We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sky of Thira

Save Saved
You added Sky of Thira to your Saves list
Sky of Thira
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky of Thira
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Firostefani 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Firostefani
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the best location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My partner and I spent 6 nights here and were disappointed with our stay. Although breakfast is included, it consisted of the same thing each morning so after day 4 we ventured out for our own breakfast. The location is about a 10/15 min walk from the main street and the roads are not lit at night so you have to be careful. Also our balcony overlooked the road on the corner so passing traffic was a nuisance. But the wind was so strong on the balcony that we didn't spend much time on there anyway.
The manager collected and dropped us at the airport and recommended a nearby place for food which is owned by his brother and mum. It does great souvlaki's!
We wanted to hire a quad bike and George drove my partner up to town to a shop. We assumed most shops would offer roughly the same rates but we only paid for a day's hire before comparing prices with other shops only to find rates were a lot cheaper elsewhere. So my advice is to not let George recommend a bike hire shop as he will take you to his friend's shop which is pricier than others.
If I was to return to Santorini, I would stay in Imergovli as this is closer to the main part and much prettier.
If you are on a lower budget and looking for a place slightly out of the way, then Sky of Thira is fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010 via mobile

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood about 15 minutes by foot from downtown Fira, with views of the non-caldera side of the island. However, the hotel was the low point of an otherwise lovely vacation to Santorini. The rooms are shabbily decorated, mattress is uncomfortable, and the breakfast consists of mostly bread doled out carefully by the proprietor's wife under his watchful eye. (The poor woman seemed to be suffering from a serious cold or flu while preparing it, too). The internet access consists of use of the owner's computer in his office; no wireless or using it when he is not around. Although we declined to hire the proprietor for a personal drive around the island, it would have helped for him to share basic information, such as that there is a bus stop about 50m from the hotel. The dealbreaker, however, was that the proprietor did not turn on the hot water until we asked him to, and only after placing phone calls to 3 different numbers at 8 pm. Santorini was lovely, but we dreaded coming back at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The location is average, the rooms where quite good for the price paid, however we had problems with the hotel manager, who tried to offer much worse rooms than the ones we had booked. We had to take an our negotiating and contact the travel agency through which we had made the reservation, in order to get what we had booked at first place.

Finally we got a nice room, very spacious. Had there been another manager, the place would have been much much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Pros: Friendly staff who were willing to accommodate our requests for room choice, very good price, complimentary pick up/drop off to/from the hotel.

Cons: Not particularly close to the main strip (a good 15 minute walk and note there are no street lights at night!), the "view" is not towards the caldera but towards the other side of the island (farmland!), located on a street corner so very noisy (ATVs, trucks), the window in our room was next to the pool and we could hear the water running throughout the whole night, springy mattress, internet not included, lowest grade toilet paper that I've ever come across (to the point that I feel this needs to be mentioned!)

We booked this place at the last minute and was recommended by a travel agent in Athens. I wouldn't exactly call it a hotel - it was more like a motel/bed and breakfast run by a local family. The furnishings are all very basic - I guess if you are bringing the whole family (ie. with kids), this might be a reasonably choice economically. They have a pool but it is so tiny you wouldn't bother going in. Definitely not if you are looking for the ultimate romantic holiday with your partner/spouse!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirtaes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We arrived to a very bright day and warmly welcomed by both Georghios and his wife Katherina.
Our visit being january not sure what to expect, however even though advsied by locals that it was off season and some locals away for their vacation, everyone very very friendly.
Found some rally good Restaurants and Coffe Bars that welcomed us with great hospitality
The Hotel very warm cosy that helped with the weather outside being quite cold, some rain, and a cool breeze at times.
We visited, Oia, Kamari, Monolithos ( great Fish restaurant on the Beach, recommended by Georghios our Hotel Manager / owner, in fact he joined us for Lunch
My partner and I will certainly be back to Santorinin and Sky Of Thira but this time during the warmer summer months

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We came here on our honeymoon. The owner picked us up at the airport and was very pleasant even though our flight was on hour late. For the off season, the price couldn't be beat. We were expecting a small apartment but it was quite large - with 2 bedrooms and a full kitchen. 2 TVs (CRT) and basic cable.

They provide breakfast every morning - coffee, toast, and a sandwich with ham and cheese as well as some sweets and juice.

It's about a 10 minute walk to town. Overall really pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global Traveller
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed here for a few nights in July. Rooms itself were fine (although we had a problem with the air con the first night - but they did fix it the next day) and breakfast is included (albeit served in a windowless room). Only about a 15 min walk to the caldera, which is fine (uphill on the way back - but hey, it's Greece!). However, I did disagree with the staff being described as "the nicest" - although it doesn't really effect my view of a place, being told by the owner to "tell everyone about the wonderful Sky of Thira" within 10 mins of arriving was a bit aggressive.
Only real gripe though would be that the free lift to and from the port (which pretty much every hotel provides) is very much at their discretion (in our case telling us if we wanted a lift, it would mean sitting in the midday sun at the port for 2 hours).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sky of Thira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky of Thira

Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 hotels in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky of Thira 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the highest point of Firostefani, Sky of Thira is a 5-minute walk to the caldera. It features an on-site pool and sauna and free pick up/drop off service.Guests at the family-run Sky of Thira can choose among spacious, Cycladic-style rooms, or self-catering apartments and suites. Most rooms have private balconies and views over the Aegean Sea and the island of Anafi.Breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed next to the pool. Refreshments are available at the pool or main bar.Fira, Santorini’s capital and nightlife center, is just 1 km away. Athinios port is 9 km away, while the airport is 7 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sky of Thira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Of Thira Firostefani
Sky Of Thira Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky of Thira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.