sight as there is no shower curtain or cubicle, just the attachment in the corner, but actually the shower was really powerful and always hot. My only problem with the room was that it had 2 single beds pushed together, but not quite together so there was a gap in between, and the mattress was so hard that it was terribly uncomfortable. I know that this was room was on the cheapest rate and I have seen pictures of other rooms with proper double beds.
The breakfast at the neighbouring Pergola restaurant was fine, nothing amazing but something for everyone. We really liked the bar at the hotel, it has lovely little sofa seats facing out to the sea.
The staff were very helpful and explained to us about the trips etc. We went to Oia by ourselves, getting the bus rather than an organised trip. If you walk down to the Main Street then there are lots of travel shops which have a range of trips, probably a bit cheaper and wider range than the ones on offer in the hotel.
All in all I can really recommend the Veggera and certainly Perissa, as a place for a fantastic Greek holiday.

Room Tip: Ask about the beds as the basement rooms have 2 singles which don't quite join together
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    77
    27
    11
    13
See reviews for
46
121
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed in a superior double (3 people sharing) for one week at the beginning of September 2012.

Taxi from the airport was about 25 euros. The hotel is right across the road from Perissa beach and appears to be the only hotel slap bang on the sea front in the vicinity. The hotel is a complex of various types of rooms all arranged around two swimming pools. Our room was on the first floor and the balcony overlooked one of the swimming pools; it was not a sea view as we were led to believe. The room was spacious and clean; the sofa (transformed into a single bed) and the double bed both had firm mattresses. Bathroom had toilet, basin and shower - it appeared to be similar to the 'monsoon' style but failed in its attempts (perhaps the head needs descaling?). The room also had a fridge and a very efficient A/C unit. Safe boxes are not provided but you can hire one in the main lobby for ~3 euros a night. We particularly liked the way the housekeeping staff made the rooms up.

Both swimming pools were clean and it rarely seemed that all the sunbeds were taken up during the day; then again with the beach right across the road why sit around a swimming pool? There is a wealth of bars offering sunbeds along the beach. Some come with the stipulation you have to buy drinks/lunch, some you have to pay for and others others are free but without any kind of service available. Tranquilo at the west end of the beach was one of our favourites and had some brilliant food especially catering for vegetarians. Generally the earlier you get down to the beach the more choice of sunbeds there are on offer. B eaware the beaches here are not sandy but comprised of fine and smooth black shingle.

The front desk staff can also arrange car rental. Do ensure to check if you do end up getting a different car to what you asked for the price for them is the same. We ordered a Nissan Note and got a Nissan Micra to find out that there was a 30 euro difference, which we were able to claim back after making our feelings clear.

Breakfast was far from great. It is served in the attached Pergola restaurant. The hot items appeared to alternate on a daily basis: sausage and omelette one day, scrambled egg and bacon the next. The fruit jiuce provided tasted like squash. There was just one 4-slice toaster that had clearly seen better days and took far too long to toast. The range of fruit provided was poor. There was plenty of sliced bread, yoghurt and crossaints. In general I feel for the amount of people that were staying at the hotel at the time more facilities were desperately needed to cope with demand. There is a 24 hour bakery off the main street in Perissa; exit the Veggera, turn left, turn left before The Volcano restaurant and then at the end of the street turn right and cross over - excellent selection of hot pastries, cakes and other snacks.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel including a mini-market right next door; a special mention to the staff of this shop as they were extremely helpful so if you have any questions about activities do not hesitate to ask them. The Pergola restaurant is attached to the hotel and we received a 20% and 25% discount for dinner and lunch respectively; however, we noticed the prices they charged were significantly higher than other places in the vicinity.

If you decide against renting a car/quad bike/scooter there is a bus stop outside Bob's Bar (opposite Dorian's) on the main street. There are regular services between Perissa/Perivolos and Fira. Other places of interest in the vicinity are: the beach at Vlichada is another good choice; at Akritori you can take a boat to the famous red, white and black beaches. The white beach features a cave you can swim through. You can also walk to Ancient Thira up the mountainside but beware it's a hard climb!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Perissa (this was our sixth time) but we booked late this year and that meant that our usual hotel, Artemis, was full. So we plumped for Vegerra, which is on the beach road. We knew of it and it had always looked very appealing.
Being just across the road from the beach as opposed to a 10-minute walk up a hill is major advantage and there were a number of other aspects which we enjoyed.
The hotel and its 50-odd rooms are spotless - there's an army of workers to ensure this happens - the pool bar remains well stocked and fully staffed throughout the day and everyone is attentive and helpful. And for those of you who may have experienced too many Greek bathrooms where the water goes everywhere and drains when it feels like it, there's good news! The bathrooms are equipped with real curtain showers and a wall which ensures the water actually stays in the shower area. And you get a discount on lunches and dinners at the nearby Pergola restaurant.
The downsides? Our room for three for three was a little on the small side and the complete lack of drawers was certainly a hindrance over the fortnight. There's a lack of sunbeds in the pool area - the cynical may say this is a ruse to get you on the beach and to pay for a shade and a lounger - but it's probably more to do with a lack of space.The fact that is has two pools could, perhaps, be pout to better use. Although they don't get too crowded it might be an idea for one of the pools to be adults only. Screaming children, constantly diving and splashing doesn't make for great relaxation.
Overall, though, it was a very enjoyable stay but obviously the number of people there makes it a less personal experience than staying at a smaller hotel such as Artemis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I am due to return to this lovely hotel in Perissa . I have been moved to write a review regarding the service I have recieved prior to us arriving .I decided to book the holiday direct with the hotel this year.There is a new Manager called Christos and I cant praise him enough in his efforts to make sure our holiday was booked and organised so well in advance. Everything I have asked of him has been delt with in the first instance and professionally.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in this htl with 3 small children for 2 weeks. Everything was just as we expected and better. Last day we left htl at 2 p.m., but we could stay in our room until departure. It was very pleasant as you can imagine. Nice and clean swimming pools with children area and beautiful beach in the front of the htl. No extra fees for sunbeds and umbrella. But towels for sunbeds were 1 eur/pcs, so we did not give them back every evening :) Recommend room no.8, its on halfway between pools and its really big, actually its two rooms + balcony and no stairs to hit with trolley everyday :) Its important, if you want to stay and enjoy balcony through the day, or in the evenings only. Seaview rooms on the top (2nd floor) didnt have shadow terrrace. Staff were really very friendly and rent a car through reception had better price then agencies. Breakfast was little bit boring, every day the same, but there are many restaurants around. Meals with any kind of seafood on Perissa were absolutely delicious - especially Fratzeskos Fish Tavern at the end of the Perissa beach (under rock-hill) :-D
Island is beautiful like fairy tail, we just loved it everywhere we moved (Oia, Akrotiri, Thira, ancient Thira, Imerovigli, Pyrgos and also Red beach) and definitely will come back once.
We also heard that september is the best time to visit and less windy :-)

Room Tip: Room n.8 is great for the families. Rooms downstairs are not very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location very close to a beach. We were stranded in Santorini because our ferry was cancelled and we just started driving around the island searching for a hotel. We had 2 children with us and this place was a lucky find. It has 2 pools and a nice restaurant next door. The hotel is pretty large and very attractive and modern, but only 2 stories high. The location offers lots of opportunity for walking on the local road that runs along the beach. There is a water park nearby and lots of beach side restaurants. One possible negative is that this is a black beach and the sand gets very hot. There are chairs and umbrellas on the beach which you have to pay to rent. The hotel provides beach towels, which is nice.

Room Tip: Many different room layouts that are good for families. We had a couple with 2 children sharing a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This Hotel is right on the beach has two beautiful swimming pools, nice rooms, good amenities, friendly staff, comfortable beds, good shower, air conditioning, own balcony and a nice restaurant.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veggera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veggera Hotel

Address: Perissa 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Perissa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Veggera Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Veggera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veggera Hotel Perissa
Veggera Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veggera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;