We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull place - but not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Muses Santorini Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 9 Muses Santorini Resort to your Saves list
9 Muses Santorini Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Perivolos Emporiou, Perissa 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Perissa
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautifull place - but not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We arrived to this beautiful hotel in the middle of a field (tomatoes?) - And the girl in the reception looked like she did not know what to do with an actual guest. I had to ask her if it was actually the reception. Well she picked up after that - and took us to a beautiful room - towels decorated with flowers, great furniture, nice and clean bathroom. The pool area was great - everything was clean and very well looked after. Later we experienced the lack of experienced staff. No toilet paper, few towels, ripped bed linen, threadbare towels. (The pool towels were fresh.) The staff were mostly young people from Eastern Europe - supposedly learning the hospitality business, but with no experience whatsoever in the most simple tasks. There were also some "managers" (?) hanging around the place doing nothing much. There were a couple of young Greek waiters that were excellent, but it was only so much they could do. The young head waiter made sure I had food to comply with my allergies at all times - great guy. The breakfast was fine, sometime a little sparse if you came down late. The girl in the pool bar was ever so sweet.
I think this hotel is in desperate need of a new management, new bed linen, new towels, more tableware - and a more professional staff. All in all I would recommend this hotel – if you are not too fussy about the level of service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    57
    42
    31
    22
See reviews for
36
107
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We had an authentic dinner with music and dancing. Beautiful accommodations. Close to the beautiful black beaches.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Good hotel but as other reviewers have said not 5 star more like 3.5. The staff are helpful although not always so knowledgable and I have a general feeling they lack motivation. Perhaps as they have a steady stream of package tourists they feel it's not necessary to go the extra mile.

Room a good size although a little tired and could do with updating. The two negatives are the hotel location which is not ideal as it is remote and a good 15 minutes from the beach where the life is. Plus to get to the beach you have to walk through a max of backstreets which are unkept and unlit and so is a problem after dark.

The other negative is the food which is mediocre and uninspiring. Even though we were half board we went out for dinner several times for better food. Again I think the lack of motivation came into play, evidenced for example by the flies all over the breakfast buffet which no one thought to cover.

Overall there are probably better hotels in Perissa and unless you are a beach fanatic I would recommend staying in the Fira area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My stay of 10 days was excellent. I travelled for business. I had the occasion to enjoy a high quality accommodation and catering at a hotel built 100 metres from the beach. All of the hotel staff was polite and friendly. My room had fresh look and the bathroom was big and kept extremely clean. The buffet breakfast and meals included a variety of options with high quality food. Every day the menu was changed
We enjoyed staying at this hotel, friendly and excellent service. The staff surely is taking their best efforts to make you enjoy your holiday. Top pool area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naestved, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at 9 Muses in Juli/August 2011, and we can only agree with the contribution with this heading: “it's not 5 stars!!!! Be carefull!!!!!”We only had breakfast at the hotel. All other meals we had somewhere else. With professional staff.
They only had 2 waiters for appr. 60 guests. Very young people in blue jeans and sneakers. On a 5 star hotel that is not good enough. The service was none existent. Plates were not removed - on the table cloth you could see what the previous 5 couples have had for breakfast - no refilling of coffee and tea - guests had to clean the table in order to have a seat etc. etc. The choice of what to have for breakfast was very easy as there only were a couple of different things. Cleaning in the restaurant, forget it they don´t even know the word.
We expect a lot more of a 5 star hotel. I told Apollo in Denmark that I consider it 3 stars and that we are not satisfied. Of course you just get the usual nonsense as reply. So find another hotel, but Santorini is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liberec
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel is nice, clean. It is close to the beach, that was not overcrowded, with good access to the sea and little black stones /not sand/. There is also nice swimming pool in the hotel, quite big comparing to other hotels in this area. The stuff tries to do their best, but sometime - especially in the restaurant- it is not easy to comunicate. For families with children is probably better to have only breakfast in the hotel. During the dinner you can choose only from two possibilities /what is with children not easy/, but they cook very well. On the beach you find many small restaurants with good choice of dishes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I'm just coming back from santorini and I stayed at the 9 muses in Perissa. The external structure looks lihe a 5 stars with swimming pool, great area for restaurant and bar BUT the rooms are very small, the bath doesn't work right (there was always a bad smell from the water pipe!!!!). The staff was not professional and educated: they were only 5 people who weren't able to take care of cleaning and setting the tables, listening to our requests about the choice of menu and they were really lazy to serve the foods. I don't understand how is possible that Francorosso (alpitour ) considers it a 5 stars!!! It is really a big fraud because we paied it for a 5 stars instead it was just 3!!!!! I will write a protest letter to Francorosso because i really feel cheated!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9 Muses Santorini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Muses Santorini Resort

Address: Perivolos Emporiou, Perissa 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 9 Muses Santorini Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your 9 Muses Santorini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9 Muses Santorini Hotel Perissa
9 Muses Santorini Perissa
Nine Muses Hotel
9 Muses Santorini Resort Perissa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Muses Santorini Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.