We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place in May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agnadema Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Agnadema Apartments to your Saves list
Agnadema Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Firostefani, Firostefani 84700 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Firostefani
Wölfersheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place in May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We had a wonderful week in Agnadema. We got the best accomodation of all - upper level to the right (we had booked in September!). The views were as breathtaking as we had dreamed, not just the sunsets, but at any time of day. Housekeeping was flawless. WLAN was also a very welcome feature. Breakfast was nothing special, but we loved to take it up on a tray to sit on our balcony and enjoy the scenery. The pool was also nice and a good refreshment after dusty hikes along the caldera. Agnadema is not suitable for people with heart problems or walking handicaps, as access is very steep. And I presume it might feel a bit crowded if it is fully booked. There are eight units making up for at least 16 people, but there are only six sunbeds at the pool. Rooms on the lower level might lack privacy if the pool is used by many patrons.
For us, at this time of the year, with at most three other parties, it was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We booked this small hotel as we wanted to enjoy the sunset from our hotel. A lot of the hotels on the caldera are very expensive and this hotel was a little cheaper, even though it was still pricey. We had booked the cheaper room but when we arrived we were upgraded to a room on the upper level as the hotel wasn't full. If booking here, I would recommend getting one of the rooms (only3) on the top floor, to enjoy the view from your balcony. The ground floor rooms are situated around the small pool and don't offer as good a view or privacy if people are using the pool. Our room was spacious and equipped with fridge, sink, coffee machine but no kettle to boil water and no tea and coffee provided. I used the coffee machine to boil water for a cup of tea, using my own tea bags. Our bedroom was in a loft, up a steep flight of stairs. It had basically just a bed with bedside tables in it, with a sloped ceiling.....not good if you're very tall. The wardrobe was downstairs in the living room so don't bother carrying your heavy bags up as we did. Downstairs was a large bathroom, kitchen and living room, all tastefully decorated. . Breakfast was very ordinary, probably the worst we had in all of our 2 weeks travelling around Greece and 4 islands, but the hotel's position on the caldera and price made up for a basic but adequate continental breakfast, which was served in the reception area. The staff were efficient but not super friendly. They helped us out with free internet and let me take their laptop up to our room to use which was very good.. We only enjoyed the sunset from our room twice, which was spectacular. One night we went with thousands of others to Oia for the famous sunset........very disappointing as it was hazy. Another night we went on a cruise to enjoy the sunset, again not as good as from our room. We'd recommend this hotel for it's position in Firostefani. It's quieter than staying in Fira and a great walk with fabulous views along a path to get to the main town. The only downside is that there are 79 steps to get down to the hotel, and 79 to get back up! We carried the bags down which was awkward enough, but upon checkout we were given complimentary transfers and a strong Greek man arrived at 5.30am and carried both our heavy bags up, one on his shoulder and one in his other hand! We couldn't have done it. My husband helped another man carry his one bag up the steps on a previous day.....tough going. A really good hotel and if you go off season, you'll get a better price

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The place is great, with hell of a view))) and the pool is awesome. There is only one or two rooms which are not that good to stay)) But all in all i liked it much!The location is also very cool, only the stairs to the top are a bit pain in the a.s :PPP

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We had high expectations of this hotel from its location and reviews we had read. While the hotel is in a great location overlooking the caldera and has family rooms built into the old cave houses that existed in the past ,the rest was disappointing. The bathroom had only a handheld shower and the shower curtain was mouldy. The bed had flat and small pillows and the bed was like sleeping on concrete. Staff were courteous and assisted us with leaving bags there after checkout until our departure flight but were not especially friendly ( odd given the place is basically a boutique style accomodation). Breakfast was adequate but nothing special and there was no privacy outside the door of the room. Overall a dissappointment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Just a few provisos. If you don't like steep stairs this isn't the place for you! Access is hard work if you are not fit or suffer from any disabilities. I also think you might want to avoid the little room right next to reception... but other than that - this place is a gem. the rest of the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Sitting around the gorgeous pool looking out over a truly spectacular caldera view was something I will never forget. The breakfast was forgettable, but who cares? We didn't! I'd go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights, and we were very satisfied. The staff was friendly and helpful, the view was beautiful and the pool area was really nice.

The location is nice, just a few minutes walk from the town center. There are some pretty steep and uneven stairs from the main road down to the hotel, and the shortcut stairs when you go back there from the town can get really slippery!

Breakfast was basic, but pretty much the same as other greek hotels we've been to (bread, cheese, ham, jam and jogurt/fruits).

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

For those looking for a place to stay in Santorini, this is the skinny. If you want a place close to everything but still a bit out of the hub-bub.... look no further. You can walk 7 minutes to the town center in Fira or three hours to Oia (I did it!). The apartments are right dab in the middle of all the other places you are looking at so the bottom line is: base your decision on nightly rate (this hotel is cool that it has a pool). Many steps! Great views! Nice apartments! Hard beds! Great pool! Had a wonderful time and met many cool people. Would stay again.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Hard bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agnadema Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnadema Apartments

Address: Firostefani, Firostefani 84700 , Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#6 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Agnadema Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agnadema Apartments are enjoying an excellent location in the heart of Firostefani, built on the Caldera Cliffs. Firostefani is a quiet and picturesque village , just above Fira, on the hill, the name implies ‘’The Crown of Fira’’ . The hotel offers magnificent panoramic views of the Volcano and the famous Skaros Rock. Mesmerizing sunsets, mysterious shadows at dusk, the deep blue Aegean sea - the magic of Santorini from Agnadema apartments. The Agnadema’s well-appointed and elegantly decorated residences combine elegant tradition with modern comforts . Furthermore the traditional rooms, the family apartments and the marvelous suites can accommodate 2 to 5 persons. The hotel has a swimming pool with Jacuzzi Jet Streams, and a sunbathing terrace with umbrellas & deck chairs for complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agnadema Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agnadema Apartments Firostefani
Agnadema Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Agnadema Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agnadema Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.